Custom Pokeball Project - Help!

Thread: Custom Pokeball Project - Help!

Default Custom Pokeball Project - Help!

Now, I'm brand new to the whole bulbagarden forums. I've used the wiki for eons, but have never been a member of any of the social aspects of it. My main reason for joining is that I've began a project for myself, and I've become stuck at the beginning.

My goal is to create a very special custom Pokeball for my girlfriend, so I can propose to her. We are both hardcore Pokemon fans and I really think it will be something special for her.

I can't really talk about it with any of my close friends because I'm afraid that they'll blab about it, and I don't want the surprise to be ruined. So I really needed a sounding board to discuss the project and perhaps get new or better ideas. I figure, what better place than this?

I've considered having the basic sphere shape carved out by some sort of wood, using a lathe or a similar technique, or trying to find an adequately sized wood ball to tinker with. I've also considered somehow using plastics, but I would either have to buy components that are similar in shape and function to a pokeball, or get it molded or 3D printed (and I cannot use a CAD program to save my life.)

I've been thinking that I somehow want the button on the front to be clear so i can mount a laser light/LED, perhaps in the hinge, so that it will diffract out of the front.

Now, this is something I have never really done, and from what I can tell, is almost entirely an original idea. I have not found a single, collector-quality custom Pokeball online. So any insights at all would be very welcome, as well as suggestions and ideas.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Custom Pokeball Project - Help!

So, will you have the grove around the middle of the pokeball and around the button carved out as well?