Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

  1. #1
    Best starter EVER!!! mudkip99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    454

    Default Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    I began collecting neo genesis a few months back and have currently spent a total of £58. This included 4 1st ed. boosters, 34 1st ed cards, 1st ed Typhlosion, Jumpluff and Metal energy and unlimited Typhlosion (the other one) and Azumarril. I have a complete 1st ed common set except for moo moo milk. I have all but 2 1st ed uncommons. My dilemma is whether or not to try for a full 1st ed set, or just settle for unlimited cards to fill the gaps, cost being the main reason, as 1st ed holos from this set are very expensive! If I were to do that I would also have to buy 1st ed sneasel and darkness energy as currently I only have the unlimitied version of these. Just wondered what you guys would do if you were in my position! Thanks in advance.
    Diamond FC: 2278 7854 4784
    Black FC: 0948 4516 0029
    Y FC: 2062 9352 1117

  2. #2
    Registered User Palbert6393's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    a first edition set is far more valued by collectors... if you have the money for it go for it. If not, the unlimited set is not bad, as it is one of the more valued sets by collectors.
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Pokemon Buy, Sell, and Trade
    Pokemon TCG discussion

  3. #3
    Best starter EVER!!! mudkip99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    454

    Exclamation Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    Update :)
    I'm gonna go for 1st ed.!! Can i get some suggestions for an overall budget?
    I've bought a 1st ed azumarill for £1.84 (got moo moo milk free too so pretty pleased)
    Currently trying to sell all my unlimeted cards (including holos!)
    I've currently got a bid of £20 on a 1st edition lugia (crazy money for one card but hey)
    Also is this a good deal: £30 for the following cards (all 1st edition):
    Ampharos
    Bellossom
    Kingdra
    Heracross
    Togetic
    Slowking
    Skarmory
    Pichu
    Again some advice much appreciated!
    Diamond FC: 2278 7854 4784
    Black FC: 0948 4516 0029
    Y FC: 2062 9352 1117

  4. #4
    Registered User Palbert6393's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    Quote Originally Posted by mudkip99 View Post
    Update :)
    I'm gonna go for 1st ed.!! Can i get some suggestions for an overall budget?
    I've bought a 1st ed azumarill for £1.84 (got moo moo milk free too so pretty pleased)
    Currently trying to sell all my unlimeted cards (including holos!)
    I've currently got a bid of £20 on a 1st edition lugia (crazy money for one card but hey)
    Also is this a good deal: £30 for the following cards (all 1st edition):
    Ampharos
    Bellossom
    Kingdra
    Heracross
    Togetic
    Slowking
    Skarmory
    Pichu
    Again some advice much appreciated!
    Im not familiar with that currency. How does that relate to US$ ?
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Pokemon Buy, Sell, and Trade
    Pokemon TCG discussion

  5. #5
    Pokéfriend! Bloop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    313
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    Multiply the prices by 1.6 for dollars.

    Also, I don't have any Neo Genesis cards but I would be happy to trade others for the Unlimited cards.

  6. #6
    Registered User Palbert6393's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    $48 for that lot of holos seems a little steep to me. The Lugia and Azumarill sound about what I would have expected. What Unlimited holos do you have for sale?
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Pokemon Buy, Sell, and Trade
    Pokemon TCG discussion

  7. #7
    Best starter EVER!!! mudkip99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    Quote Originally Posted by Palbert6393 View Post
    $48 for that lot of holos seems a little steep to me. The Lugia and Azumarill sound about what I would have expected. What Unlimited holos do you have for sale?
    hmmm, funny coz I thought It was a good deal, but then cards are generally cheaper in the states. Sorry guys but I've sold my unlimited holos already for quite a goos price to a guy in portugal!.
    Also as another update:
    I have bought 1st ed:
    Heracross and Ampharos for £6.45 and
    Steelix for £2.24
    Togetic, Skarmory, Kingdra and Feraligatr for £15.60
    Again- i thought these were good deals- especially steelix!! How much should I be looking to pay for the starters do you guys think?
    Diamond FC: 2278 7854 4784
    Black FC: 0948 4516 0029
    Y FC: 2062 9352 1117

  8. #8
    Registered User Palbert6393's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    616

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    Quote Originally Posted by mudkip99 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Palbert6393 View Post
    $48 for that lot of holos seems a little steep to me. The Lugia and Azumarill sound about what I would have expected. What Unlimited holos do you have for sale?
    hmmm, funny coz I thought It was a good deal, but then cards are generally cheaper in the states. Sorry guys but I've sold my unlimited holos already for quite a goos price to a guy in portugal!.
    Also as another update:
    I have bought 1st ed:
    Heracross and Ampharos for £6.45 and
    Steelix for £2.24
    Togetic, Skarmory, Kingdra and Feraligatr for £15.60
    Again- i thought these were good deals- especially steelix!! How much should I be looking to pay for the starters do you guys think?
    well I just took a quick on ebay completed listings and the two Typhlosions range anywhere from $3 to $30 a piece, so I'm not really sure... to be honest I dont know too much about 1st edition card value so I could be wrong about what I said earlier
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Come! Bring life to the TCG Sections of the forums!!!
    Pokemon Buy, Sell, and Trade
    Pokemon TCG discussion

  9. #9
    Best starter EVER!!! mudkip99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: Colecting neo genesis- some opinions please!

    I have just bought LUGIA!! it cost me the pricely sum of £21 but i did manage to blag darkness energy, quilava and quagsire for free :) If all arrive ok then I have now got complete 1st edition set from the uncommons through to the end :) This has brought my total spent to £100.01. I've set a budget of £150 as this seems to be the going rate.
    That leaves £50 to spend on both meganiums, feraligatr, typhlosion, pichu, slowking, bellossom, cleffa and sneasel. Its gonna be tight but its possible. I'll let you know how it goes :D

    UPDATE:
    All cards have arrived ok :) so pleased with lugia and feraligatr! unfortunatley the quilava 47 was not 1st edition :( I have had a look around and can't find another so if anyobody has one please get in touch and maybe we can work out a trade :). I have run out of money now though so will have to put buying on hold until i make a bit more cash...
    If i have time one day I might upload some photos of all my completed pages and eventually the whole lot if people would like to see. anyway thats all for a while
    Last edited by mudkip99; 12th April 2012 at 08:57 AM.
    Diamond FC: 2278 7854 4784
    Black FC: 0948 4516 0029
    Y FC: 2062 9352 1117

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •