Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

Page 1 of 46 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 681
Like Tree740Likes

Thread: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

  1. #1
    Only 70 new Pokemon? Hoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,080
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    For me I never saw piplup as something to be hated , rather as the source of Humor that Ash is so sorely lacking.

    I also never thought Trip was as bad as many people think he was or that May had gotten extremely powerful during her stint as MC.

    I also like iris as a character except for the writers trying to take a shortcut on her development by dropping a dragonite into her lap.

    There's more but what unpopular opinions regarding the anime that you have? ie not something the majority of people would agree with you on.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    - New, serious Team Rocket is better than old, silly Team Rocket.

    - Iris is a much better written, realistic little girl character than Misty, May, or Dawn.

    - Diamond/Pearl and just about everything in it is vastly overrated.

    Quote Originally Posted by pokemonsquared View Post
    I also like iris as a character except for the writers trying to take a shortcut on her development by dropping a dragonite into her lap.
    Except that's not a shortcut seeing as Dragonite is completely dysfunctional. And no, the recent episode didn't resolve it, he may listen to her more now but previews for Iris' return to the Village of Dragons show that Dragonite is still willing to go berserk against Iris' wishes.
    HumanDawn and Chiss like this.

  3. #3
    Registered User The Fighting Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    28,646
    Blog Entries
    49

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Not really. Most of my opinions are the general consensus of the entire fandom.

    For example I thought Johto was one of the weakest arcs of the show, certain characters became stale as they progressed, the DP coordinator rivals weren't handled very well, Trip is a poor rival, etc.

    Either that or my opinions tend to influence the entire fandom.

  4. #4
    Registered User Chiplet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    952
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fighting Misty View Post
    Either that or my opinions tend to influence the entire fandom.
    Don't give yourself too much credit now, Scotty-boy. :P
    Owain and Mooites like this.
    ''A single thread in a tapestry though its color brightly shine, can never see its purpose, in the pattern of the grand design.''

  5. #5
    Moderator Hidden Mew's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Somewhere dreaming forever
    Posts
    4,217

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fighting Misty View Post
    Either that or my opinions tend to influence the entire fandom.
    I don't think that one person's options could influence an entire fandom. That seems like a bit much.

    Anyway, I think that the original series is pretty overrated. While it's still an enjoyable watch for me, I just don't think it was the best, or even one of the best series thus far. I also find Misty extremely boring and as a result, she also feels like an overrated character. I also don't think that Johto was anywhere near as bad as many other people do. It certainly had its problems, but I still thought it was fun and actually felt like an improvement over Kanto/Orange Islands in a couple of areas, mainly with most of Ash's Pokemon having personalities and better Gym battles.

  6. #6
    Noble shine! Likeitornot.'s Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Ireland.
    Posts
    934
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I am quite fond of Kotetsu's character, and he amuses me. It's peculiar, I can comprehend exactly why he's not viewed with much enthusiasm by a number of people, and sometimes I do think I am ridiculous for liking him, but I can't help myself. He has an appeal about him, well at least for me, that's enticing.
    HumanDawn likes this.
    "I shall have some peace there for peace comes
    dropping slow."
    - Lake Isle of Innisfree, W.B Yeats.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    469

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I like Piplup, I think he was a great character and a really unique one. So many episodes wouldn't have worked out right without Piplup. Heck, I even liked the running gag about Draco Meteor.

    I think the Mewtwo movie is one of the worst ones. It's a shame, really, it looked like it was going to be awesome, but when Ash got too involved the plot steadily became more and more ridiculous (and that's coming from an Ash fan!). The second half is terrible.

    That's about it. The rest of my opinions are the same or at least similar to the rest of the fandom.
    つまらないものはさっさと消去。

  8. #8
    Bow before me, bitches! SammyW27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,056
    Add SammyW27 on Facebook
    Visit SammyW27's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    The writing was at its all time best in DP

    Misty is groteusqly overrated

    Pikachu needs to step off and let somepoke else have the spotlight more often

    The First Movie is the Worst Movie

    Ash is one the worst protagonist in all of anime, if not ever, and is surrounded by pokemon, comapions, rivals, allies and enemies more interesting and likable than him

    I usually like it when the Legendaries show up in the Show better than in the Movies

    I like all the other TR members (including one shots) better than the Trio

    There. I said my piece. (Feels good to get that off my chest)

  9. #9
    Subete wo kagayakasu MizuTaipu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    1,261
    Blog Entries
    61

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    Here are some of mine:
    -Best Wishes!'s BGM is the best out of all of the four anime series (excluding movie pieces).

    -The quality of the anime franchise hasn't dropped or risen over its current run.

    -Satoshi and Pikachu have not suffered a reset in their abilities in Best Wishes!.
    Pallet Fangirl likes this.

  10. #10
    The sound of drums
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Tijuana, Mexico
    Posts
    271
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    saying only 2 statement will make nearly the entire fandom to hate me, well here it goes
    1.- i like the ''you´re such a kid'' quote outside of the anime i love saing it to my friends just to them to get mad
    2.- (flameshields up) i dont like misty as a companion

  11. #11
    You think you're bad, don't ya? Karamazov's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,890
    Blog Entries
    780

    Follow Karamazov on Tumblr

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    This one isn't too much of an unpopular opinion, more like one that's unpopular with about half the fandom: Best Wishes is better than DP, in my eyes. And that the risk this saga took are better for the series in the long run.

    I also think that Iris's catchphrase is fun and should become a thing, like "Tasting Time" was. Sadly, it never really caught on.

    "Playing around?" Wrong.

  12. #12
    Registered User PTOldMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    241
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I'd rather see Jessie, James and Meowth as robots and pseudo-competent than not seeing them at all, at least is tells us that they are still here and that everything can still happen. I also don't think that it is possible to give them a proper send-off, as they have an enormous backstory and it wouldn't be possible to cover everything in just a couple of episodes without making it feel rushed and/or crammed (and I think that they could only leave the show properly if there is something regarding Arbok, Weezing, Jessie's Blissey, Jessie's mother, Meowzie, Jessiebelle, Jessie's Dustox, James's Growlie, Persian, contests, Delibird, Victreebel, James's Cacnea, James's Chimecho, and a lot of other stuff). All in all, I don't care if Team Rocket become crap as characters in the future, I'd rather have them be bad than not having them at all (besides, even Unova JJM had a lot of cool moments, so even if they become even worse, good things will always happen, even if rarely).
    I know that most of the Rocket fans don't think the same and think they should be given a closure before they get even worse, but I just can't imagine it happening and I really don't want it.
    Please "like" this page to help Portugal! We want to have Pokémon in HD! Please "like" this.


    Also, sign this petition (you can sign by writing your Name and E-mail address on the "bolded" blanks and then clicking in "Assinar Petição")


  13. #13
    Registered User Madame Pika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    146
    Blog Entries
    1

    Follow Madame Pika on Tumblr

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I never saw what all the fuss about the original trio was about, especially in regrades to their chemistry. Not that I thought they were terrible, just that they weren't amazing.

    I think that the character changing is a good thing overall, even if I do miss some characters. I think that it encourages the writers to take risks and stops the anime from getting dull. It could be handled better for sure, but really, I'm not that annoyed by it.

    I'm sure I have some others but those are the ones that come to mind. There are others but I just don't want to talk about them.

  14. #14
    Registered User Chiplet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    952
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I prefer TR much more now than I did when they were their ''usual'' selves. It's not that I'm extremely interested in what they're doing or anything, it's just that they finally, unlike DP, don't take up 5 or more minutes to do the same shit all over again. They barely even appear anymore, which gives more time to develop the actual episode, and that I really, really love. So I'd much rather have them stay like the way they are now. However, I would like for Iris and Cilan to interact with them some more in a comedic way, so that's the only negative thing.

    I think the trio of Ash, Misty and Brock are extremely overrated and definitely not any better than the AG or BW groups. I as well think that the OS is overrated too, not being any better than any of its successors, more than possibly DP.

    I like the fact that Iris was given Dragonite, as I personally think that the both of them have been handed a really good and interesting story between them and as well have received some great development. The issues that have occured in their relationship has in my book been far more interesting than what happened with either Iris/Excadrill and Dawn/Mamoswine, but probably not Ash/Charizard.

    I think Dento's ''Tasting Time'' are awfully boring and bland during battles, and a good example is the one he had with Luke. Dento is one of my favorite characters ever, but I'd rather watch grass grow than seeing him do his ''evaluating time'' during battles as they often turn out to be rather boring. They only steal up time for the battles themselves.

    I LOVE Totodile. Most people I've encountered hasn't really liked the reptile, but in my opinion he's one of the most entertaining Pokémon Ash has ever caught, possibly only being second to Gible, and as I jugde a character from their ability to entertain me he's naturally one of my favorite Pokémon ever.

    I dislike the English dub of BW, which most people seem to praise as it's been a huge step away from the awful DP dub, but I don't really agree at all.

    I've enjoyed nearly every single gym battle in the BW Saga, which most people seem to despite. I can agree with the battle against Burgh being extremely awful, but all of the others were great in my opinion, and some were definitely among the greatest ever. Ash's battles against Brycen and Clay could've been among the weaker, but they were definitely not bad.

    Okay, that's enough, or else this list could go on forever. Although I'm not sure that these opinions of mine are the opposite to the fandom's opinions, or just Bulba's.
    Aeon, Chiss, HumanDawn and 1 others like this.
    ''A single thread in a tapestry though its color brightly shine, can never see its purpose, in the pattern of the grand design.''

  15. #15
    Arms... like... nooodles! The Togekiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Stuck inside my head.
    Posts
    706
    Blog Entries
    32

    Follow The Togekiss on Tumblr

    Default Re: Do you have any unpopular opinions about the anime?

    I pretty much agree on the opinions of the majority of the fandom.
    For me, the first movie is my least favorite, and Misty got to be pretty boring.
    The Network likes this.



    My deviantArt account... http://thetogekiss.deviantart.com/
    Claimed: Togekiss (yay!) ,Oblivious, Pokeradar,and Razor Fang! July 8th, 2012, Air Slash July 20th, 2012



Page 1 of 46 12311 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 28th December 2012, 06:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •