Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime? - Page 34
Page 34 of 46 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast
Results 496 to 510 of 680

Thread: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

  1. #496
    Super Moderator Hidden Mew's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Somewhere dreaming forever
    Posts
    5,273

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe View Post
    I should have clarified as Gym Leaders in the main cast - as in Brock, Misty and Cilan. It doesn't make sense to me that they'd ditch their Gym's type the moment they step outside their home town - so I'd rather they looked for ways to overcome the disadvantages of their chosen type on their journey with Ash.
    I agree that they could have done that with Misty, especially when there were dual Water types out there to give her single team more variety to help overcome the type's weaknesses, but Brock never really focused much on just capturing Rock types. He was fine with just raising any Pokemon. He seemed to like Rock types the most, but that didn't matter to him so much compared to Misty. Although, I agree that he could have gotten a fossil Pokemon to give him some variety of Rock types on his team. Cilan certainly didn't really seem like much of a Grass type trainer when the only Grass type Pokemon he has even had is Pansage and he hasn't shown any interest in capturing other Grass types.

  2. #497
    Registered User Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,152
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hidden Mew View Post
    Cilan certainly didn't really seem like much of a Grass type trainer when the only Grass type Pokemon he has even had is Pansage and he hasn't shown any interest in capturing other Grass types.
    Which you certainly don't see in his game counterpart - especially in his PWT lineup (except Jumpluff, which should be a Tropius) - which makes me find it really strange writing, especially when the episode with Chili showed the potential that a single-type approach would have for him.

    But Cilan's fairly directionless overall, so for that to extend to his Pokemon is hardly surprising.

  3. #498
    Registered User Trainer Gabriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I also am of the opinion that main characters catching a single type can make their teams look rather shallow than if they had at least few different types. I think we're all forgetting that Iris aims to be a master of a single type, Dragon, and yet that didn't stop her from catching a Drilbur and Emolga. Clearly, trainers having a favorite type, or wanting to master said type, shouldn't discourage them from training other types as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fighting Misty View Post
    And its not like Misty needed all water types, she could have captured a Chinchou or Quagsire, some dual-typed wated pokemon.
    Or Corsola.
    ... Wait a sec...

  4. #499
    Super Moderator Hidden Mew's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Somewhere dreaming forever
    Posts
    5,273

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe View Post
    Which you certainly don't see in his game counterpart - especially in his PWT lineup (except Jumpluff, which should be a Tropius) - which makes me find it really strange writing, especially when the episode with Chili showed the potential that a single-type approach would have for him.

    But Cilan's fairly directionless overall, so for that to extend to his Pokemon is hardly surprising.
    That's true. They did show through Chili that there could be some potential with a trainer working with only one type of Pokemon and I think that the show referred to Cilan as an expert Grass type trainer during some of the Club Battle tournaments, despite only having one Grass type Pokemon. That never made much sense to me.

    Quote Originally Posted by Trainer Gabriel
    I also am of the opinion that main characters catching a single type can make their teams look rather shallow than if they had at least few different types. I think we're all forgetting that Iris aims to be a master of a single type, Dragon, and yet that didn't stop her from catching a Drilbur and Emolga. Clearly, trainers having a favorite type, or wanting to master said type, shouldn't discourage them from training other types as well.
    In Iris's case, it probably helped that there weren't a lot of non-legendary Dragon types in Unova for her to capture, at least when Unova only had fifth generation Pokemon in it, so they didn't really have a lot of options for her.

  5. #500
    pokemon fan 132 pokemon fan 132's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Croatia.
    Posts
    2,831
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe View Post
    I should have clarified as Gym Leaders in the main cast - as in Brock, Misty and Cilan. It doesn't make sense to me that they'd ditch their Gym's type the moment they step outside their home town - so I'd rather they looked for ways to overcome the disadvantages of their chosen type on their journey with Ash.
    Agreed, i never understood certain line of thinking from some people how mono trainer=boring trainer. Because that's anything but true with one type specialist often having predispositions to come of as more fascinating and interesting than traditional trainers we see every day.

    Exactly because of using mostly water type trying to overcome their weakness and become one of strongest trainers in world choosing harder way, i find Misty was unique in such aspect compared to other friends which travel with Ash and her goal all that more challenging. Which provided fresh spin to series back in day showing different kind of trainer career beside generic one Ash performed.

    Granted due to writers inexperience back in day not having properly set up direction through which they would develop girls along with formula being different back than Misty water team wasn't used to full potential but i still think her specialization in single type was interesting concept adding certain dash of mystery and unpredictability to whole career she pursued.

    I liked her team as well collecting strong and interesting line up with agile Staryu, strong Politoad(proved itself as Poliwhirl), powerhouse in form of Gyarados or agile Staryu /Starmie adding for balanced and unique team with many of her pokemon having potential to become true powerhouses(like Psyduck, Horsea, Starmie etc).

    And dual types like Starmie, Corsola or Gyarados only added more diversity in her team.

    Infact i believe easiest way for someone to make highly diverse pokemon roaster if hes using water type since they are most diverse and abdunant poke specie in world being mixed with just about any type except fire setting predispositions to make versatile and up to every challenge team from them.

  6. #501

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    The problem isn't Misty's team, it's the movesets given to them by the writers.

  7. #502

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    So basically Misty's team was not handled well. Starmie never used any psychic attacks either. It was basically just a bigger clone of Staryu.

  8. #503
    pokemon fan 132 pokemon fan 132's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Croatia.
    Posts
    2,831
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by stickerstaryoshi View Post
    The problem isn't Misty's team, it's the movesets given to them by the writers.
    How good her team was treated depends from pokemon to pokemon in reality. Looking back writers didnt started to enrich Mistys team with more diverse moves until Johto came around prior to that spamming us with basic attacks from pokemon from Ash or Brock too. Which can be noticed with his bulbasaur and Charmander back in Kanto spamming us with razor leaf,vine whip and flamethrower on daily basis.

    Back than in starting days there wasnt very diverse movepool among pokemon being used with fault not coming from Mistys water pokemon but writers and lack of creative,m more interesting moves in games for pokemon to use. Although there were som exceptions like Psyduck which used psychic attacks, Togepi occasionally, Staryu with his swift and wide line up of physical attacks whether its double edge, rapid spin, agility etc.

    Regardless in second half of run her pokemon really started to gain more individuality from each other with choice of attacks they use and value they brought to show. Such as Corsola mirror coat, spike cannon or recover, Goldeen supersonic and horn drill, Poliwhir l(later Politoad)psychic moves like swagger, headbutt, double team, dynamic punch, bubble beam etc. And later on Gyarados with impressively diverse move pool Luvdisc knowing ice beam, sweet kiss etc.

    I guess her best handled pokemon when she was on show were definitely Corsola, Staryu and POlitoad not jhaving much to complain about their focus and importance.

  9. #504

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Another one: I didn't like Movie 8 all that much.

  10. #505
    本物の神様 FANG-TAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    マサラタウン
    Posts
    932
    Blog Entries
    85
    Follow FANG-TAN On Twitter
    Visit FANG-TAN's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I think I'm the only one who has ever voiced dissatisfaction with how most Gym Leaders are handled in the anime. It seems like when they're too lazy to give them personalities, they give them the Generic Anime Gym Leader™ personality - mature, righteous, and overly friendly. For example: in the games, Mikan is meek and somewhat shy; in the anime, she's a Generic Anime Gym Leader™. Akane, who is somewhat of a crybaby, a pretty-girl, and a sore loser in the games, is a Generic Anime Gym Leader™. Ibuki, a overconfident Gym Leader who feels disgraced over losing to a child, is a Generic Anime Leader™. Even Kikuko, who is a member of the Kanto/Jouto Elite Four in both canons, is given the personality of a Generic Anime Gym Leader™ in the anime, while in the games she is a short-tempered old hag who is bitter about who Professor Orchid's become in recent years.

    This is mainly prevalent in Jouto through Houen, of which I really wanted to punch the screen due to most of the Gym Leaders might as well being one person when they had unique base personalities in the games that could be expanded upon in the anime. From what I've seen of DP, at least Natane has a distinctive personality. In the original Kanto, however, they succeeded in making most Gym Leaders into unique characters, obviously including Takeshi and Kasumi.
    Last edited by FANG-TAN; 27th March 2013 at 04:08 PM.

    ぼくの一番大好きなアニメはCCさくらですよ。
    MY ANIME BLOG | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | JAPAN-BEST | SHANA

  11. #506

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by FANG-TAN View Post
    I think I'm the only one who has ever voiced dissatisfaction with how most Gym Leaders are handled in the anime. It seems like when they're too lazy to give them personalities, they give them the Generic Anime Gym Leader™ personality - mature, righteous, and overly friendly. For example: in the games, Mikan is meek and somewhat shy; in the anime, she's a Generic Anime Gym Leader™. Akane, who is somewhat of a crybaby, a pretty-girl, and a sore loser in the games, is a Generic Anime Gym Leader™. Ibuki, a overconfident Gym Leader who feels disgraced over losing to a child, is a Generic Anime Leader™. Even Kikuko, who is a member of the Kanto/Jouto Elite Four in both canons, is given the personality of a Generic Anime Gym Leader™ in the anime, while in the games she is a short-tempered old hag who is bitter about who Professor Orchid's become in recent years.

    This is mainly prevalent in Jouto through Houen, of which I really wanted to punch the screen due to most of the Gym Leaders might as well being one person when they had unique base personalities in the games that could be expanded upon in the anime. From what I've seen of DP, at least Natane has a distinctive personality. In the original Kanto, however, they succeeded in making most Gym Leaders into unique characters, obviously including Takeshi and Kasumi.
    I can honestly say I don't see that.
    Most of the Anime Gym Leaders don't strike me all that "mature, righteous, or overly friendly"
    (though perhaps these descriptions are entirely too subjective to really be accurate descriptions.)
    Mostly, I'd describe most Gym Leaders as "Professional" on the field but each one have very interesting and detailed personalities off the field.
    Sadly, we just don't get to see most of the Gym Leader's Personalities show-cased in the show when they have very little actual screen-time,
    But of what we do get to see, I think they each have their own unique and very interesting Personalities.

    But that's just my opinion.

  12. #507
    本物の神様 FANG-TAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    マサラタウン
    Posts
    932
    Blog Entries
    85
    Follow FANG-TAN On Twitter
    Visit FANG-TAN's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableGuy View Post
    I can honestly say I don't see that.
    Most of the Anime Gym Leaders don't strike me all that "mature, righteous, or overly friendly"
    (though perhaps these descriptions are entirely too subjective to really be accurate descriptions.)
    Mostly, I'd describe most Gym Leaders as "Professional" on the field but each one have very interesting and detailed personalities off the field.
    Sadly, we just don't get to see most of the Gym Leader's Personalities show-cased in the show when they have very little actual screen-time,
    But of what we do get to see, I think they each have their own unique and very interesting Personalities.

    But that's just my opinion.
    Very bad excuse. There are unique Gym Leaders in the anime like Yanagi and, of course, the Kanto Gym Leaders, but other than that, most of them aren't distinct enough to be memorable. In most of the games, they have only several lines of dialogue yet it's easy to tell that they have their own unique quirks. In the anime, there's virtually no difference in personality, for example, between Akane, Mikan, Tsutsuji, and Nagi, aside from "I prefer using this specific type of Pokemon."

    Back in Kanto, to name a few, we had Natsume, who was a former introverted kuudere who carried a doll containing her split personality that liked turning challengers into dolls so they could become her friends for eternity (a unique take that I think is superior to her in-game counterpart, and much more memorable in the anime), Matis who was (as in the games) an American, prefered the brute force of evolutions, and threw out extremely hilarious Engrish in his speech, and Katsura, who was a weird dude living in a volcano that loved telling ridiculously hard riddles that made challengers' heads spin. Compared to those days, they hardly even try writing the Gym Leaders anymore, aside from a select few.

    I mean, hell, if screen time is the problem of why the anime Gym Leaders are usually boring characters, than why not shove some of the fillers aside? Bad writing.

    ぼくの一番大好きなアニメはCCさくらですよ。
    MY ANIME BLOG | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | JAPAN-BEST | SHANA

  13. #508

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by FANG-TAN View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableGuy View Post
    I can honestly say I don't see that.
    Most of the Anime Gym Leaders don't strike me all that "mature, righteous, or overly friendly"
    (though perhaps these descriptions are entirely too subjective to really be accurate descriptions.)
    Mostly, I'd describe most Gym Leaders as "Professional" on the field but each one have very interesting and detailed personalities off the field.
    Sadly, we just don't get to see most of the Gym Leader's Personalities show-cased in the show when they have very little actual screen-time,
    But of what we do get to see, I think they each have their own unique and very interesting Personalities.

    But that's just my opinion.
    Very bad excuse. There are unique Gym Leaders in the anime like Yanagi and, of course, the Kanto Gym Leaders, but other than that, most of them aren't distinct enough to be memorable. In most of the games, they have only several lines of dialogue yet it's easy to tell that they have their own unique quirks. In the anime, there's virtually no difference in personality, for example, between Akane, Mikan, Tsutsuji, and Nagi, aside from "I prefer using this specific type of Pokemon."

    Back in Kanto, to name a few, we had Natsume, who was a former introverted kuudere who carried a doll containing her split personality that liked turning challengers into dolls so they could become her friends for eternity (a unique take that I think is superior to her in-game counterpart, and much more memorable in the anime), Matis who was (as in the games) an American, prefered the brute force of evolutions, and threw out extremely hilarious Engrish in his speech, and Katsura, who was a weird dude living in a volcano that loved telling ridiculously hard riddles that made challengers' heads spin. Compared to those days, they hardly even try writing the Gym Leaders anymore, aside from a select few.

    I mean, hell, if screen time is the problem of why the anime Gym Leaders are usually boring characters, than why not shove some of the fillers aside? Bad writing.
    Well, you're free to have your own opinion of course.
    But I think you're confusing a character not having an 'over-the-top' personality with having no personally.
    Forgive me if I don't believe that every character in Pokemon need to be a borderline loon,
    be girl-crazy, or have deep emotional problems to be said to have a personality.

    Granted that some of them had some shallow development:
    Tsukushi/Bugsy, for example, showed very little personally, but he was introduced in and remained for the duration of only a single episode
    but honestly, not every character introduced need to be integral to the story beyond a single battle.

    But the other Johto Gym Leaders have pretty well Developed Personalities,
    Even Shijima/Chuck who only had a single Episode.
    And Matsuba/Morty had several Episodes to help define his personality,
    though his Personality was well defined enough in his first episode.
    And I loved Akane/Whitney's total Directionally-challenged Air-headedness,
    although her battling personality left much to be desired.

    And you can't seriously claim that any Unova Gym Leaders lack Personality.
    The Kanto Gym Leaders had nothing on the Unova Gym Leaders.

    Sadly, I don't remember much from the Sinnoh Region cause I missed that arc,
    though I do remember Sumomo/Maylene was absolutely adorable with her sudo-crush on Ash.

    Same with Hoenn, come to think of it. Missed most of that one too.
    But I did play the games but I can honestly say that, much like the other Gens,
    the Hoenn Gym Leaders in the game had absolutely no Personalities what-so-ever.

    Now, if you want to talk about Lazy writing, then we can discuss the Games.

  14. #509
    Crimson Fighter PhilosophyPhlare's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,270
    Blog Entries
    234

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    "Orange you glad I didn't say banana" is funnier than Georgia and Burgundy
    There is patience and then there is sloth.

  15. #510

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    A lot of the Gym leaders aren't really focused on in depth in the anime, which is why some of them can be bland.

    Look at Marlon, he had one episode and most of the ep focused on Cameron over him.

Page 34 of 46 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •