ATTENTION: General Writing Questions - Page 5

Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: General Writing Questions

A Liver Made Fullmetal Misato Katsuragi's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Follow Misato Katsuragi on Tumblr

Default Re: Writer's Workshop General Chat Thread

Hey guys! I have a writing question and I figured I should pose it here rather than in the general conversational chat thread.

How obvious can a "meaningful name" be before it's too treacly? Like if I have a character who is of French descent whose main trait is she is very envious, is making her surname "Yeuxverts" too much? (French for "green eyes")

Hi, I'm Rose. I love music, alcohol, pointless Internet debates and being a snob about my choices in entertainment. I write a lot. You can read some of my writing at Autostraddle.com, the best site for LBTQ women on the Internet, where I am a staff writer. Or the funhouse that is my tumblr. I also write music sometimes, and post the better fruits of my labors on my SoundCloud.

Brock's Pikachu LightningTopaz's Avatar Moderator
    Blog Entries

It depends on the character's first name and its meaning and how it sounds with the last name.
    My URPG stats: Maya's status

SuBuWriMo status: 28,103 words in all!

Blog Entries

I dunno, I know approximately one word of French, so I definitely wouldn't even be able to roll my eyes at that.

A Liver Made Fullmetal Misato Katsuragi's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Follow Misato Katsuragi on Tumblr

Quote Originally Posted by LightningTopaz View Post
    It depends on the character's first name and its meaning and how it sounds with the last name.
    The character's first name isn't going to be particularly meaningful, just some French girls' name that I like.

I think having two meaningful names would be overkill.