Pokemon Mythological/Religious Connections

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By dino435

Thread: Pokemon Mythological/Religious Connections

Default Pokemon Mythological/Religious Connections

Hello, I'm new to the Bulbagarden forums, and just thought that a fun idea for a thread is to list some Pokemon and the Mythical/Religious roots that inspired them. RULE (yes, only one, but all other standard forum rules apply): No getting into arguments about religion.
    Remember that these are all theories by what people believed inspired these Pokemon, so do not outright call someone incorrect about their claims, just reply with what you believe the Pokemon represents instead.

LUGIA & HO-OH/ DOVES IN NOAH's ARK:
    I believe Lugia and Ho-oh were inspired by the two doves sent out of Noah's ark at the end of the 40-day storm. My evidence to this theory is that the Pokedex says that when Lugia flaps it's wings, it creates forty-day storms, therefore Lugia represents the Storm. Then, Ho-oh represents after the storm, as a rainbow was made as a pact to never flood the Earth again.

GIRATINA/MYTHICAL SALAMANDER:
    While there are many theories out there that Giratina represents the devil, I think that he is actually representing several middle-eastern fantasy monsters, most noticeably, the basilisk and the salamander. The salamander is because magical salamanders were often said to have six legs, so that is obviously shown. His entire physiology represents the Basilisk, a form of serpentine dragon-like creation, which is what I believe his Origin form was exclusively based off of.

ARCEUS/EVERY CREATOR GOD:
    No need for explanation.

So...those are my ideas, now add some of yours! :)
    Saturnidae likes this.

Lis
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Pokemon Mythological/Religious Connections