Hello!

Thread: Hello!

Post Hello!

I am new to the writing side of Pokemon; once my exams are over in 33 days, I hope to spend some spare time writing some creative text about Unova. I am still pondering over a story line, but I was just wondering about some tips for the writing.

Cheers for any input guys!
    Team: Castform; Klinklang; Victini; Tornadus

Trophies

Default Re: Hello!

Always have somebody, anybody, peer-edit the story over. And always be sure to have good grammar, imagery, and if it's your style, talk figuratively.
    No.

Brock's Pikachu LightningTopaz's Avatar Moderator
    Blog Entries

--Don't worry about what's currently popular--write the story YOU want to tell.
    --have a plan before you start writing, and be willing to add to, delete from, and modify that plan
    My URPG stats: Maya's status

SuBuWriMo status: 28,103 words in all!

Blog Entries

The character's thoughts and feelings are what is going to carry your story, so worry less about plot and description and being original or cool, and focus on making your character's experiences and emotions seem real and relevant to the reader. Without that, everything else is just pretty wrapping paper without a present inside.

Official Claimer of the Pokemon Pumpkaboo | Official Claimer of the Move Trick-Or-Treat | Official Claimer of the Items Silph Scopeand Odd Keystone.
    If you like comedy, check out my fanfic "You Win Some, You Lose Some" (CHAPTER THREE UP!) | For some supplementary art, visit NG's Sketches 'n Stuff!

J'ai Envie De Toi AetherX's Avatar Moderator
    Blog Entries

The advice others have given above is really good stuff, take it to heart.

Also, read other people's stories. Pick out what they do that you enjoy reading and try to emulate it in your writing. Not to mention interacting with the community is the best way to get feedback on your story, which will help you improve! The Review Game is a good place to start.