The Review Game
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 66

Thread: The Review Game

  1. #1
    Moderator AceTrainer14's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,382
    Trophies
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default The Review Game

    Hello all!

    This is the latest game that the Workshop Moderators have concocted for you, inspired by a thread Gotpika posted last year and he has given us permission to use it. The Review Game is fairly simple: User A requests for Chapter One of Story 1 to be reviewed. User B will then review it, post a link to his review and he can then request for Story 2 Prologue to be reviewed. User C can come along and review it and request his own fic, though he has to be quick, as User D wants to get Story 4 reviewed as well. It is a continuous game where you request for a story to be reviewed, someone reviews it and they make their own request and so on and so forth, but to clarify, it is only one person requesting a review at a time: in order to have your turn, you must fulfil the most recent review request and then make your own.

    There are a few extra rules you must be aware of before playing:


    The point of this thread is to encourage everyone to get into the spirit of reviewing and to experience new stories you may not have read before. Any story from the forums can be included, so this is open to everybody! Reviews don’t have to be long essays detailing an entire story, just simple things that will help the author and help you build your skills (the original thread offers ideas on what to comment on and how to structure your review which can be a useful way for those who are uncertain.)

    Now it is time to play! @AetherX will be the man in charge here, I am just laying down the rules, so bring your concerns to him but feel free to ask any moderators for help should you need it!

    I will get things going by requesting a review for the Prologue of Dawn of Darkness. Remember to get involved and have fun!
    Last edited by AceTrainer14; 20th April 2014 at 08:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Secret Sword of Justice Kelleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,397
    Add Kelleo on Facebook
    Visit Kelleo's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Here you go, AceTrainer! I'm afraid I don't have a lot of experience reviewing fics, but I do my best. :)

    As for my request, I'd like a review for the prologue and first chapter of my own Dawn of Darkness (my Fire Emblem fic), seeing as it's the only one of my posted fics that hasn't gotten any attention here so far. The prologue is really short, so don't worry much about that. You'll find the link to the thread in my sig.

  3. #3
    Reader and Writer Legacy's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,576
    Blog Entries
    66

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Very enjoyed the story so far, Kelleo. Here is my review: Fire Emblem: Dawn of Darkness

    For my request, I'd love it if someone new could review the first chapter of my fic, Land of Monsters. Link is in my sig. Might need to read the prologue too to fully appreciate the story, but its not too long. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

    Coming Soon...

  4. #4
    Hex Mistress NoirGrimoir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,690
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Here is your review, Legacy.

    I'd like someone to review the first chapter of my fic: You Win Some, You Lose Some. I'd prefer they review both the first chapters since they are sort of a part one, part two thing, but together they are longer than 7k words, so I'll understand if the next reviewer doesn't want to be committed to both.

    Official Claimer of the Pokemon Pumpkaboo | Official Claimer of the Move Trick- Or -Treat | Official Claimer of the Items Silph Scope and Odd Keystone.
    If you like comedy, check out my fanfic "You Win Some, You Lose Some" (CHAPTER THREE UP!) | For some supplementary art, visit NG's Sketches 'n Stuff!

  5. #5
    Registered User harryheart's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Somewhere in Johto...
    Posts
    629

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Here is the review @NoirGrimoir;

    Could someone please review the first chapter of Max's Hoenn Journey then. It's still being updated and into the 30s chapter wise, but I hope the first chapter is still enjoyable and it'll be useful for me to look at where I can develop and take my writing even further.
    Credits to Sweet May and DanChimchar from Serebii
    For the Banner

  6. #6
    Stray Dog Flaze's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Why do you care
    Posts
    61,076
    Blog Entries
    153
    Add Flaze on Facebook
    Follow Flaze on Tumblr Visit Flaze's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: The Review Game

    here ya go buddy

    Deciding to change the fic for this game considering it has been a while, maybe this way the game will get moving again.

    So I want a review for my newest fic Requiem:Gemini

    It is 2155 words long.
    Last edited by Flaze; 5th March 2013 at 04:51 PM.

  7. #7
    Your mind is a world AetherX's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,251
    Blog Entries
    1

    Visit AetherX's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: The Review Game

    One review right hurr

    I guess one for the first chapter of Unpredictable would be okay. I don't want to make anyone read too much :P

    5,917 words anyway

  8. #8
    CEO of the Monsters Lugion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,848
    Blog Entries
    99

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Here you go, AetherX.

    My turn! Okay, I'd like a review of Chapter 1 of A Pokémon Story. As it happens, chapter 1 is the only one I've posted so far. :P

    http://bmgf.bulbagarden.net/f227/pok%C3%A9mon-story-146428/

  9. #9
    Not A Piece of Cake Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    4,568
    Blog Entries
    186

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Review for A Pokémon Story is right here.

    I'd take a review for a chapter of The Girl Who Knows the Hearts of Dragons, hope the chapters aren't too immense for anyone's liking.

  10. #10
    ◓Gypsy Vanner Horse Kyuuketsuki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    The Old World.
    Posts
    2,245
    Blog Entries
    330

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Apparently, it's fine to do this: Here's my review.

    I'd like a review for the first two chapters of What History Hides, please. Collective word count is 2,729.

  11. #11
    Clarion of Revelations Feliciano's Avatar Social Media Editor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Olivine City, Johto
    Posts
    7,223
    Blog Entries
    168

    Default Re: The Review Game

    I hope you don't mind that I gave a review for all the chapters instead of the first two, but here you go.

    I'd like a review for Heart of Crystal, please.
    Last edited by Feliciano; 13th April 2013 at 09:19 PM.
    ~ 3DS Friend Code: 5300-9399-4530~

    Heart of Crystal - a Crystal Nuzlocke challenge story
    "He had it comin'! He had it comin'! He only had himself to blame! If you'd've been there, if you'd've seen it, I bet you you would have done the same!"

  12. #12
    Because I like Tophats Tophat Dragoneye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Scandinavia
    Posts
    842
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default Re: The Review Game

    I've heard you needed a review for your fic, Feli, so I gave you for the first three chapters: Link

    I would like a review of at least the first chapter of my fic, Flames of a Revolutionary. Chapter 2 is not required but would be highly appreciated if it was done.
    Revolutionaryverse


    Many thanks to Blue Dragon for the signature

    ONE-shot: Forced into Retirement

  13. #13
    Secret Sword of Justice Kelleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,397
    Add Kelleo on Facebook
    Visit Kelleo's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: The Review Game

    Here you go, Tophat! I hope I was helpful, despite having been sick today. :)

    I'd like to request a review for Super Luigi: Battle Star Legend next, seeing as I plan to start updating it like heck soon due to motivation from Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon for 3DS. Also cause it's the Year of Luigi. ^^

    The chapters in this one are also much shorter than those of my other fics, so reviewing up to chapter 3, if possible, will do. I don't believe it's as well written as the rest of my stuff since I had help on those, but I hope it's enjoyable anyway! The link is in my sig. :)

  14. #14
    Brock's Pikachu LightningTopaz's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pokemon Stadium
    Posts
    5,850
    Blog Entries
    55

    Default Re: The Review Game

    @Kelleo; How detailed do you want the review? Do you want just a first impression once over or do you want details?
    Last edited by LightningTopaz; 18th May 2013 at 01:03 PM.
    My URPG stats: Maya's status

    SuBuWriMo status: 28,103 words in all!

  15. #15
    Secret Sword of Justice Kelleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,397
    Add Kelleo on Facebook
    Visit Kelleo's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: The Review Game

    @LightningTopaz; A little of both, really. I'd like to know what the reviewer liked and what I should fix (not just grammar/spelling errors either). That's pretty much it.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •