Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

View Poll Results: Should the Poison type become super-effective against the Water type in the next gen?

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    35 59.32%
  • No

    24 40.68%
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 96

Thread: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

  1. #1
    Registered User Anser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    791
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    I've seen many people in favor and some others against the idea, so I'd like to know what's the most popular opinion on the following question:

    Should Poison become super-effective against Water in the next generation?

    Remember that Water is the most common type in the game, and that Poison is only super-effective against Grass, which is commonly paired with Poison, neutralizing its effect. This would improve the Poison type greatly. The weakness would be based on water pollution. Don't comment things like "The type chart is not going to change" or things like that. Just answer the question. Would you be okay with it or would you not?

  2. #2
    zzz YamiiDenryuu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Genderless
    Posts
    1,849
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    It's a tenuous idea at best. While poison can contaminate water, water can just as well dilute poison until it's basically ineffective, so unless they're going to be mutually super-effective or something I don't think it's going to work. Besides, with poison supposedly being an underpowered type and water supposedly being overpowered, it seems too much like just an obvious rules patch.

  3. #3
    追放されたバカ
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    137

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    This change will surely help nerf Water types from being one of the most common types in Pokemon battles and help buff Poison types from being one of the two worst types in the series (the second one being Ice). The fact that water can still dilute poison won't help because of popular belief that Poison pollutes Water, just like Ice killing off Grass despite some species of plants being capable of surviving in colder regions. Let's not forget the fact that while Electricity is SE against Water, science states that it's actually the other way around, so it's basically a form of type balancing.

  4. #4
    So you want to be a hero? Stuntology's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Spielburg
    Posts
    878
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    It would completely change certain Pokemon's strengths and weaknesses, and I'd be perfectly fine with that. (Just give the ice type another resistance or two and it's be bliss!)

    Goblins and Saurus and Cheetaurs, oh my!

  5. #5
    Nope Setra's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,999
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    171

    Follow Setra on Tumblr

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    I would much rather that the type chart stay the same. Game Freak doesn't make the game for the meta game, they make it for the enjoyment of the players. And for the money. :P

  6. #6
    Formerly GTT Envoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Middle of nowhere
    Posts
    2,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    82

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkeye View Post
    I would much rather that the type chart stay the same. Game Freak doesn't make the game for the meta game, they make it for the enjoyment of the players. And for the money. :P
    Would this change severely limit your enjoyment of the game?
    SoulSilver FC: 1334-2716-6164
    Platinum FC: 1591-7683-8872

  7. #7
    Nope Setra's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,999
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    171

    Follow Setra on Tumblr

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Quote Originally Posted by Grass Type Trainer View Post
    Would this change severely limit your enjoyment of the game?
    No. But is this change really necessary? It there a reason for it other than the metagame?

  8. #8
    Allons-y! PKMN Trainer Faye's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,086
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Considering that water covers like 80% of the world, it makes sense that it's the most powerful and versatile type.Making Poison SE wouldn't do much, I should think. A lot of Poison Pokemon suck stat-wise. Off the top of my tired head, I can't think of any Poison Pokemon who'd be top-tier in an instant if such a change in type effectiveness happens.
    Signature is a WIP for the moment.
    For now, I have claimed: Mewtwo, Member's Card, Wide Lens, Honey Gather, and Psystrike.

  9. #9
    Formerly GTT Envoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Middle of nowhere
    Posts
    2,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    82

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkeye View Post
    No. But is this change really necessary? It there a reason for it other than the metagame?
    Don't get me wrong, I'm on the fence about this whole issue, but if it were to drastically improve the metagame and not affect the non-metagame in any way, what would be the problem?
    SoulSilver FC: 1334-2716-6164
    Platinum FC: 1591-7683-8872

  10. #10
    Hyping over Steven Stone Yato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Hoenn
    Posts
    7,130
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    401

    Follow Yato on Tumblr

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Metagame, or no metagame, I don't think Poison should be super effective against Water.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Monroe, MI.
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    poison should be super effective against normal types.

    but i also dont really have a prob with it against water

  12. #12
    Steel Pokémon Master Bulletproof Scales's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Heaven
    Posts
    463
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    There's already a handful disputable type anomalies (psychic vs steel, bug vs ghost etc), but none that's strikingly opposite to reality as this would be (I expect more posts lecturing everybody about this in an angry fashion). I'd still support it, though, seeing as a strong poison stab would be interesting, if not in place.
    Det ligger tomhylsor i parken
    Våra fötter är en meter över marken

  13. #13
    Lurker Zistal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Genderless
    Posts
    418
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Sure why not. In fact, make it super effective against Fighting too.

    It'll probably never happen though.

  14. #14
    Fossil Expert Sir Turtlelot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Cinnabar Island
    Posts
    180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Personally, I really like Poison type pokemon, but the type itself is rather weak. I would be more than okay with adding some more types that poison is SE against, such as water and fighting, to try and balance things out.
    Last edited by Sir Turtlelot; 3rd October 2012 at 02:14 PM.

  15. #15
    Hψ=Eψ H-con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    63°25′50″N10°23′42″E
    Posts
    4,676
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    52
    Follow H-con On Twitter Add H-con on Facebook Add H-con on Google+ Add H-con on MySpace
    Add H-con on Linkedin Follow H-con on Tumblr Follow H-con on Flickr Visit H-con's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Summarizing the opinions on the Poison type against the Water type

    Do people even reality?

    If not, read:

    Quote Originally Posted by YamiiDenryuu View Post
    While poison can contaminate water, water can just as well dilute poison until it's basically ineffective, so unless they're going to be mutually super-effective or something I don't think it's going to work.
    I'm not advocating that Water should get more SEs (it should stay the same), but I'd rather see Water SEing Poison than vice versa.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •