What do you find is the biggest single problem with fanfics? - Page 11

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Like Tree69Likes

Thread: What do you find is the biggest single problem with fanfics?

Blog Entries

Default Re: What do you find is the biggest single problem with fanfics?

Comedy such as satire would be an exception, and I am willing to admit there may be other exceptions I haven't thought of. I am still a student of writing myself, so there could be something else out there. But on the whole, that sort of behavior hurts the story. Characters are supposed to be real, at least for a given definition of real. They are supposed to be real to the writer, and in being real to the writer, the writer gets to know them, and therefore can write them realistically and consistently. They are also supposed to be real to the reader. We connect with the story and pretend it's real, so when a character gets hurt we feel hurt. But why should we feel hurt? They are letters on a screen or a page. They aren't flesh and blood. And yet we care. We become invested in what happens to these characters. Authors need to try and breathe life into the characters and their work.

And I never said it was impossible to write Paul well. I just said that I myself couldn't do it right now. I can at least admit that to myself and try to avoid writing the character directly

is obsessed with Noivern! Zekurom's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by reynard View Post
    Comedy such as satire would be an exception, and I am willing to admit there may be other exceptions I haven't thought of. I am still a student of writing myself, so there could be something else out there.
    Well, certainly satire is the place where it's done the most, as often the very purpose of satire is to mock the character, story, or element in question.

But on the whole, that sort of behavior hurts the story.