A Poketale (WWC)

Thread: A Poketale (WWC)

Default A Poketale (WWC)

I'd like to use this story to catch a Machop. Recommended character count is 5-10K. Actual character count is about 12k.

Feel free to comment. I love feedback!

Geoffrey Elliot: A Poketale

Chapter 1

Most stories start with the sea.

Unfortunately, this isn't one of them. I wanted to go on this big rant on how the sea is forever changing, and unknowable, and uncontrollable, etc. And then how mountains are constant and reliable, but in their own way as uncaring of your existence as the sea. You can live, and die, and throughout the ages the mountains will stay the same. No matter what you do, that mountain that you see outside your window everyday will be waiting there when your great, great, great grandson wakes up so many years from now.

However, I'm not good enough at writing for that. Or ranting. I'm not good at much of anything, come to think of it.

Especially writing, though. I mean, I've heard tell that, within your first paragraph, you should establish a character, setting, and problem to draw your readers in and here I am, four paragraphs in and you still have no idea who I am, where I am, or what my issue is.

So here you go. My name is Geoffrey Elliot, I live in a small village in the foothills of a huge mountain range, and my mom just kicked me out of the house.

In her own way, my mom's a lot like the sea. She's unknowable, uncontrollable, and can often be described as 'roaring.'

I guess that makes me a mountain. If left on my own, I'd be perfectly content to sit still and watch the world go past me, and I don't much care what anyone else does.

Also, I'd like to point out that when you get a mountain right by the sea, the waves beat on it, over and over again throughout the millennia. At first it seems like it's pointless. The cliffs just stand there, taking it. Sooner or later, though, the sea always wins.