Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime? - Page 3

Page 3 of 46 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 681
Like Tree740Likes

Thread: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

  1. #31
    Surrender now or carry on Bikini Miltank's Avatar Bulbanews Editor-in-Chief
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    SL, UT
    Posts
    2,574
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Nothing wrong with kid-friendliness. I'd choose that over something self-consciously "adult" anytime.

    Oh, hey, I thought of another one. The most interesting rival in DP was Zoey.

  2. #32
    Math and Pink Lover! Airi-Chan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Troller Zone
    Posts
    176
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    - Trip has great intelligence and having big role in rivalry instead of previous rivals.
    - Iris has been written as better female companion than previous girls.
    - Bianca has being the best female rival in Pokemon Anime universe.
    - I like running gag of Stephan. It is not too annoying
    - Dawn had been bad written
    - Iris the strongest female one while Trip is the strongest male one 10-year-old kids trainer in Anime universe.
    - Trip's Serperior's combination Leer+Solarbeam was extremely awesome.
    - Iris's and Trip's development are quite better.

  3. #33
    Moe
    Moe is offline
    Registered User Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    951
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Tracy was the best written of Ash's travelling companions.

    I like Totodile, Bayleef and Piplup.

    Trip is and deserves to be stronger than Ash and all of his BW rivals.

    The dub replacing music has never bothered me in the slightest.

  4. #34
    Registered User Trainer Gabriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,802
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I find the 4Kids dub to be overrated. Just about everything people complain about in the PUSA/TPCI dub was also present in the 4Kids dub; only at least now we no longer have paint edits (save a few understandable ones) or wall-to-wall music every second. And the new voices are not necessarily worse just because you didn't hear them first.

    Johto may have been plagued with too many repetitive, bland fillers - though it did also have the occasional enjoyable ones, too - but outside of that, and I guess the lack of slap-stick comedy compared to Kanto (which one could argue was actually lost in the Orange saga), I really didn't think it was that bad. At least Ash was no longer "earning" free gym badges, and the league certainly gave it an epic finale. Remove all of the worst fillers, and I honestly think it's even better than the Kanto and Orange sagas.

    I didn't dislike Zoey nearly as much as most did. Sure I had the same opinion as everyone else at first, but as DP progressed, she started to grow on me. I think my main qualm was that she didn't seem to get any development and basically do nothing but tell the main heroes why trainers shouldn't be both challenging gyms and doing contests and such - it also didn't help that she seemed to get too many apearances for while, which could have been used to give Nando and Kenny more screentime - but she eventually lightened up on that belief and we got to learn more about her, including her past. Overall, I could say that I ended up being content with her character by the end.

    I never understood how people could claim the DP group were nothing more than three zombies walking together. They probably weren't the best group, but that was mainly because the Brock/Dawn dynamic was lackluster compared to Ash/Dawn & Ash/Brock. But it's not like Brock and Dawn had no chemistry either; Dawn had a whole episode dedicated to remembering some of the things that Brock had taught her - that's gotta speak for something. I also don't see how their chemistry was any worse than Brock had with May.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gotpika View Post
    -DP isn't nearly as awesome as everyone makes it out to be. There were terrible episodes like Faced With Steelix Determination!, Teaching the Student Teacher!, and Up Close And Personable!.
    Every saga had its share of bad episodes, however. It was the plotlines that got everyone tuned into the DP series.

    -I never quite understood what made Cilan's Stunfisk so amazing to everyone. :
    Oh, it's just the same deal as with Mukubird, Jimmy Ray, etc.

    -Drew and Harley were better than all of Dawn's rivals.
    That actually happens to be a popular opinion.

    -Nando had the potential to be a very good rival, but suffered from lack of appearances. He was something new and fresh.
    Agreed. I also liked Nando as a character, even if he was underused and underdeveloped as a (double) rival, if only because of his unique characteristics.

    -Ursula was made out to be too Harley-ish.
    ... I don't think anybody hasn't drawn a comparison between those two - which was what made Ursula so popular in the first place.
    Last edited by Trainer Gabriel; 10th October 2012 at 01:15 AM.
    Mikuri, Ambipom666 and Kenji-girl like this.

  5. #35
    OPPAN GARY STYLE! Little Miss Eevee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    319

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I think togepi made misty boring, and Gary isn't best rival; he usually shows up for comic relief (Like when he found fossilised pokemon turds in the original series.) Personally, although he isn't as good as paul, i like trip because of his annoying albiet, condescending nature.

    All Eeveelutions are equal, but some are more equal than others.
    Banner made by me! I have officially claimed Minccino on the 13-11-12

    Want a baby Pokemon or an Eevee? Here's my FC (I like shinies)
    1249-7189-3936

  6. #36
    pokemon fan 132 pokemon fan 132's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Croatia.
    Posts
    2,688
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Let see:
    -Unlike most in here i view Johto as fairly enjoyable series not being waste of time and filler hell (less than half of total number of episodes were only filler with many Misty, Ash or Brock episodes which contained development being wrongly classified). Battles were a lot better compared to first 2 seasons, Ash sidekicks actually battled more receiving some notable focus and growth(especially Misty) ,we got several great arcs and memorable gym leaders, return from older characters(like Todd, Duplica, Ritchie or Aya) and there are many episodes from this region i always like to go back and watch being well written and enjoyable.

    -people usually acknowledge chemistry first group had in Kanto but disregard their dynamic in Johto.

    To this day i actually find that original trio had better chemistry in Johto than any other group which came afterwards. Ash naive and stubborn temperament, Misty flamboyant, caring and snarky side mixed with Brock eccentric personality added humor, tension and clash which was never reciprocated that good afterwards. You can notice how much they grew to each other in Johto feeling like close group of friends which understood themselves creating balanced and dynamic interaction, having hardest time to split out of all groups in end. "Gotta Catch Ya Later" hardly left anyone indifferent.

    -I don't share view how "May and Dawn were best handled females in pokemon" with quantity not necessarily following quality. They got better handle of their goals and pokemon, but in character sense i find Misty was more complex not caring what others think being tomboyish but also girly at times creating perfect balance. She had one of most believable growths character went through in show and goal with lot of fresh potential which wasn't fully used.
    She started with "go to hell attitude" often erupting over every little detail, felt insecure and inferior having sad background with everyone underestimating her. But with time we saw there was more than surface meets showing girly, romantic, sarcastic and other sides adding new layers to character eventually getting over various struggles and fears learning to be more patient and levelheaded, appreciated friendship with Ash and Brock viewing them as family and improved as trainer coming long way since early days. Which ultimately made her more realistic growing in mature, strong person while still being sarcastic, and adventurous adding fresh note to it.

    -Sinnoh is incredibly overrated imo, not understanding what warrants to call it "masterpiece in writing". It lacked humor, it had weak interactions and chemistry between main cast, contest and gyms were dragged down for longer than it was necessary and i didn't found battles that much spectacular like everyone say. They were good, but so were battles from Hoenn and Johto.
    Only thing which made big improvement compared to other regions imo was treatment of rivals and villains.

    -i don't think Iris is bad character either. Putting aside rushed development and inconsistency in writing i find her character enjoyable. I like that wild and hyperactive personality, connections with nature, snarky incitements and connections she establishes with pokemon adding fresh interaction within cast.

    -unlike most in here i don't support character replacing, being draw in false belief "how such things are necessary to keep anime fresh". Many shows like One Piece, Naruto, Bleach, Ben 10 etc keep same cast and they are still interesting with fandom every day learning something new.

    You can do risks and changes with same characters too, add new life to story by introducing new twists, refresh them through new designs, pokemon and subplots like aforementioned anime do.
    Benefit behind character stay allows that writers do sequel to his story and give him more complex development ,since they already have background and developed story to pick up and work upon.

    If you want to get rid of repetitiveness than long term solution doesn't lie in constant cycling(form of repeat too), because that's just writers excuse of not having to try implementing new ideas and doing more meaningful development with others. But in actually changing formula by adding new innovations, taking story and established characters forward in undiscovered directions which allows to keep show fresh,have better developed cast and more continuity.

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fighting Misty View Post
    Not really. Most of my opinions are the general consensus of the entire fandom.

    For example I thought Johto was one of the weakest arcs of the show, certain characters became stale as they progressed, the DP coordinator rivals weren't handled very well, Trip is a poor rival, etc.
    In multimillion franchise like pokemon thought of general consensus made over something is illusion, with there existing so many different perceptions and views of what was good or bad making it virtually impossible to achieve agreement over question in hand.

    Not to mention opinions or preferences within majority aren't always best answer. Just because many people believe it to be so doesn't make something right.

    Quote Originally Posted by The Togekiss View Post
    I pretty much agree on the opinions of the majority of the fandom.
    For me, the first movie is my least favorite, and Misty got to be pretty boring.
    Its actually opposite. Majority find Misty was interesting character.
    Last edited by pokemon fan 132; 10th October 2012 at 06:24 AM.

  7. #37
    Jacen the Robot Floatzel Robo-Floatzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sinnoh Region
    Posts
    1,426
    Blog Entries
    2
    Follow Robo-Floatzel On Twitter
    Visit Robo-Floatzel's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    • Brock became rather bland in AG and DP, to the point where he was just THERE and treated as nonexistent, and sadly, the same is slowly happening to Cilan
    • I thought May was a more interesting character than Misty or Dawn
    • I think Max shouldn't have ever been on the show in the first place, what was the point in his character at all, he had no Pokemon, and didn't do much to actually progress the plot, same goes for Togepi.
    • Paul was a more interesting rival than Trip
    • The anime needs to have more villains besides the Team Rocket trio
    • They should have done a lot more with Tracey
    • I think Hunter J survived and is still alive
    • Iris didn't need Dragonite, and Cilan needs more Pokemon and overall focus
    • Kotetsu shouldn't have even appeared in the anime
    • Ash should have evolved more of his Pokemon, and more often, especially the starters save for his Charizard, Sceptile, Infernape, and Torterra.
    Avatar made by MelNathea on DeviantART
    SEA WEASELS: The group for Buizel and Floatzel fans!

    CLICK MY ROBOT POKEMON ARMY OR ELSE!!!!!!
    My DA account

  8. #38
    Load of Belloni
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,299
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    -While I agree that they should be handled better, I really don't care much for the villain teams either way. Few of the characters in any of the groups are ever fleshed out enough for me to ever invest much interest in.

    -I couldn't stand all the episodes in Diamond & Pearl the revolved solely around training X pokemon, and am glad they're gone.

    -I like Dent, but I don't like him as much as a lot of folks here do. Sometimes I just don't get it.

    -I prefer the show when it doesn't take itself seriously. I don't mind that it's 'kiddy' and lighthearted.

    -Most of my favourite episodes are fillers, and Johto had the funniest ones buried underneath all the crap. Can we can some belly-button-licking Shuckle in here?

    -I thought Spell of the Unown was the first good pokemon movie, and I enjoyed it's fantasy elements. Mewtwo Strikes Back and Power of One make me cringe.

    -Corphish was BY FAR the funniest pokemon on the show.

  9. #39
    Vestjysk Gimpe Chatsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Dänemark
    Posts
    840
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    - Misty is awfully overrated and I can't for the life of me understand the desperation of some wanting her back on the show.

    - Iris is actually a really decent character and I think she's handled well so far. I wish her hair would change to the style of her Champion design, though *_*

    - I think the running gags in BW (and in general) are quite hilarious.

    - I quite like the aura subplot bit and wish it would be focused on again and/or expanded upon.

    - I liked Brock's character throughout every saga and never found him having become stale. He's always been an amusing character and Croagunk simply added that little extra in DP.

    - Cilan can never be overrated! :p

  10. #40
    Boulder Trainer Mikuri's Avatar Bulbapedia Junior Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    - I don't like Charizard.
    - I love Piplup.
    - The DP Contests were better than those of AG.
    - Zoey was a very interesting rival.
    - Cilan is overrated.
    djulienr and martianmister like this.

  11. #41
    Registered User Chiplet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    953
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Robo-Floatzel View Post
    • Brock became rather bland in AG and DP, to the point where he was just THERE and treated as nonexistent, and sadly, the same is slowly happening to Cilan
    • I thought May was a more interesting character than Misty or Dawn
    • I think Max shouldn't have ever been on the show in the first place, what was the point in his character at all, he had no Pokemon, and didn't do much to actually progress the plot, same goes for Togepi.
    • Paul was a more interesting rival than Trip
    • The anime needs to have more villains besides the Team Rocket trio
    • They should have done a lot more with Tracey
    • I think Hunter J survived and is still alive
    • Iris didn't need Dragonite, and Cilan needs more Pokemon and overall focus
    • Kotetsu shouldn't have even appeared in the anime
    • Ash should have evolved more of his Pokemon, and more often, especially the starters save for his Charizard, Sceptile, Infernape, and Torterra.
    Quite frankly, nearly all of these would probably be considered as the ''fandom's opinions''. Except maybe the thing with Max, but I'm not really sure about what the fandom thinks about him. xP
    ''A single thread in a tapestry though its color brightly shine, can never see its purpose, in the pattern of the grand design.''

  12. #42
    Proud Pokeservative! 97SaturnSL1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    cuyahoga falls ohio
    Posts
    1,101
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by Frazay View Post
    . It's obvious it's a "kid-friendly" anime, and that just doesn't appeal to me anymore.
    I like it becasue it isnt full of mature junk that has dirtyed up the anime industry. though Byrons jokes made me laugh a bit..

    I think most of the COTDs are hideous and should go to the scrap yard. Esp the twins in BW099. geeze
    i wish the anime was more run like an american cartoon such as the Nicktoons
    KEEP CHEREN OUT OF THE ANIME. CANT STAND HIM
    And roxie is one of those character i must ask what the heck the creators were thinking

  13. #43
    Because I can. Caseydia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    [Robo-Floatzel;4396296]
    [*]Brock became rather bland in AG and DP, to the point where he was just THERE and treated as nonexistent, and sadly, the same is slowly happening to Cilan
    I don't know if it's unpopular or not but Brock did become bland or atleast he seemed like he was really fading in the group. And Cilan is over the top with barely any flaws. It will get old fast. But I don't know if this is from fans or just a few people.

    [*]I thought May was a more interesting character than Misty or Dawn
    To be honest, I agreed with this in some way. Back in early AG I was highly interested in Max because I knew little about him and I didn't know what was going to happen to him. There was Brock but since he's been there before, having Ash a bit more mature than before made him seem like a father figure than an older Brother. Which was making me concerned.

    [*]I think Max shouldn't have ever been on the show in the first place, what was the point in his character at all, he had no Pokemon, and didn't do much to actually progress the plot, same goes for Togepi.
    Togepi was for GSC game promotional purposes. All they needed to do was make the thing move out of a case of arms and you had a Pokemon. Max is another story. But I think he was there to make Ash seem less like a kid and to have someone to look up to.

    [*]Paul was a more interesting rival than Trip
    Ofcourse.

    [*]The anime needs to have more villains besides the Team Rocket trio
    Agreed. That way people would be at such a loss now for a bunch of villians who never achieved their goal in catching one Pikachu.:coughs:

    [*]They should have done a lot more with Tracey
    Absolutely! I mean his Pokemon were awesome. Just one or two battles would have been great.

    [*]Iris didn't need Dragonite, and Cilan needs more Pokemon and overall focus
    In the middle of BW, Cilan had alot of focus in the short episodes than Brock did his entire run. A dragonaire or something smaller would have been just as good for Iris. As long as it was a dragon type. But who knows how long would it have took for it to have evolve if Axew barely got to be used.
    Last edited by Caseydia; 10th October 2012 at 03:42 PM.

  14. #44
    Registered User The Fighting Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    28,646
    Blog Entries
    49

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Just curious, am I the only one who didn't mind either Tracey or Max? A lot of people seem to downright dislike these two, but I never really had any problems with them being on the cast.

  15. #45
    Moderator Hidden Mew's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Somewhere dreaming forever
    Posts
    4,232

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fighting Misty View Post
    Just curious, am I the only one who didn't mind either Tracey or Max? A lot of people seem to downright dislike these two, but I never really had any problems with them being on the cast.
    I didn't really have a problem with either one of them. Tracey was kind of bland, but he was still likable. Max could be really annoying at times, but I was more okay with him than I was with Tracey. At least it was kind of interesting to have a group not only with more than three characters, but a main character without Pokemon was also kind of interesting. Plus, I did like the sibling moments between Max and May, as well as the Jirachi movie, so he was basically fine with me.

Page 3 of 46 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 28th December 2012, 06:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •