What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series? - Page 3

View Poll Results: What is your biggest issue with the show?

Voters
352. You may not vote on this poll
  • Ash still being 10

    163 46.31%
  • TR's serious change

    51 14.49%
  • Changing the main characters each series

    42 11.93%
  • Voice Actors

    53 15.06%
  • Pikachu's power issues

    103 29.26%
  • Ash never winning a league (not count Orange League or BF)

    89 25.28%
  • A complaint not listed on this poll

    143 40.63%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 3 of 40 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 596

Thread: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

  1. #31
    Registered User nickstr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Cerulean City
    Posts
    418
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    My biggest complaint too and the one that drove me away from the Pokemon anime. Replacing main cast members on a regular basis might sound good in theory but in practice its not a good idea.
    Are you a fan of Misty? if so please visit #misty4ever on irc.systemnet.info or through this gateway. http://raybound.com/misty/HeavyApplet.html
    I don't calculate stat values, and I don't care about natures. I catch my Pokemon the way they are. I just play the game normally. If you agree copy & paste this in your sig.
    Want Johto on DVD in the US and Canada? LET VIZ KNOW! http://www.petitionspot.com/petitions/pokemonjohto

  2. #32
    Not into Ponies I swear! PDL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    over there
    Posts
    3,236

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I'm usually too annoyed at the fandom to develop any strong legitimate complaints about the series itself.

    However, it would be better if there was some more characterization for all the characters, both humans and Pokémon. Although DP and BW are stepping in that direction, but it's not exactly there yet. But perhaps this is so because they want to keep it understandable for children. This is a children's anime first.
    Part-time Fanfic writer, Full-time crank.

  3. #33

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    That 10 year-old kids are in charge of such destructive monsters. The least they could do is have them go to a specific school to learn how to treat, raise, & train Pokemon & graduate once they've learned a good-enough amount of knowledge much latter than at 10 years-old.

  4. #34
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    other then Character Development, or sometimes Lack of, none, i really like the show the way it is.


    DP's Dubbing might come close too...
    Last edited by Owain; 12th March 2011 at 12:00 AM.

  5. #35

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Personally, every single complaint I have about the show is on the poll..

  6. #36
    Collects stuff Thingamajig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    655
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    It's not that I have an issue with the rotating cast per-se... 670 episodes and 14 years just wouldn't work if it was still Ash, Misty and Brock (who was really overstaying his welcome by the end of DP, IMO). But seeing as all 4 series of the Pokemon anime are a supposedly continuous timeline with no reboots - there's no excuse to not have the former cast making appearences every so often. They tried it in AG and it was pretty good aside from the hackdub, but we got nothing for the entire DP series other than May in the Wallace Cup.

    I really hope the specials Dawn and Brock got weren't one-offs because it'd be nice to see some older cast either as guest characters or in their own specials.

  7. #37
    Back From The Grave Charbok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    896
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Before BW the thing that bothered me was that the female would always leave but Brock would still stick around. I always thought that he should have been replaced by the male character. I felt that it wasn't fair to get rid of the female but still keep Brock. Why not keep the female then? But since that's changed I have no complaints anymore.

    The handling of Dawn's rivals also bothered me. She had too many friendly rivals and the only mean rival she had didn't appear that much and never even won 1 contest against her. Piplup also seemed to hog the screentime for Dawn's other pokemon and the fact that she got Togekiss so late bugged me too. I would have preferred if she just kept Ambipom.

    I don't think the length of the show is a problem but I can understand if being a problem for someone who's trying to catch up. I know that the new generations of Pokemno reference things from the past generation but I look at each generation as it's own series in a way. Pocket Monsters Advanced Generation and Poket Monsters Best Wishes are in a way separate "series" to me compared to ongoing shows like One Piece and Naruto which are continuous from start to finish.

    Edit- Team Rocket is also a problem for me. Why wait so long to change them when we were all so used to the comic relief TR? The only good thing about serious TR is the fact that TPCi doesn't screw them up like they did with DP TR.

    Look Forward, Team Rocket!

    Also I claim Piplup in the Claim a Pokemon thread =)

  8. #38

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I pretty much agree with everything Shinneth said in their insightful wall of text. XP

    I can’t really complain about Johto/Advance/Orange b/c I’ve never seen them, but I have been watching DP and the episodes of BW that come on Cartoon Network.

    I dislike how Ash hasn’t aged. I almost feel like it’s a joke between the writers at this point. It just seems weird, especially with people around Ash acting like they’re teenagers, like Gary and Paul. Weird to me.

    TR annoyed me in DP but grew on me, and now their sudden change is a slap in the face. I really hope they just write them off after. :/

    Piplup was a brat and took up a lot of focus from Dawn’s other pokemon, whom I liked a lot. I wish Brock’s pokemon got some more focus, too. His happiny is adorable! And his dynamic with croagunk was amusing.

    I LOVE BW so far, don’t get me wrong, but a couple things are irking me to DEATH. Like how Pikachu is getting his ass kicked. That makes no sense! I guess I can cut some slack for the battle against Trip since Pikachu was just recovering, but what about Cress? That’s ridiculous.

    Iris treating Ash like a child is bothering me, too. I get that it’s her personality, but it’s hard for me to listen to it when I know all the shit Ash has been through. Him not knowing anything about Unova doesn’t make him a kid, Iris. I’m pretty sure if she got stuck in Kanto she’d be acting similar. I hope she stops doing that..

  9. #39
    Crazed Writer Simon Alexander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    All the way across the sky
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    My BIGGEST complaint is how TR is handled. In theory, I adore the concept of TR getting serious and actually being a threat is wonderful. However, with BW, their sudden change is too jarring and makes no sense at all. I pretty much believe pod people have replaced Jessie and James (Meowth is still pretty IC, but he's always been the more serious one anyway). As much as DP TR annoyed the hell out of me, I'd rather have them than BW TR.

    If the change had been gradual and slow, and we saw the evolution of TR as they came to be how they are, I'd be totes cool with it. But that's not how it is. :/

    Also...why Iris? Ever since the games have had a female character, she has been Ash's traveling companion. We even got a Lyra cameo when HGSS came out. So why isn't Ash traveling with Hilda? If it has to do with her outfit, I understand, I guess, but Dawn's wasn't much better. And the writers could even have kept in the continuity of Ash destroying every girl's bike in the world. Instead we're stuck with WILD CHILD IRIS. Ugh.

    Now I've only seen up to episode 4 in BW, but WHERE THE HELL IS PIDOVE?! Ash caught (properly caught) it in ep 1 or 2, but we've not seen beak nor feather of the little guy. This greatly disappoints and bothers me even more than the Pikachu situation (which I won't go on about since everyone else has stated my feelings for it), because 1) Ash ALWAYS has his trusty flying-type (AND IT COULD HAVE LOST TO PANPOUR TO INCREASE THE TENSION OF THAT BATTLE) and 2) I lurve pidove to bits and I was excited to see that Ash had caught one and we'd get to see it in action. So far, no pidove action for me. I am not happy.

  10. #40
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Quote Originally Posted by pickgoldies View Post
    I LOVE BW so far, don’t get me wrong, but a couple things are irking me to DEATH. Like how Pikachu is getting his ass kicked. That makes no sense! I guess I can cut some slack for the battle against Trip since Pikachu was just recovering, but what about Cress? That’s ridiculous.
    OK, i had no problems with your post, until you mentioned Ash Vs Cress....

    did you actually see the battle?, it makes total sense that Pikachu lost, it was strategy, Cress was prepared to deal with speedy electric types like Pika, attacking its feet and confusing it, then attacking its brittle defense little by little is truly genious.

  11. #41
    It's Fishing Time~ JennaJayfeather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    The town where Celebi appears
    Posts
    517
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Quote Originally Posted by Serperior View Post
    OK, i had no problems with your post, until you mentioned Ash Vs Cress....

    did you actually see the battle?, it makes total sense that Pikachu lost, it was strategy, Cress was prepared to deal with speedy electric types like Pika, attacking its feet and confusing it, then attacking its brittle defense little by little is truly genious.
    I agree. Cress did use a truly good strategy against Pikachu. He's a GYM LEADER and a Water-type specialist so it makes sense he'd have counter measures against Electric-type Pokemon. (lol I just get sick of hearing that Pikachu should have beat him...)

  12. #42
    Disaster approaches... BlackwaterPark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    At a computer somewhere.
    Posts
    270

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I don't understand why everyone is bashing the new Team Rocket. I seem to remember that while DP was going on, everybody thought they were getting stale and repetitive. While I think the change is a bit drastic, I also believe it was a very good and refreshing idea that honestly should have been implemented earlier on. I'm sure as the series goes on there will be an explanation for it.

    Now, anyway... my major complaint about the anime is that Ash is still, apparently, ten. Changing this would solve two problems at once: 1) it would add to what little plausibility the show has, and 2) it would actually allow him to mature a little.
    Current activity: Playing through Platinum for the first time.

    1. Find shiny Pokemon
    2. Determine Secret ID
    3. RNG to my heart's content!

    Last updated April 17, 2012

  13. #43
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    ^^ that's the Fandom For ya'!

  14. #44
    You think you're bad, don't ya? Karamazov's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,045
    Blog Entries
    794

    Follow Karamazov on Tumblr

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    ^^ I believe that the TRio changing, although with little buildup, was refreshing. The problem is, they're not getting any screentime, just 30 second cameos (if that.) They get this sudden change, only to be phased out.
    Team Fairy

    Sprites from Serebii.net

  15. #45

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    pretty much all the above with the exception of TR going REAL evil!!

Page 3 of 40 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •