Basic Guidelines for Reviewing/Fic Reviewers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: Basic Guidelines for Reviewing/Fic Reviewers

  1. #1
    Java Girl Barb's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    The Peach State
    Posts
    6,414
    Blog Entries
    32

    Default Basic Guidelines for Reviewing/Fic Reviewers

    Reviewing is a writing exercise. The more you review, the better your own writing will become. However, you should want to help out the author in your review and this can be done by pointing out any grammatical errors, continuity problems, etc.

    There are five key points to writing a good review:

    1. Honesty. Honest opinions are what help writers improve. Giving false feedback doesn't help anyone, and can lead a writer down a long road of bitter disappointment.

    2. Encouragement. Reviews should be encouraging. Everyone at every level should be encouraged to continue writing.

    3. Respect. A reviewer flaunting that they are better than the author they're reviewing is not respectful and is counter productive. Always remember the author is a person just like you, with feelings just like yours. If you don't want reviews that say, "You are terrible and need to find a real hobby," then by all means, don't write reviews like that. Constructive criticism is allowed and encouraged here. Flaming is not.

    4. Well rounded. A good review should cover both the positive and the negative aspects of the fanfic. I find it easier to start out a review by telling the author what you liked and then gently offering some constructive criticism.

    5. Rating. You can rate fics if you like, on a scale of 1 (error-filled and generally bad) to 5 (amazingly good). Be honest when rating a fic.

    Keeping in mind the five points highlighted above, a review should contain your opinion. Grammatical, typographical and other errors can be included within a review, but don't forget to tell the author how the piece made you feel. Give him or her your thoughts about the inside of their writing, not just the outside.

    Think about the fic for a moment before you review it. Ask yourself: Did the plot interest you? Were the characters believable? Did the story fit the time, place and other setting characteristics? Is there anything you would change within the story?

    Incorporating these thoughts within your reviews will expand your own analytical skills allowing you to better analyze your own writing. Whether the author agrees with any of your suggestions or ideas is not relevant. You have given them another perspective on their work they would not have otherwise had. They may hear the same thoughts from a number of different people which may give them a better understanding of their readers as a whole.

  2. #2
    The Astute cynic
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    By the Martini glass
    Posts
    418

    Default

    A few more tips to reviewing a work.

    It always helps to reread a chapter o a peice if you want to find out what it is you are critiquing on there.

    When you start to read the piece, try to figure out what the author is trying to convey through the piece. What are the main plot points, what are the different ways one can approach the writing.

    Once you start to write a reply, try to remember the feelings it evoked when you read the piece, and tell the writer about it. ALso tell them if the syntax and mechanics of the writing in itself was wrong. Tell them if certain thigns seem implausible in teh concept of the story.

    For exmaple - If you think that Ash shouldn't have laughed at the trainer in question after winning the battle.

    Tell the author that. Critiquing isn't just about fixing spelling mistakes and telling the author that the story was

    And the biggest thing to remember., be polite. If you didn't like the fiction, tell them about it. But, don't be vulgar about it. We're trying to maintain a community here. I understand that people can disagree, but see if the disagreement can be solved before you stoop to words and blows.

    ~
    " Jesus Christ -The Lord and Saviour of the Christian faith. Also a big fan of FPS and Fighting Games. He enjoys shooting people in online games when they are talking, and "throwing up the horns" when he wins. Also known for his legendary skill in Mario Kart: Double Dash - for his ability to "bring those blue sparks" (qtd from Wikipedia).

  3. #3
    Guess Who's Watching... Aladar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    7,375
    Blog Entries
    42

    Default Fic Reviewers

    Here's the genral idea for people who are not familiar with these kind of threads:

    Here, people who are willing to review and comment other people's fics, will post their preferences- what kind of fics they are willing to review, what kind they won't review, are they currently busy reviewing other fics etc.

    Of course, this thread is for reviewers who are willing to make longer reviews, pointing out the good and bad parts of the fic, commenting on the personality of the characters, the plot, the description/action/speech and the fic overall.

    I'm posting this thread because I know from experience how a good journey fic (for example) can slip past your radar just because of its title... I've also noticed how longer fics tend to receive fewer reviews, just because many members (including me) are not willing to lose their time reading something quite time-consuming, not knowing if it's a fic they'll like or just a meaningless wall of text.


    So, by posting your fic preferences here, reviewers looking for, let's say fics featuring Ash in the future, can easily be PMed by someone writing this kind of a fic and a writer, if he doesn't receive reviews or wants more, can find someone who wants to review a fic like his here.


    In short:

    1. The reviewer posts his fic preferences here- genre/style/setting/anime characters/OCs etc.
    2. The reviewer states whether he is currently free or reviewing a (or several) fic/s and can't review others at the moment.
    3. The writer PMs someone who had volunteered to be a reviewer.
    4. This thread is only for reviewers to state their preferences, if you want someone to review your fic PM him/her.


    Thread approved by LightningTopaz.


    A lone detective takes it upon himself to solve the murder of a young woman, willingly diving into the dangerous web of conspiracies weaved by the feuding mafia families. But after the truth is uncovered, will that city of sin be the same ever again?

  4. #4
    Jiggly Lover Blondie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Washington State Baby!
    Posts
    423
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    Quote Originally Posted by Aladar View Post
    I've also noticed how longer fics tend to receive fewer reviews, just because many members (including me) are not willing to lose their time reading something quite time-consuming, not knowing if it's a fic they'll like or just a meaningless wall of text.
    Good point, but I think Legacy's fic is pretty long and it has the most views by far.


    But I'm free to be a reviewer for anyone. I usually read most of the fics as they come out with new chapters anyway. So yea, just PM me....I don't really have a preference, anime/game, etc. I like any story as long as I can get into it.

  5. #5
    Actual Cannibal Shiay LaBeouf Shiay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    2,375
    Blog Entries
    157
    Follow Shiay On Twitter Add Shiay on Facebook
    Follow Shiay on Tumblr Visit Shiay's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    ^ Indeed, Legacy definitely has the most reviews by far. He's got good descriptions and scenes.

    Anyways -- this isn't the place to discuss other fics, so I stop myself there.

    I, for one, really enjoy reading fics that are long in length.... However... I'll read any fic that someone asks me to read... just because I'm like that. I don't have much of a preference, mainly because I'm neutral to just about everything. Be it pairings, concepts, plot, etc.

    EDIT: November 2nd, 2009 -- Fic reviewing status is back up and I am now able to be reviewing in my free time once again.
    Last edited by Shiay; 2nd November 2009 at 05:45 AM.

    deviantART | Perfect Lie | The Sinclair Journal | Level Up! | My Fanclub | Fallout Fanclub | Morty/Matsuba Fanclub | Left 4 Dead Group | TERA Player

    Tempest Reach Server
    Jaydin.Byrd/37/Human/Warrior | Alloura/20/Elin/Priest | Jaysen.Biel/20/Castanic/Warrior | Kayan/6/Castanic/Archer
    Azrea/5/Castanic/Warrior | Gwenevire/8/Elin/Sorcerer | Jak.Sinclair/18/Human/Warrior | Sylsalis/10/Castanic/Archer

    Celestial Hills Server
    Vaiha/15/Castanic/Slayer | Thalifra/16/Castanic/Sorcerer | Shiay/13/Human/Slayer | Mirielle.Maltrusse/23/High Elf/Mystic
    Nuell/20/Castanic/Archer | Open | Open | Open

  6. #6
    Different Akiyama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Pacific Timezone
    Posts
    73
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I prefer Pokemon Mystery Dungeon fan fics. But I'm neutral towards most things; however I don't like Ash, Misty and other cliches and I would prefer things that are more original to review. Overall just give a request through PM and I'll look it over because you asked nicely.

    Edit: doing many other things in life, unable to reivew.
    Last edited by Akiyama; 5th June 2010 at 09:38 PM. Reason: I left

  7. #7
    THE SITE LOOKS WEIRD.
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    142
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I prefer to review original fanfics that consist of made-up characters and aren't affiliated with the anime in anyway. I am, however, willing to read any kind. I'm content with reading any genre of any story. I edit a lot, point out mistakes, make suggestions and comments, and then point out what I like and dislike.
    I'm not busy to review anything, but I am rather tired at the moment. I can multi-review. (In other words, I can review two or three stories at once. It may take a while though because I tend to take my time ;) ) PM me if you'd like me to review your story. =DDDD

  8. #8
    Bloody Melt
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    1,532
    Blog Entries
    193

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I review mostly game-based ones, but anime-based and manga-based are fine. OCs are fine, but I would prefer to keep away from anime characters, what with their personalities of sandpaper, oil and mud.
    If ya need me, I'm probably playing some Mann vs Machine: http://steamcommunity.com/id/optimatum

  9. #9
    The Woman of Your Dreams ArceusAngel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Wherever the wind takes me.
    Posts
    429
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I'll review. I prefer anime-based and manga-based fics, unless a fic with OCs has really distinct characters with actual personalities. But yea, let me know anyone.

  10. #10
    The Dimension Wizard Flaze's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Why do you care
    Posts
    59,620
    Blog Entries
    151
    Add Flaze on Facebook
    Follow Flaze on Tumblr Visit Flaze's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    Quote Originally Posted by Aladar View Post
    I'm posting this thread because I know from experience how a good journey fic (for example) can slip past your radar just because of its title... I've also noticed how longer fics tend to receive fewer reviews, just because many members (including me) are not willing to lose their time reading something quite time-consuming, not knowing if it's a fic they'll like or just a meaningless wall of text.
    This part is so true

  11. #11
    Badass The revolution's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I p.m.ed a bunch of people up there. Great thread.

    I like to review things with more Realistic violence than the anime. So I like stories more like the comic.
    http://bmgf.bulbagarden.net/showthread.php?t=41677

    A chapter from my story. Please give it a read and review if you are over 17

  12. #12
    The Dimension Wizard Flaze's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Why do you care
    Posts
    59,620
    Blog Entries
    151
    Add Flaze on Facebook
    Follow Flaze on Tumblr Visit Flaze's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    Now that I remembered I forgot to put my reading preference, I'll read anything that has any kind of action and comedy they don't have to be combined the fic just have to have one of them, I could also read some romance fics but only those that have shippings that aren't used much not the shippings we always hear about in most of the stories

  13. #13
    Rising Fate Dragoon Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Red Wings, Baron Castle
    Posts
    3,776
    Blog Entries
    50

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I will read anything except non-pokemon things, Shippers stuff, and I HATE reading about anime, game characters as the main one. ex They can have like Roark as a gym leader but not as the main char.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Status Busy, writing my own.
    Last edited by Dragoon Rider; 26th October 2009 at 07:18 PM.
    ~--++~~This signature is currently under construction. Please wait for anything fancy~~++--~

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    158
    Blog Entries
    42

    Red face Re: Fic Reviewers

    Here's my list of reviewings:

    1. I will only review fanfics based on the games. I will not review fics based on the anime or manga becuase I dislike the anime and I've never read the manga.
    2. I will most likely not review Shipping fanfics.
    3. I may give a negative review if I really don't like a fanfic. There are reasons for this, like if a character I like is portrayed badly or something along those lines.
    4. I will review stories with OCs.
    5. I would LOVE to review fanfics with Gym Leaders and/or Elite Four members as the focus. In particular, I'll review a fanfic with Lorelei, Steven, Roark, Fantina, Byron, Aaron, or Cynthia.

  15. #15
    Registered User revolvingscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    3,771
    Blog Entries
    10

    Follow revolvingscott on Tumblr

    Default Re: Fic Reviewers

    I'd review just about anything but I'd prefer OC's and game based ones but I'm content with animé or original stories and I'll be 100% honest, trust me on that!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •