Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc...

  1. #1
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Question Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc...

    Hi people! i started this thread just to see if there are some moves in particular, whose name you think they should have renamed, or even kept the Original Names. You can also say Move names that you like here.

    i'll start

    IMO:
    -Aerial Ace should have retained it's original name (Turning-Swallow Cut) becos i think it's such a good name, and with such a good inspiration behind it. Or even turned it into Swallow Cut or Turning Swallow Whatever.
    -Night Slash is kind of better than it's original name (Blade Testing) but that's just my oppinion...

    so... you guys got any more?

  2. #2
    So you want to be a hero? Stuntology's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Spielburg
    Posts
    878
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Oppinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc

    I think Ice Fang should have been called Frostbite.

    Goblins and Saurus and Cheetaurs, oh my!

  3. #3
    is obsessed with Noivern! Zekurom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    5,658
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    108

    Default Re: Oppinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc

    Quote Originally Posted by Stuntology View Post
    I think Ice Fang should have been called Frostbite.
    Maybe Frostbite could be a more powerful version of Ice Fang, like Crunch is a more powerful version of Bite?

    Either way, that's an awesome idea.

    Fire Punch -> Blaze Punch.
    ThunderPunch -> LightningPunch except that that doesn't fit into 12 letters.
    The word "quadragonal" is the only word with "dragon" in it where "dragon" is not a root word. That makes it awesome.

  4. #4
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Thumbs up Re: Oppinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc

    Quote Originally Posted by Stuntology View Post
    I think Ice Fang should have been called Frostbite.
    i-i-i can-n't beleve! i found someone who also thinks that!
    i thought of the idea when my Floatzel learned it in platinum!
    that's sooooooo cool!

    also, i've found out why Night Slash is called Blade Testing in the original:
    (quoted from Bulbapedia, so now it's original name kind of grew into me... (i still like Night Slash better though XD).

    And how do you feel about Volteccer/Volt Tackle?

  5. #5
    Feeling of being watched 99unownoak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    598
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Shouldn't 'Thunder' be changed to 'Lightning', since thunder can't actually strike anything but lightning can?

  6. #6
    I! AM NOT! A MORON! Sith Droideka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    The Hidden Land
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Rename Sucker Punch to Ambush, for us non-dumb Westerners.
    ALL Pokémon Are EQUAL, But SOME Pokémon Are MORE EQUAL Than Others

    Oceania is at war with Eurasia Eastasia Eurasia Eastasia, and has always been at war with them!

    WAR IS PEACE. FREEDOM IS SLAVERY. IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH. GOD IS POWER.

    Next PolySci/Econ Test: November 8, 2016; Your crash-course will begin January 2013.

    Galvantula ≥ Kyurem > Mewtwo > Arceus

  7. #7
    Not a Power Ranger Ranger Jack Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Where I'm needed
    Posts
    4,578
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    169

    Visit Ranger Jack Walker's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    I don't know. Sucker Punch is a cool name and it perfectly fits the description. Attack the sucker just as it going to attack and catch it off guard. The name may be misleading but it fits the move description.

  8. #8
    Hyperspace Hole winstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4,385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    177

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Well, I would say Tail Glow to Firefly Glow, so that it makes the understanding behind the only Pokemon who gets them easier (and stops people from asking Ampharos for one, although that's not a bad possibility).

    Thanks for reading.
    “Hear no evil, and see no evil, abase not thyself, neither sigh and weep. Speak no evil, that thou mayest not hear it spoken unto thee, and magnify not the faults of others that thine own faults may not appear great; and wish not the abasement of anyone, that thine own abasement be not exposed.”

    Latest Review: Dark-type Award Ceremony
    Bonus articles: Mega Evolution Candidates (Part 7) -- Generation 6 Pokémon (07/12/2013)

  9. #9
    My Sword Hand Twitches! Owain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    3,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    67

    Follow Owain on Tumblr

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    ^^ How About Firefly Light?

  10. #10
    Hyperspace Hole winstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4,385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    177

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arturzfiorini View Post
    ^^ How About Firefly Light?
    It will probably be FireflyLight, due to the 12 character limit in the name, and I guess that didn't sound right, so for now...Firefly Glow.

    Thanks for reading.
    “Hear no evil, and see no evil, abase not thyself, neither sigh and weep. Speak no evil, that thou mayest not hear it spoken unto thee, and magnify not the faults of others that thine own faults may not appear great; and wish not the abasement of anyone, that thine own abasement be not exposed.”

    Latest Review: Dark-type Award Ceremony
    Bonus articles: Mega Evolution Candidates (Part 7) -- Generation 6 Pokémon (07/12/2013)

  11. #11
    Very Fine Dodger
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Southern Texas, U.S.A
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    I would rename Splash to either Jump or Hop. Splash is used by Pokemon that has nothing to do with water and I think it is affected by gravity.
    I have dodged many things, but that is not why I am a dodger. I just like wearing striped shirts.

  12. #12
    Insert Witty Title Here Azure Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    952
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    64

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Volteccer/Voltecker/insert other spellings here should have kept its name. It amuses me. :D

  13. #13
    Something for nothing Cyber Jet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,119
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Volt tackel to Volt Charge

    Frenzy plant to Tree Smash as it would fit the discripion better.

    And finaly change self destuct to the jappaness name for it "suicide bomb"

  14. #14
    is obsessed with Noivern! Zekurom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    5,658
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    108

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by Box View Post
    And finaly change self destuct to the jappaness name for it "suicide bomb"
    That would be political suicide for the American localizers. The word "Suicide Bomb" brings al Qaeda into mind.

    Although, really, the word "jibaku" (自爆, the Japanese name for Selfdestruct) is more like "blow oneself up" instead of "suicide bombing". At least from the sense that I'm reading it.
    The word "quadragonal" is the only word with "dragon" in it where "dragon" is not a root word. That makes it awesome.

  15. #15
    From Leyend to Myth Infinity Mk-II's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    In the wind
    Posts
    1,401
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Opinions about Move Names, The ones you'd wish to rename, the ones you like, Etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arturzfiorini View Post
    -Aerial Ace should have retained it's original name (Turning-Swallow Cut) becos i think it's such a good name, and with such a good inspiration behind it. Or even turned it into Swallow Cut or Turning Swallow Whatever.
    This. Swallow Reversal or something like that sounds much more awesome, and would help people understand it is a samurai slash, or at least not a flying manuever of some sort.

    Also Meteor Mash -> Comet Punch or Comet Fist; Comet Punch -> Multi-Punch or Turbo Punch something like that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •