What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

View Poll Results: What is your biggest issue with the show?

Voters
352. You may not vote on this poll
  • Ash still being 10

    163 46.31%
  • TR's serious change

    51 14.49%
  • Changing the main characters each series

    42 11.93%
  • Voice Actors

    53 15.06%
  • Pikachu's power issues

    103 29.26%
  • Ash never winning a league (not count Orange League or BF)

    89 25.28%
  • A complaint not listed on this poll

    143 40.63%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 40 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 596

Thread: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

  1. #1
    Registered User Paulisthebest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Veilstone City
    Posts
    1,090
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I’m not going to throw stones at people for complaining about certain things about the series because I do it myself. Lately, I’ve noticed a lot of threads about TR, Misty, voice actors, etc. So, I think this will be a good thread for people to talk about their main issues with the series all in one place.

    What things about the show bother you like character changes, captures, evolutions, voices, Ash still being 10, Pikachu’s crazy power issues, TR making a 360 degree change in their character, some characters getting more attention than others, Ash losing to a legendary user, etc?

    The poll itself is limited so just post thoughts that are not included on it and why it bothers you.
    Last edited by Musashi; 2nd September 2011 at 05:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Dedicated Pokémon Trainer EB3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    266
    Blog Entries
    5
    Add EB3 on Facebook Add EB3 on Google+
    Visit EB3's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    While I understand the anime is aimed at kids, I just don't know why Ash can still be 10 after nearly fifteen years. Can't they age him up just a little?


    Many thanks to the Pokecharms website for helping me create the trainer card.

  3. #3

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Quote Originally Posted by EB3 View Post
    While I understand the anime is aimed at kids, I just don't know why Ash can still be 10 after nearly fifteen years. Can't they age him up just a little?
    Yeah, they should've had Unova allow 13 year olds become trainers so that I'd make sense if Ash was 13 or above in BW.

  4. #4

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Hmm. I have no complaints at all, actually! I do agree, however, that Satoshi still being 10 is a bit absurd. In Sinnoh I considered him to be about 14.

    Now if we were in AG or DP, I would have some complaints. But I really enjoy Best Wishes now and it's difficult to find anything that I'd feel the need to complain about. Without being too nitpicky, that is.

  5. #5

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I don't really have much of a complaint, more like minor issue. I honestly don't care much about the main things, stuff like that never bothered me. I mostly get annoyed with Ash always jumping in the way of attacks, when Pikachu is at his side 24-7 and he could just have him Thunderbolt it or something, rather than getting himself hurt. Since its been going on forever, scene's like these irk me, just a smidge.

    Also, whenever anyone, usually they're being portrayed as an antagonist, does something "wrong" and here comes Ash, master of all things good and sunshine and rainbows to set them straight, like his way is always the right way only when sometimes its like... seriously, Ash writers.
    "Smiles and laughter are always good, but never forget your Poker Face."

  6. #6
    Load of Belloni
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,299
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Not much, oddly enough.
    But I think the biggest issue I have with the series is how they balance out screentime between pokemon. If it's not someone in the main cast's team being favoured at the expense of another (or even several others), it's the same selection of pokemon being used by other trainers/appearing in the wild over and over. With a series that has literally hundreds of monsters to choose from, it's kind of irksome.

    Also, I don't agree with the direction they've taken with the Rockets. Yeah. Complaining.

  7. #7

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Its tied between the main character being an idiot, there's close to no character development (the writers seem completely incapable of pulling this off anyway, as the most "Character Development" we get is a Pokèmon changing completely just because he evolved...like Charmander-Charmeleon) leading to them simply replacing the main characters from time to time, and having Ash release his Pokèmon for illogical reasons.

  8. #8

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Them not switching the main character.

    I've come to terms with this and know that as long as Pikachu is in the children's hearts, he'll never go away, but still. They should have switched Ash out a long time ago.

    Other than that I'm relatively okay with stuff.

  9. #9

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Ash should have won a league by now (specifically the Sinnoh league), and his older pokemon should get more than one appearance after every 200 episodes.

    Any other complaints I used to have were fixed. Thank god we aren't sitting throughout endless fillers like in Johto anymore, or constantly watching Ash release his Pokemon.

    Basically everything that made Johto bad was fixed by all the following arcs. Then the villain teams also improved with each passing gen, making up for Magma/Aqua being handled poorly.

  10. #10
    覚えてる? CommanderPigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Floriderp
    Posts
    3,468
    Blog Entries
    95

    Follow CommanderPigg on Tumblr Visit CommanderPigg's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Paul not getting the soothebells back from Ash. I am infuriated.

    "seasons change, people change"

  11. #11
    Snowflake Army winstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4,435
    Blog Entries
    190

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    I would have love Ash to get a win in the league as well. As for my biggest complaint, it's probably Pikachu's reset. My second biggest is actually not really a complaint, which is the fact that there are so many episodes in the series. Don't get me wrong, the quantity's its strength, but it's the fact that catching up is a challenge. Yeah, not a good complaint, but it's just me.

    Thanks for reading.
    “Detachment does not consist in setting fire to one's house, or becoming bankrupt or throwing one's fortune out of the window, or even giving away all of one's possessions. Detachment consists in refraining from letting our possessions possess us.”

    Bonus articles: Ice-type Reviews - Generation 2 (22/11/2014)

  12. #12

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Yeah, the length of the series is also a problem.

    Its obvious most people aren't going to watch all 670+ episodes nowadays, unless you saw most arcs when they were originally airing all those years ago.

  13. #13
    Gangsta's Paradise Froakie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Bath, England
    Posts
    2,379
    Blog Entries
    176

    Follow Froakie on Tumblr

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Brock leaving after 13 years. :)

  14. #14
    Gonna be a tl;dr Master! Shinneth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Kentucky. The boonies.
    Posts
    1,234
    Blog Entries
    30

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Ash still being 10 is total and utter BS and I really wish that was not reiterated in BW so everyone could still maintain their own interpretation on the matter. And Iris calling Ash a little kid 5 times per episode in BW is not making that any easier to swallow (especially when Iris herself looks younger than he does and apparently can't get it through her thick head that Ash is a foreigner, of course he's not going to know jack shit about Unova). I understand they want to keep him young so the target audience can relate to the protagonist better, but would it seriously alienate them to make Ash just a couple of years older? Other series can manage this with no problem and they aren't 600+ episode monster series like Pokemon is. Seriously, when the amount of episodes nearly equal 2 years if you count 1 episode as 1 day (and that's not accounting for the time gaps that are established to happen between certain episodes) and the 1-year anniversary thing with Pikachu and they still say 1 year hasn't passed yet, that... is totally and utterly ridiculous and I cannot buy that, even from this crazy-ass series.

    That's ignoring the fact that Ash has obviously matured since his Kanto days (well, IMO he's regressed in BW, but in DP he really came off more as a 13 year-old rather than 10), I believe these Leagues must be yearly and are probably the Pokemon world's equivalent of the Superbowl, i.e. they all happen around the same time and thus Ash isn't going through 4 leagues in under a year... if this series were just a slice-of-life show where every episode isn't a direct continuation of the previous one I wouldn't mind, but this is an ongoing journey, has been from the get-go... so any excuse not to age Ash is pure and utter bullshit.

    Beyond that, I'm also not a fan of how the direction of the Rockets has changed since BW started. I mean, I don't mind change as long as it's better or at least equal to the previous shtick, but when they're this goddamn boring I just can't get into it at all. It's so drastic that the TR we know and love is barely recognizable most of the time, and after 14 years or so, that is a very jarring change to accept.

    The inconsistency of Pikachu's power is another thing that bugs me, though it didn't seriously bother me until BW. In AG it was a relatively new concept, in DP it eventually made sense when Paul was revealed to be every bit as experienced as Ash in addition to being smarter than him... in BW it was just totally phoned in, and even after that Pikachu is losing the simplest of battles for absolutely no reason and now they're just trying to piss me off with this losing-despite-type-advantage BS with Cress and losing to established-newb Trip... just because...?

    So, the other stuff... I've gotten used to the VA change ages ago (to the point where it's actually jarring and weird hearing the 4Kids voices in the Johto reruns on Boomerang), I don't mind the cast changes each season either since it's keeping things fresh (though I have to admit that I'm in the minority in one aspect, though: Iris and Cilan have yet to grow on me), Ash not winning a League yet suits me just fine since the show's being surprisingly realistic in that respect for being an action shounen genre. It's much less annoying than watching the protagonist win all the time like I've seen in certain series. Tyson from the original Beyblade series and Jaden Yuki from Yu-Gi-Oh! GX come to mind immediately. Compared to that, seeing Ash not win all the time is quite refreshing, and at least he is making progress with every passing series, so there is a sense of optimism that eventually he'll win someday.

    What bugs me that isn't listed is the issue of equal distribution of limelight (lack thereof, that is) and how some rivals are handled... and the occasional DEM battles that happen in this series, but over time they've gotten better about that with some exceptions. Johto really didn't do that good of a job showcasing the new Pokemon Ash captured, then in DP I'd say it's hard to argue that Piplup didn't sap away a great deal of development potential from the rest of Dawn's Pokemon. It doesn't help that the majority of Piplup's character development was handled within the first few episodes either, so later on most Piplup-centered episodes weren't much more than the penguin being the whiny, bitchy little brat he's always been. I mean, it's nice that he had much more of an established personality than May's starter ever got, but it wasn't a very endearing one... especially when Piplup was all over the place in the series.

    Brock and his Pokemon got shunned in general, but that's pretty much always been the case. I'd say Ash's DP Pokemon fared much better in terms of development, though later on Infernape got a loooot of focus; probably more than what it needed. But it wasn't so much that it made me grow to hate it or anything. Only thing that really bothered me was how Torterra essentially became a giant load by late-DP and they could have addressed this since Torterra's far from the type of Pokemon Ash is good at utilizing (plus it could never truly match up to {Paul's Torterra, of course). Buizel became a major jobber for the majority of the series, but got a little bit of redemption by the end. Ambipom lost all of her charm upon evolving and got inarguably the worst send-off of any Pokemon in the show, and even Paul's Electivire being whored out at every single opportunity for no real reason pissed me off, too. Sure, it had a personality, but I just never felt much for its forced rivalry with Pikachu (which Pikachu never overcame) and Infernape. I wanted to see more of Paul's Torterra, which would have made sense since, y'know, it's his starter and was a much better representation of the species than Ash's ever was. Nando and no full battles until the Top 8 aside, Paul not using Torterra against Ash is one of my biggest Sinnoh League complaints. His Weavile was never really shown to be as awesome as the rest of his team, either, which also bugged me since I have a major Weavile bias.

    As for rivals, well... we all know how rushed and forced the League rivals tend to be, but with every series they get less grating, at least. Gary was a great rival, but the writers really stiffed the guy by barely letting him appear and giving him a goal change out of the blue. So far, Trip is really not doing it for me since he's only coming off as a xenophobic Paul-lite. It's a bit early to judge him too hard, but compared to DP, Paul already had more appearances within 21 episodes, had a much stronger introduction, actually did stuff or at least provided entertainment, and had a legitimate reason for always being a step ahead of Ash. Making Trip a beginner was probably the biggest mistake; it's just hard to buy him being legitimately superior to Ash when Ash has four regions of experience over the guy. It's understandable to really have a rival stand out after the spectacular job they did with Paul, but with Trip it really just feels like they put no effort into him. I'm sure he'll be better-developed later on, but this whole beginner topping a trainer in his fifth region BS is going to be very hard to justify for the whole series.

    I actually had no problem with May's rivals. Her rivals-of-the-day for the most part were interesting, and long-term Drew+Harley were excellent, memorable rivals. That's why I was so disappointed with Dawn's, however, since Dawn is conceptually supposed to be all of the writers' experience from developing May, hence any mistakes made with May would be rectified through Dawn. In most cases, the BS Contest wins were fixed, but the rivals were a major step down from May's in my opinion, which made Dawn's part of the story very hard for me to give a crap about after a while. Combined with vanilla rivals and Piplup taking up 90% of her Pokemon's development opportunities, Dawn's Contest storyline in general was a major bore and easily my least favorite part of the DP series. It didn't help that Dawn's character development, what little she had of it, seriously paled in comparison to May's.

    Boy, I don't think I tl;dr'ed enough, do you?

    Chapter 19: Black Ice Battle!
    plurk | SPPF | dA | ff.net

  15. #15

    Default Re: What is your biggest complaint about the Pokemon series?

    Good lord Shinneth.

    Anyway, my biggest complaint is Ash not being written off yet.

Page 1 of 40 12311 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •