Japanese, U.S. Manga Publishers Unite To Fight Scanlations - Page 2

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Japanese, U.S. Manga Publishers Unite To Fight Scanlations

Default Re: Japanese, U.S. Manga Publishers Unite To Fight Scanlations

I have such mixed feelings about this. I'm a dirt poor college student so I really don't have the money to buy manga. However, I fully support them in this endeavor because I know that people like me are what's hurting the anime/manga industry.

Plus, from the standpoint of someone who would love to publish a comic (not a manga) one day, I think I'd be kind of bummed if my sales were crap because everyone pirated it. Especially if I needed that money to get by, y'know? Then again, I hear that royalties are almost nothing in comparison to the amount made by the publishing company, rather than the actual producers of a series.

I'd say that maybe they need to start thinking of new marketing schemes, like throwing in things that would make spending seven to fifteen bucks on a book worth it. A small poster, a charm of some sort, extra incentive, basically.

Look at Heart Gold/Soul Silver. I would have just pirated the eff out of that if it didn't have such great bonuses to make me want the real thing. Pokewalker? Hecks yeah, I'll shell out almost forty bucks for something so complete and with so much replayability. Granted, I don't buy games often with my budget, so I think that says a lot about how big a difference extra incentives can make for a buyer.

Just my overwritten two cents.

At the end of the day, though, I don't think they'll ever be able to stop people from scanning and uploading or doing scanlations. That's just how the internet is these days.

Blog Entries