Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

View Poll Results: How do you feel about Pokemon Contests?

Voters
53. You may not vote on this poll
  • I love them!

    9 16.98%
  • I like them a little bit.

    14 26.42%
  • I'm neutral, neither love them nor hate them.

    12 22.64%
  • I hate them!

    6 11.32%
  • I honestly don't care.

    12 22.64%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

  1. #1
    I Wobb You Sublime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    9,950
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    So I find Pokemon Contests to be completely useless and a waste of time in regular Pokemon games..sort of makes me wish Gen 3 games were never made. But I also see a few people that love them to death...personally I see nothing rewarding coming from them and they should have been made as a separate game or something. They have also made Pokemon episodes focusing on JUST Pokemon Contests...barely relevant to anything in the main storyline and just a waste of a episode imo. It's like a filler but sometimes it reveals about 10 seconds of little info that might contribute to the actual story..but seeing as the plot in Pokemon anime has been dumb no worries I guess.

    /rant

    So how do you feel about them?
    Former staff member - 2010
    Formerly known as - insomniac
    Competitive Player

  2. #2
    追放されたバカ
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Hint: It's in Asia
    Posts
    6,627
    Blog Entries
    160

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I did a few Contests back in R/S/E as well as D/P/Pt

    R/S/E was a bit easier because you were able to take away your opponent's points.

    D/P/Pt was a bit more complicated as you have to rely on prediction in the appeal round (you couldn't take away points), timing in the dance round and fashion sense in the dress-up round.
    Last edited by PlatinumDude; 6th December 2009 at 04:49 AM.

  3. #3
    .... Dopey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,308
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I think the contests are just a deviation from the main theme of the games, just to add a little extra.

    Anyways, I don't give a damn about them, they just don't suit my playin' style.

  4. #4
    Hawt. Cyndaquil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    The idea is good, but they need to have more meaning. I wish they were more like the anime, with the battle rounds too, trying to use powerful but appealing moves would be a good challenge. Or even in the appeal rounds, having control of the pokemon, and using the moves differently like in the anime, so rather than just firing a water gun, do something creative with it.

  5. #5
    Cuter in real life Iteru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    10,733
    Blog Entries
    86

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    In the games, I have only entered a contest once. I didn't care for it.

    Anime wise I think they are alright.

  6. #6
    DCM
    DCM is offline
    Salt of the Earth DCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    North of the Wall.
    Posts
    5,944
    Blog Entries
    891

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I don't really like them. I'll enter them if I'm bored. Otherwise, no way dood.
    I just wish they had battling like in the anime
    “And as to you life, I reckon you are the leavings of many deaths, No doubt I have died myself ten thousand times before.”

    W.W.

  7. #7
    You wanna fight wit' me? Vsyoravno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I liked them in RSE. It was easier to figure out and I got a few Master ribbons relatively easily.

    I didn't like them much in DPP, because while I'm actually pretty good at the dress-up and dancing parts, the acting relies too much on luck, so either the game is cheating or I'm just doing something wrong because I'm always behind in that one. I don't have the patience to even attempt past Normal Rank.

    I think they're stupid in the anime, but then again there's not much I liked about the anime to begin with.

    First generation Ranger and damn proud of it.

  8. #8
    No pain, no gain! SalamenceCommander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,358
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    They were very boring in the 3rd generation games but in D/P/Pt series they seem much more interesting, although I seldom enter them. I prefer battling instead.

    Banner made by Blazaking EX.

  9. #9
    yandere=awesome Yamato-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,440

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    they're all right, but I really wish Game Freak would do more with them. For an aspect of gameplay they seem to enjoy hyping to no end, they don't really give a fuck for the most part. They can't make it available in the older game remakes (despite the anime making contests take place in their regions), it can't be played in 3D in some way, shape, or form (whereas a 3D battling game is pretty much standard with every generation), they reduced them to a single area as of Emerald, and correct me if I'm wrong, but they aren't even playable on Wi-Fi, are they?

    It also sucks that Game Freak can't give some better incentive for playing Contests, aside from some novelty ribbons. I guess being rewarded with decoration items in Diamond/Pearl/Platinum is okay... you can get battle-centric items through battling, so why not get Contest-centric items through Contests? But they never progress the story in any way, shape, or form.... if people found the sudden shift in gameplay annoying, winning a contest should be involved with a sidequest, at least. Also, it's kinda sad to think that they pretty much made an entire bestiary of berries completely devoted to this type of gameplay (if they didn't, we'd still be stuck with the rather plain selection of berries in Gold/Silver/Crystal... don't expect to be able to lower your Pokemon's EVs until at least Diamond/Pearl, either).

    You know what else Contests lack? Individual Pokemon stats. The Pokethlon at least has different maxes (speaking of which, the Pokethlon rewards you with some nice items, including evolution items), but why is it that a Purin and a Rayquaza are both capable of getting the same Cute stat? I'd commend them for making up a new effect for each attack, but they could've put more thought in the Pokemon involved.

    Yup, classes again. I'm gonna be at this for a while.

  10. #10
    Pirate Avrig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    England
    Posts
    619
    Blog Entries
    6
    Follow Avrig On Twitter
    Follow Avrig on Tumblr Visit Avrig's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    The idea is great and lovely, but in the games contests are just extreamly boring. I hope they'll figure out something new for the next gen (also in anime, third coordinator newbie is too much) or change the whole gameplay in contests.
    I've wished since 3rd gen that they would make a spin-off game about contests, which would be more anime-based. That game could have some regular Pokémon game aspects like catching different kinds of pokémon, but the main goal is still getting five ribbons and entering The Grand Festival. Wii would be a nice console for that: before appeals round you have to brush your pokémons fur or something, you could move your pokémon and its attacks in the appeals and visual rounds, and actually do some nice visual rounds.
    But yeah, that's gonna never happen :D.

  11. #11
    cheese! Insanish Danish's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,688
    Blog Entries
    145

    Follow Insanish Danish on Tumblr

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    To be honest, I preferred them back in Gen III, because back then they were fresh and new and I also loved them in the anime. I dislike Super Contests though, both in the Gen IV games and in the anime.
    back to being a non-edible pastry

  12. #12
    rewrites your life Soulweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    West Finland
    Posts
    6,798
    Blog Entries
    99
    Follow Soulweaver On Twitter Add Soulweaver on Facebook Add Soulweaver on Google+
    Follow Soulweaver on Tumblr Visit Soulweaver's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I'm glad they left them out of HGSS. To me contests have always been a boring side story which I have tried to go through only for the sake of game completeness. In RSE it was also a nifty way to get more Luxury Balls, but no, I don't like the contests in any way.

    Former staff member · X Pokédex status (incl. foreign dexes) · Bank Living Dex status · 3DS FC: 4699 6589 8963

  13. #13
    Coolsprout! Glaciachan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Somewhere near one of the Great Lakes, USA
    Posts
    1,170
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I don't care for contests. I liked them a little back in R/S/E, but I disliked them in DPPt. I'm happy they got rid of them in HGSS.
    THIS SPACE FOR RENT.

    I has a Twitter page

  14. #14
    Ol' Brown Eyes is back Jesse GS the II's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anywhere you're not
    Posts
    423

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    I've never done a contest. I thought about trying them in my Generation III games, but I don't have any people to berry blend with outside of the game's NPCs. The only thing I've ever used PokéBlocks for was the Safari Zone. As for Generation IV, now it just seems needlessly complicated - you gotta dance, you gotta act, you gotta dress up, and at the end of it, your Pokémon is still the same level it was when you went in. As a player who concerns himself with beating the gym challenge and completing the PokéDex, contests just don't interest me anymore.

    Really, I suspect contests were just created as a way to get girls to play Pokémon games. It sounds sexist, but someone at Nintendo probably thought they'd get a better female demographic if there was a part of the game devoted to showing off how cute and cuddly your Pokémon is. It'd certainly explain why the anime keeps making its female protagonists into coordinators.

  15. #15
    Researcher RudolphMilotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Mexican Elysium
    Posts
    991
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Your Opinion on Pokemon Contests

    Pokémon Contests were one of the features I liked so much back then when Ruby & Sapphire were the only Generation III games; using the Berry Blender with up to 4 people (I had several friends with whom do interact) was fun and made you forget how frustrating things like IV breed or searching for female Pokémon (as FRLG hadn't been released yet, so no Ditto for your breeding purposes) were, and the actual competitions were fresh and interesting. I managed to get the Trainer Card star and the Glass Ornament even before I got the Hoenn Dex-completion one, and remembered how I used to plan combos and disruption tactics. My Sapphire starter -a Lv. 100 Blaziken which has been with me since 2003- was able to get all the Ribbons in each rank of four Contests (Coolness, Beauty, Toughness and Smartness), as well as the sketch-model one and some others. I won a lot of Luxury Balls in-game for the same reasons.

    Later on, FRLG and Emerald were released so much of my attention was focused on battles, and although I also got the Trainer Card star for the Contests in Emerald, playing with friends was scarcely done from time to time; it didn't help either that using the Wireless Adapter to connect sent the data slower than the Game Link Cable, despite the new option to set up a Contest with less than 4-players. The Blend Master was useful to make PokéBlocks when friends weren't available.

    Finally, Generation IV took the spotlight and introduced Super Contests, which albeit interesting they removed a lot of things I liked from their GIII counterparts. The dance and visual rounds were a welcomed addition, but the acting part was downgraded and took out a lot of strategy, having luck favored instead with the addition of two more judges and forcing the order in which Pokémon make their appeals to depend on the lowest/highest score achieved in the last round. With that, many combos are now too unreliable, and only a few ones are worthwhile using. Moreover, sadly the visual round as well as your Pokémon's primary and secondary condition are now more essential to attain the win than the acting round, so emphasis on getting accesories (and also memorize which ones match a given theme) and cooking Poffins was placed. Besides, you merely need a Master Rank victory to get the Trainer Card star, and they can't be played over the Nintendo WFC. So in my case, I'm only doing them for the sake of getting all the Underground Secret Base decorations.

    I guess that if Game Freak makes an overhaul to the Super Contest system in future games, perhaps I'll become attracted by them again. I don't think they need to be part of the main story, though, and the condition value mechanics is fine as it's.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •