Vegetarian recipes that are easy and cheap?

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jda95

Thread: Vegetarian recipes that are easy and cheap?

A Liver Made Fullmetal Misato Katsuragi's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Follow Misato Katsuragi on Tumblr

Default Vegetarian recipes that are easy and cheap?

So I have a couple of problems:
    a) I am a broke college student,
    b) I am a lousy chef, and typically very lazy
    c) I am trying to see if I can go vegetarian for all but one meal a day, basically for the reasons outlined in this video - raising meat and the food needed to feed those animals for the numbers that people usually consume them is a huge waste of resources, and it would be a great idea if more meat-eaters who don't feel they can take the plunge to vegetarianism or veganism simply try to eat less meat, because having a small proportion of the population give up meat totally while the rest of us eat as much as we always did isn't doing enough. (For those of you who think I'm just believing everything YouTube tells me, I'd actually been thinking about this for a while and finally decided to take the plunge with the Vlogbrothers' encouragement. Lol.)

And so I'm looking for more vegetarian and vegan recipes that are really easy and don't cost much, because it seems like a lot of my meat-eating is due to relying on crappy fast food for many of my meals when I'm too lazy to cook. I know that in terms of food you prepare, it's cheaper to eat veggies and fruits and grains than it is to eat a lot of animal products, but even then those meals usually require too much for my laziness.

Anyway...

I don't want something like "Late-Night Bacon" (I'm not a complete idiot), I want something that requires actual preparation and thought but not too much time or too many ingredients. Here's an example of the level of complexity I'm talking about (and a free recipe for my fellow lazy, broke college students!)

Microwaveable Omelet