What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

  1. #1
    .... Somari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Posts
    2,419
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    I'm almost done reading it and..Mm.

    It's a good manga on it's own however I can't help but dislike the characterization differences.

    In the anime Misty was just a bit of a type B tsundere and had her reasons to get mad, and worry, about Ash. But Ash was never such a..An obnoxious jerk.

    I also don't like the change in Pikachu and Ash's relationship. It doesn't seem as close as their anime counterparts, plus the rendition of "Pikachu's Goodbye" just seemed... Pikachu basically ditched Ash for a girlfriend, and neither interacted much; Not to mention Pikachu seemed a bit obnoxious.

    I also didn't find the Pikachu vs Fearow scene as impacting as Pikachu vs Spearow, or it's conclusion.

    But it's still a nice manga. I like how they characterized Ritchie, and I like his appearance. I would note Ash's lack of birthmarks however even Sugimori doesn't draw them so whatever.

    What did you think of it?
    Last edited by Somari; 11th August 2010 at 01:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Χριστιανός pokeslob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    738

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    I loved Dengeki Pikachu!
    possibly my second or third favourite manga (poke manga anyway)

    it had a more adult style humour, with a more shounen style way of portraying the pokemon world. plus I thought it was sick how the pokeballs straight up transform into the pokemon when they send em out. haha

    and prof. oak looks bad ass
    [/URL]

  3. #3
    A black and white world Blackjack Gabbiani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere special
    Posts
    17,517
    Blog Entries
    273

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    I don't know if it can properly be considered part of Dengeki Pikachu, but Ono's adaptation of the first movie is WAY better than the movie itself.

  4. #4
    Bulbapedia Editorial Board Zesty Cactus's Avatar Bulbapedia Deputy Editor-in-Chief
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    1,471
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    I don't really like the way Ono draws Pokemon, but it's an enjoyable manga nonetheless.

  5. #5
    Devil Lobster Man Ranger Jack Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Where I'm needed
    Posts
    4,563
    Blog Entries
    169

    Visit Ranger Jack Walker's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Big Boobs!

    I like it alot. The ending to Ash vs. Drake of the Orange Islands was way more more epic thanin the anime.

  6. #6
    空前絶後 NeoKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,137
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    The reason for it's "adult-humor" and surreal art of the characters is because Toshiro Ono was/is supposedly a hentai artists. Electric Tale was probably his "big break," so to speak, because many manga artists start out as hentai artists and then carry that style onto their non-hentai work.

    About the manga itself, ironically it was always at the library, though I never really read it through. I only skimmed through the Ash vs. Ritchie part, which was MUCH better than it was in the anime.
    "95% of the people who are able to read kana think that this automatically makes them know the entire Japanese language, as opposed to actually knowing little more than a first-year student of the language. If you are one of the 5% of that population who believes that being able to read kana is not impressive at all, copy and paste this into your sig."

  7. #7
    Bulbapedia Editorial Board Zesty Cactus's Avatar Bulbapedia Deputy Editor-in-Chief
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    1,471
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoKING View Post
    Toshiro Ono was/is supposedly a hentai artists.
    He is, and he's actually drawn hentai since EToP and the movie 1 manga, too.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,855
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    While I like the story better than the Manga, I don't like how they skip over many gym battles. I'd like it if the Manga was much longer with more stories and NO dull filler.

    Plus, to make it like the games, I would've had Ash and Gary battle in the finals of the Indigo League. Who would win? Guess.

  9. #9
    Brrakkiii MahouTsuki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    California
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zesty Cactus View Post
    I don't really like the way Ono draws Pokemon, but it's an enjoyable manga nonetheless.
    That's funny, because I love how he draws them!
    I actually really like how he draws period. I just wished the series was longer...


    And what's this I hear that he did a manga adaptation of Mewtwo Stikes Back? Anyone know where I can find this??
    Last edited by MahouTsuki; 29th September 2010 at 12:56 AM.
    Pearl Friend Code: 3007-4806-0543
    SoulSilver Friend Code: 1119-5687-7403
    Black Friend Code: 0174-7359-6077


  10. #10
    BattleFanatic Eitarou's Avatar Archives StaffBulbapedia Editorial BoardModerator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,283
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Well...Electric tale is more..."bouncier" than the anime.....

  11. #11
    No, i am a girl CrazedLatios323's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Next to my next-door-neighbor's house
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Well... there's blood.
    that's quite a difference
    OH WOW
    should i be posting on this thread?
    Maybe. How late is it?
    oh, it's only 12:30am

  12. #12
    A black and white world Blackjack Gabbiani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere special
    Posts
    17,517
    Blog Entries
    273

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Guys, I know I can't really stop you as long as it's on topic, but...everyone knows Ono is a perv and draws huge boobs. There's more to Electric Tale than that. It's sort of beat itself into the ground.

    Me, I like the airship designs. I wish he'd tackled the movie 2 adaptation for the Hikoukyuu alone. It would have been magnificent.
    (also his tendency to make important male characters strikingly handsome would have likely resulted in Jirarudan being even more attractive than he was in the actual movie, and that's saying something considerable. We're talking about the artist who made Oak look like Harrison Ford, after all)

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    The anime is nice, but Electric Tale is AWESOME. Seriously. The art is gorgeous, the humor intelligent, and it depicts things in the Pokémon world in a way that's just... I don't know... more casual than the anime, I guess.

    Not to denigrate the anime, I like it too.

  14. #14
    BattleFanatic Eitarou's Avatar Archives StaffBulbapedia Editorial BoardModerator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,283
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrazedLatios323 View Post
    Well... there's blood.
    that's quite a difference


    damn straight it is..

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: What's your opinion on Electric Tale' compared to the anime?

    I just wish that ET had lasted longer. Oh, well, c'est la vie.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •