I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I went to the article Blue (game) and I think I might have gotten a virus that only allows my computer to visit bulbagarden.net and no other websites.

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I went to the article Blue (game) and I think I might have gotten a virus that only allows my computer to visit bulbagarden.net and no other websites.
Last edited by Buzz; 7th December 2010 at 06:21 AM.


I don't know. When I visited the article, my security notified me of a virus that it was trying to block and now the internet will only allow me to go on bulbagarden.net

So, you can't type in http://bmgf.bulbagarden.net/www.google.com or anything? It just relocates you to the main Bulbagarden page?

When using Mozilla Firefox, it would say "Problem loading page. Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections."
When using Internet Explorer, it would say "Internet Explorer could not display the webpage"
Have you tried restarting your computer or cleaned out the cache?
A proxy?
In Firefox, go
Tools > Options > Advanced > Settings
Then turn off the proxy, or set it to automatically detect. Either should fix your problem. If it's already on those....sounds like just a weird error in your Firefox. Try uninstalling and reinstalling if that's the case.
神出鬼没 - shin shutsu ki botsu

Thank you so much, Mr. Archaic! It worked for Firefox but do you know how I could fix the problem on Internet Explorer??
Don't know the exact place that would be, but it'll be the same kind of thing in the options somewhere.
What was the proxy entered in there? Seems very strange something could get there without your knowledge.
神出鬼没 - shin shutsu ki botsu
In IE, it's probably under Internet Options > Connection or some variant thereof.
Although the question is - why would you ever need a site other than Bulbagarden.net? :D
As Trom said: in the world of bugs and viruses, this might be the best one ever.
"And we're not gods, we're just hacks."
blog | twitter | Bulbagraphic

Well, TVTropes has a big massive warning on its Pokemon page: http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/Ptitlei015gc004kw4?from=Main.Pokemon
I've visited the site a few times within the last two days, nothing happened to me though.Warning: The Pokemon wikipedia website, Bulbapedia, seems to have a Vundo type trojan circulating within it. Any links leading to Bulbapedia should be avoided until the problem is solved.
Bookmarks