Are you too strict with IVs when EV training?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Are you too strict with IVs when EV training?

Default Are you too strict with IVs when EV training?

I've seen people who release their Pokémon if they realize they don't have perfect IVs. Come on, that's almost impossible! I am only strict with the IVs of the stat I know I'm going to rely on mostly. For example, I just started training a Dragonite, its IVs are:

HP 6
    Attack 29
    Defense 29
    Special Attack 24
    Special Defense 4
    Speed 15

Even when its HP and Special Defense suck, I'm very happy with its Defense and even more with its Attack because I'm going to have him as a physical attacker and paralyzer (it has Outrage, Earthquake, Brick Break and Thunder Wave).

So, are you strict when it comes to IVs when EV training? Do you ditch Pokémon who don't have almost perfect or totally perfect IVs?

Magical Girl Shiny Celebi's Avatar Super Moderator
    Blog Entries
    Follow Shiny Celebi On Twitter
    Follow Shiny Celebi on Tumblr

Default Re: Are you too strict with IVs when EV training?

No. If a Pokemon have a high IV in the stat you want to train, thats a bonus as it add more to that stat and makes it higher. However it also need s to have the proper nature as well. Nature+high IV+ EVs= better stats than a Pokemon that dosen't.

Quote Originally Posted by Lavender Frost View Post
    No. If a Pokemon have a high IV in the stat you want to train, thats a bonus as it add more to that stat and makes it higher. However it also need s to have the proper nature as well. Nature+high IV+ EVs= better stats than a Pokemon that dosen't.