A "Wow, I should have figured that out a lot sooner" thread
Page 1 of 40 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: A "Wow, I should have figured that out a lot sooner" thread

Default A "Wow, I should have figured that out a lot sooner" thread

Posting in the first Pokémon game thread made me think back when my Yellow version was brand-spanking-new and I was a newbie to the franchise. I was so stupid back then!

In the first place, I couldn't figure out how to get out of the house. It wasn't like they made it obvious or anything, but my eight-year-old self felt like an idiot when I finally figured it out (after ten minutes).

A second, much lengthier stupid thing I did was get stuck in Viridian Forest for weeks. Pikachu made it to level 81 in there because I was in there for so long (I didn't bother training anyone else, I guess). I had absolutely no idea how to get out at all. I thought the exit was just a dead end and when I finally pressed against it, I was shocked. Happy, but shocked.

Anyway, share your own dumb experiences so we can all have a laugh. I can't be the only one this happened to!

Default Re: A "Wow, I should have figured that out a lot sooner" thread

Quote Originally Posted by Minto View Post
    A second, much lengthier stupid thing I did was get stuck in Viridian Forest for weeks. Pikachu made it to level 81 in there because I was in there for so long (I didn't bother training anyone else, I guess).
    Are you serious? You'd have to defeat about a thousand Pokemon to get that high of a level. I bet the rest of the game was really easy, though.

I can't think of any really stupid mistakes. I did try to find MissingNo for about a long time on Pokemon Yellow before finally giving up.

Whoa. You were stuck in Viridian Forest that long? I think I'd have given up on the game long before that!