Food in the Pokémon World

Thread: Food in the Pokémon World

Default Food in the Pokémon World

It's my first time posting in this forum, so pardon me if I did something wrong/unnecessary. Not to mention that my English grammar isn't perfect :P

Here's the thing: I'm trying to do Worldbuilding of the Pokémon World that I'm portraying, which includes a large bit of history. I've already written some events at the beginning of the world, when people still lived in tribes made up of shelters,
    but I'm struggling with something that could be ignored in modern-world portrayals of the Pokémon World: the food. I know I could just make the humanity entirely vegetarian, but we know that meat gives lots of calories and energy for people, if consumed moderately, and if we add the physical exercises, people become really healthy and strong. I also want Pokémon flesh consumption to exist to make a world similar enough to our real one that it can be recognized, yet enjoyed by other differences that I'll attempt to create later.

So, can anyone suggest Pokémon that would be hunted by humans back then (only from Generations I-IV) for meat?

Default Re: Food in the Pokémon World

Hmmm... Farfetch'd? Oddish? Slowpoke?

Stanler...

Blog Entries

Magikarp. It's even mentioned being eaten in the fourth-gen games.

Staring down the barrel of a flintlock musket
    Blog Entries

Taurus and Miltank, of course. And maybe some Torchic.

EAT MOR BLAZKIN

Field Research
    Chapter 47- Angels of Pewter

Follow juiceboxxx On Twitter
    Follow juiceboxxx on Tumblr

Well, there's a book in DPPt that says something about thanking the spirit of the Pokemon before you eat it. So I'd imagine that even if Pokemon are consumed as meat, they're still given some sort of tribute.

NOW THEN.