Tech Help thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Tech Help thread

  1. #1
    Moon Princess Kaori's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Silver Millennium
    Posts
    4,658
    Blog Entries
    52

    Follow Kaori on Tumblr

    Default Tech Help thread

    Here you can post to give or receive advice on any technological issues, be it connecting a device to wifi, console problems, specific input on which exact gadget to buy or anything else of the sort - though please note that anything concerning your own created content online - external blogs, for example - is better suited to Multimedia Creations. Think of this as a place to choose the right piece of tech for your needs or solve your problems with it rather than somewhere to discuss your own created content itself.

    Other than that, feel free to get asking should you need to!
    Last edited by Kaori; 13th July 2013 at 06:22 PM.

    [12:40:02 AM] Karamazov: I call Kaori the chick who could crush me under her tits
    ~ Proud Head of Entertainment, Inc. ~ Fanclub ~ alpacasso forums ~

  2. #2
    Registered User PickleMendip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    Transgender
    Location
    currently in turmoil
    Posts
    171
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    I'm considering buying a DS and i have a few questions about its connectivity features. I can't find any of the answers on product descriptions pages anywhere.

    Does it have two game slots? And if so-

    -Is it possible to trade pokemon using two carts (of the same gen), one DS and one game memory card?

    -Is it possible to transfer pokemon using two carts (gen 4 to gen 5), one DS and one game memory card?

    How does the DS connect to the Wii (specifically Battle Revolution)? Does the Wii need internet access for this or can they link directly using wifi - and if so how would i activate it?

  3. #3
    Registered User AzraelCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    in the rain
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    I have a question about buying content from the Nintendo eShop. When the pokemon bank becomes available, I plan on paying for the yearly subscription. Is this simply a matter of entering my credit card information on the nintendo website, or do I have to enter a balance on my account, through my 3DS? I have never bought anything from the eShop, and was just curious. Thanks

  4. #4
    Genius Ditz Dolce's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Spaaaaaace!
    Posts
    6,270
    Blog Entries
    79
    Follow Dolce On Twitter
    Follow Dolce on Tumblr Visit Dolce's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Quote Originally Posted by PickleMendip View Post
    I'm considering buying a DS and i have a few questions about its connectivity features. I can't find any of the answers on product descriptions pages anywhere.

    Does it have two game slots? And if so-

    -Is it possible to trade pokemon using two carts (of the same gen), one DS and one game memory card?
    Just to be sure by DS do you mean the original DS phat, and DS lite? Because these are the only two DS systems that use more than one game slot, past the DSi age they got rid of the second slot entirely. But to answer your question no it's not possible with games older than X and Y since apparently Pokemon Bank allows transfers between cartridges.

    -Is it possible to transfer pokemon using two carts (gen 4 to gen 5), one DS and one game memory card?
    You will need two systems to transfer between gen 4 to 5.

    How does the DS connect to the Wii (specifically Battle Revolution)? Does the Wii need internet access for this or can they link directly using wifi - and if so how would i activate it?
    Sorry I can't provide an answer here, I don't have the game. :(

    Quote Originally Posted by AzraelCat View Post
    I have a question about buying content from the Nintendo eShop. When the pokemon bank becomes available, I plan on paying for the yearly subscription. Is this simply a matter of entering my credit card information on the nintendo website, or do I have to enter a balance on my account, through my 3DS? I have never bought anything from the eShop, and was just curious. Thanks
    Well for all your eShop purchases you can use your card, or used prepaid cards. The way prepaid cards work is you get them in store, and simply scratch off the back of the card for a code which you can enter under add funds in the eshop itself. From there it gives you the option to redeem a prepaid card, and that's where you would enter the code.

    Just like adding codes, you can go to add funds in the eshop then use the alternate option of using a credit card. Now the thing here is you can add a specific amount like $10, $20, $50, $100. Then you select what type of card, enter your information and iirc it has you set a password but once you get that done you should be all set. Though just to note the password they have you set is so that no purchases would be made without your knowledge and all that jazz.

    Hope this helps! :D
    Trade ShopMy Art
    Dolce: 4554 - 1270 - 5039
    The Sparkle Shoppe (A friend's trade shop, go check it out!)

  5. #5

    Default YouTube Error. I've tried everything.

    Subject line says it all. For the past week, every time I've tried to watch a video on YouTube, I get an error message within a few minutes. I've entered on the button below that opens a new window with the information on the error, and have tried literally everything they suggested to get rid of the problem. My browser automatically updates to the current version, I made doubly sure I had the latest version of Adobe Flash, there were no other tabs open, JavaScript is enabled by default, I cleared my cache, and IE loaded a 45-second video ridiculously slowly, and navigating around the player was annoyingly slow with my Screen-Reader. In short, I'm at my wit's end. This topic didn't seem to fit anywhere else, so I'm putting it here. Does anyone have advice they could give? Is YouTube just being a pain in everybody's behinds or is there something else I could try to make this better?
    Edit: Did not know this thread existed. These forums are so large and the "Technology" part of the heading of this section completely escaped my notice. My apologies, and thanks to the moderator who moved it over here.
    Last edited by The Imaginatrix; 16th January 2014 at 08:19 PM.
    A world of pure imagination...
    I am the beat of a swan's wing on the breath of the wind. I am the secret at the heart of the standing stone. I am the island in the wild sea. I am the fire in the head of the seer. I am neither of that world nor of this.
    Finbar of Sevenwaters, Son of the Shadows.

  6. #6
    At last, Kalos ghaskan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    5,861
    Blog Entries
    65
    Follow ghaskan On Twitter
    Follow ghaskan on Tumblr

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Have you tried using a different browser?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Quote Originally Posted by ghaskan View Post
    Have you tried using a different browser?
    Yes, as I mentioned above, I tried watching it through Internet explorer, but it was taking ages to load even at almost midnight, and navigating around the player was slow as well. I'll try again later, but I was getting used to watching the videos on Firefox and I don't know what the problem is if I've done everything else. The error is indiscriminate. Every video I try to watch never gets past three minutes before it pops up, if it's that long, and prevents me from replaying if it isn't because the player freezes up.

    Edit: Just tested it. It works on Internet explorer, but even though I can see every video I watched in Firefox in my History section, nothing I watched while using IE shows up when I check that page in either browser. I'm thinking YouTube's on the fritz right now.
    Last edited by The Imaginatrix; 18th January 2014 at 12:22 AM.
    A world of pure imagination...
    I am the beat of a swan's wing on the breath of the wind. I am the secret at the heart of the standing stone. I am the island in the wild sea. I am the fire in the head of the seer. I am neither of that world nor of this.
    Finbar of Sevenwaters, Son of the Shadows.

  8. #8
    At last, Kalos ghaskan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    5,861
    Blog Entries
    65
    Follow ghaskan On Twitter
    Follow ghaskan on Tumblr

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Quote Originally Posted by The Imaginatrix View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ghaskan View Post
    Have you tried using a different browser?
    Yes, as I mentioned above, I tried watching it through Internet explorer, but it was taking ages to load even at almost midnight, and navigating around the player was slow as well. I'll try again later, but I was getting used to watching the videos on Firefox and I don't know what the problem is if I've done everything else. The error is indiscriminate. Every video I try to watch never gets past three minutes before it pops up, if it's that long, and prevents me from replaying if it isn't because the player freezes up.

    Edit: Just tested it. It works on Internet explorer, but even though I can see every video I watched in Firefox in my History section, nothing I watched while using IE shows up when I check that page in either browser. I'm thinking YouTube's on the fritz right now.
    Ok, let's try a few more things then. You mentioned you cleared your Cache, but have you cleared ALL the private data? Tried firing up Firefox on Safe mode? Ran a scan with something like MalwareBytes (doubt it's the cause, but it's always good to do these scans anyway)? Re-installing Flash while making sure that nothing else is running?

    EDIT: Also, if these don't work, can you get me screenshots of the problem? Helps a fair bit!
    Last edited by ghaskan; 18th January 2014 at 04:38 AM.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    I just cleared my cookies and the problem was solved. Thanks for the tips anyways! I really appreciated them. :D
    Last edited by The Imaginatrix; 22nd January 2014 at 10:17 AM.
    A world of pure imagination...
    I am the beat of a swan's wing on the breath of the wind. I am the secret at the heart of the standing stone. I am the island in the wild sea. I am the fire in the head of the seer. I am neither of that world nor of this.
    Finbar of Sevenwaters, Son of the Shadows.

  10. #10
    "Don't call me that name" TwinLukes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Auldrant
    Posts
    234
    Blog Entries
    11

    Visit TwinLukes's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Alright, so, just after Christmas I got a new gaming laptop that runs windows 8. Pre-installed on it currently is SRS Premium Sound HD, and while it does greatly improve my sound quality, I've been having an issue with it I've been trying to resolve that just ended screwing up my whole sound system: It started when I was listening to music on youtube and noticed that the volume would randomly start to get really high, forcing me to fiddle with the volume constantly to prevent it from blowing my eardrums out, it happened again with one of my games; every time a sound effect was played, the music got really loud, but when I reduced my volume, I couldn't hear anything when the volume went back to normal. I went into sound options and found the options for the SRS, but by the time I fixed it, another problem came in the fact that some songs, such as Terra's Theme from FFIX (Great Game BTW, I have it on PS3) had a warped pinging in some of the instruments when they were played staccato or at a certain pitch, which never happened or was just too unnoticeable on my old computer (Runs Win7 BTW). Reducing the level of bass enhancement did help a little, but it rendered most of the audio muted sounding. Now I'm in a snag, I reset SRS to the default factory setting, and it's not bad (Though because my ear was so accustomed to the enhanced sound, it sounds really muted), but what I really need is to find a way to balance it so that it sounds clear, but I don't get that pinging. Would anyone with some experience with these sort of things be able to help me with this? BTW: As far as I know, the only difference in sound between my old computer and this one is that program, other then that all the sound programs are identical and in the same settings. Also, this only appears to be affecting music, since I've watched a couple other videos and they sound exactly the same.
    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Claims: Virizion - 03/08/14, Swords Dance - 03/08/14

  11. #11

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    I have a 3DS XL that I want to connect to the internet, BUT my wireless router doesn't seem compatible with it. Someone on a tech forum suggested I change my router settings by going to router's homepage BUT I lost the password and can't get in.

    Would it be possible to buy a new router and it would work straight away, without having to call my internet provider? I have been thinking of getting a new router anyway, but I hate talking to people on the phone.

    Thanks in advance

  12. #12
    Genius Ditz Dolce's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Spaaaaaace!
    Posts
    6,270
    Blog Entries
    79
    Follow Dolce On Twitter
    Follow Dolce on Tumblr Visit Dolce's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Mt. Moon Hiker View Post
    I have a 3DS XL that I want to connect to the internet, BUT my wireless router doesn't seem compatible with it. Someone on a tech forum suggested I change my router settings by going to router's homepage BUT I lost the password and can't get in.

    Would it be possible to buy a new router and it would work straight away, without having to call my internet provider? I have been thinking of getting a new router anyway, but I hate talking to people on the phone.

    Thanks in advance
    I think that would depend on the type of router you choose to buy. I'm not 100% sure on that though.

    But as for the password on your router, and losing it. Maybe you could look it up? Routers tend to have generic passwords from my experience. But I've only really fiddled with one router, so I'm not certain if it'll work for you but it doesn't hurt to look it up.
    Trade ShopMy Art
    Dolce: 4554 - 1270 - 5039
    The Sparkle Shoppe (A friend's trade shop, go check it out!)

  13. #13
    Formely Foreign Travler Isramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Israel. Yes, THE Israel
    Posts
    464
    Blog Entries
    5
    Follow Isramon On Twitter

    Default Re: Tech Help thread

    My laptop won't connect via its own wireless adapter nor through a store bought USB adapter. I tried to use the wireless configuration thingy and even that doesn't work. I've tried about anything I could find online and I can't get it to work. Do I need to replace any hardware or is there something I can do?
    Update: I got it to identify the router but it tells me there's bad connection, no matter if I use the regular adapter or the store bought
    Last edited by Isramon; 21st February 2014 at 08:19 AM.
    3DS FC: 1547-5466-8771
    Never stop dreaming

    Avatar by EVsaur EVsaur's Art Shop

  14. #14
    Registered User Munder Difflin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    2

    Follow Munder Difflin on Tumblr

    Default 3DS Data Usage

    I'm a college student with terrible Wifi in my dorm. My new cell phone plan allows for tethering, but I pay overages if I exceed 4GB per month. I can't find an answer online so I'm hoping someone wiser than I can tell me. How much data do you think a Gen VI battle online would use? I'm certain I could make it work, but don't want to be wrong and drown myself in fees.
    Formerly pikachusabeast and Alexxx from the TPT forums. If you're from TPT, send me a message saying hi!

  15. #15
    Playful Explorer Toddler Naruto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Fair Oaks, California
    Posts
    107
    Blog Entries
    2

    Question Swapping Out or Upgrading My PS3 Controller's Battery?

    I was just wondering if it was possible to upgrade/swap out the older battery for a newer one with more "life/hours"?

    If yes, please tell me what specific battery I should be shopping for, I'm still a newb/novice at this stuff.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •