VG Weekly Poll #3: Favorite Generation? - Page 3

View Poll Results: Favorite generations?

Voters
242. You may not vote on this poll
  • 1st Generation

52 21.49%
  • 2nd Generation

76 31.40%
  • 3rd Generation

102 42.15%
  • 4th Generation

81 33.47%
  • 5th Generation

98 40.50%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: VG Weekly Poll #3: Favorite Generation?

Blog Entries

Default Re: VG Weekly Poll #3: Favorite Generation?

Gen IV, mainly because that was when I started playing, but Gen V was close, because of the amazing music and the Team plasma storyline

Blog Entries

Picked Generation III and I in the poll (yes, in that order).

Generation III is what I consider to be the pinnacle of Pokemon games. The graphical changes it brought were astounding back then. I remember the shock I was in when I saw that the trainer actually throws the ball into the air, instead of it magically appearing out of nowhere. The minicons were a fun little addition which I greatly enjoyed. Gen III also seems to be the only gen where the dev team truly cared about the attack animations. Anyone remember Rollout, or Return? It was awesome to watch them rise in intensity. Or the fact that you could actually "see" the stat drops (in color!). Just awesome. The colour palette was extremely vivid compared to gen II. And lastly, you could finally see your reflection in a pool of water, footprints on sand, weather effects... I can go on forever.

Game mechanics changes it brought played an extremely important role in balancing the game, and formed a foundation for all of the modern Pokemon games. The revamped EV system, abilities, natures, vastly expanded Berry system, new weather effect (Hail) and (arguably) the advent of RNG abuse - that's all what the 3rd gen brought, and today players (including me) now cannot imagine their lives without them.