ATTENTION: Review Exchange

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Review Exchange

  1. #1
    Guess Who's Watching... Aladar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    7,375
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default Review Exchange

    Welcome to the review exchange thread!

    More and more fics are being added to the Workshop every day and I am sure that everyone is glad about it but with the increasing amount of new writers, many people are facing the problem of a lack of reviews. This is a thread meant to try and fix that.

    When someone needs a review, s/he just has to VM/PM one of the writers signed up here and s/he will get one. But to keep things fair, firstly you have to review a fic of the one you want to review yours. Basically, if writer A wants B to review his fic, s/he first reviews fic X that B has written and then VMs/PMs the author. B then will review the fic that A wants. The system is simple. You review a single chapter of some writer's work, s/he reviews one chapter of a fic you want reviewed. You make an overall review for the whole fic, you get an overall review for the whole fic etc etc

    Of course, the reviews aren't supposed to be one-liners and such. If you want a good review pointing out the flaws in your fic, the good parts and everything else, you should first write a similar one, too. Reviews should cover grammar, description, setting, storytelling, pace, character and so on and so forth.

    Any writer who wants to participate should VM/PM a Workshop mod to be added to the list and inform us which fic would s/he like the users who want a review from him/her to review first.

    Last edited by Gama; 22nd April 2012 at 05:36 PM.


    A lone detective takes it upon himself to solve the murder of a young woman, willingly diving into the dangerous web of conspiracies weaved by the feuding mafia families. But after the truth is uncovered, will that city of sin be the same ever again?

  2. #2
    Reader and Writer Legacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,395
    Blog Entries
    65

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    Can we have the fic's links posted on the first post, Aladar?

  3. #3
    Guess Who's Watching... Aladar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    7,375
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    Well, Hellion's the only one that sent me a link along with the fic. Kinda hard to search for all of 'em and add links, y'know.

    Sometime in the future, I guess. If any other mod has a link to a story on hand, feel free to add it. :)

    EDIT: Never mind, I added all the links.
    Last edited by Aladar; 9th April 2011 at 03:47 AM.


    A lone detective takes it upon himself to solve the murder of a young woman, willingly diving into the dangerous web of conspiracies weaved by the feuding mafia families. But after the truth is uncovered, will that city of sin be the same ever again?

  4. #4
    I feel so much spring... Cabaret's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    The United States
    Posts
    564
    Blog Entries
    25

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I like this, not simply because it's getting people reviews (not sure if I'll participate in it yet) but because it shows me a general overview of what fics are currently still in circulation at the workshop, kinda like a directory.

  5. #5
    *rules with cotton fist* Kayi-chan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere, Mexico
    Posts
    9,191
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    Added SilverChromeX to the list, along with the story Pokemon Adventures: Beyond the Horizon.

    This makes 23 people in Review Exchange. Hope more get in!

    2010/08/02: 4th chapter

    More fanfiction at:
    Kayi S. Rowling's Library

  6. #6
    Hero of the South Beausoleil's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Silicon Hills, Texas
    Posts
    18,307
    Blog Entries
    659
    Add Beausoleil on Facebook
    Follow Beausoleil on Tumblr

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    Updated with Milo†icgirl McQüeen's fic, making 25 members of the exchange.

  7. #7
    Brock's Pikachu LightningTopaz's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pokemon Stadium
    Posts
    5,600
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I would like to join in too--will send links to fics soon
    My URPG stats: Maya's status

    SuBuWriMo status: 28,103 words in all!

  8. #8
    Requiem Raver Drakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Aboard the Hikokyu II
    Posts
    2,273
    Blog Entries
    28

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I would also like to join with these two fics:

    Life of the Legendaries

    Poké Wars Chronicles: Tales from a World at War
    What are the Legendaries really like? Find out in The Life of the Legendaries

    Humans and pokémon no longer live in harmony. Hear their tales in The Poké Wars Chronicles: Tales From A World At War

    Cynthia once had it all: powerful pokémon, fame and hordes of adoring fans. But Ho-oh's campaign tears her life asunder. Now to survive this deadly new world, she must do the one thing that she never wanted: kill. Follow her trials through a world at war in Poké Wars: Downfall of a Champion

  9. #9
    Guess Who's Watching... Aladar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    7,375
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I added Drakon to the list.


    A lone detective takes it upon himself to solve the murder of a young woman, willingly diving into the dangerous web of conspiracies weaved by the feuding mafia families. But after the truth is uncovered, will that city of sin be the same ever again?

  10. #10
    Wordsmith unrepentantAuthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    United Kingdom/Hoenn
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    This looks an excellent system! I would like to join as the thirtieth member, if that's alright. I think I shall start writing reviews myself in short order, mm.
    A link to my fic is in my signature.

  11. #11
    Let's get funky! Gama's Avatar Former Head Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,153
    Blog Entries
    68

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I'll add you to the list now, but I'll warn you that this project is pretty dead right now. (That is, basically no one uses it, though you are still encouraged to since we think it's great in theory.)

    We might be revamping this at some point in the near future.

  12. #12
    Wordsmith unrepentantAuthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    United Kingdom/Hoenn
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    The adding is much appreciated, as is the caution, and the revamping is much encouraged. Thanks.

  13. #13
    Power Player RaiThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    California
    Posts
    93

    Cool Re: Review Exchange

    This sounds like it will be a pretty cool system. I'll have to start posting fanfics here.

  14. #14
    BF Author alster08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    882
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default Re: Review Exchange


  15. #15
    Let's get funky! Gama's Avatar Former Head Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,153
    Blog Entries
    68

    Default Re: Review Exchange

    I've added you too, alster. Keep an eye out for if this project is revived.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •