"Visitor of the Space Fissure!" Review/impressions (SPOILERS)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: "Visitor of the Space Fissure!" Review/impressions (SPOILERS)

  1. #1
    Virus equals very yes Kinglerlord2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    159

    Default "Visitor of the Space Fissure!" Review/impressions (SPOILERS)

    Well Dogasu has covered the synopsis pretty well there so there's not much I can add to that. Here's a small review/impressions to follow it up.

    From the start I want to say that overall I'm impressed with the movie. It was an enjoyable adventure for the most part.

    The "this is the world of pokemon" spiel at the start of the film was, as Dogasu said, a little long and seemed to be kinda fillerish and pointless to be frank.

    Right from the word go the movie itself was showing promise as it attempted to take a more mature take on the battle between Deoxys and Rayquaza. Looking at it through the eyes of the audience majority (6-10 years old) it would have been quite a scary experience. There was excellent use of camera angles in the battle and edge of your seat stuff as young Toh'i is caught in the stampede of Sealeo and Walrein.

    With the prologue over the movie slows down a little again but builds up to the battle tower quickly enough so we're not getting bored. Team Rocket's entry was less than spectacular, it was very similar to the 2nd movie where they run headlong into a rock, but in a much more boring style. The battle tower battle was a little one-sided but was fairly entertaining as Ash's Pikachu and Torkoal stumbled over each other.

    After this they introduced the side story of Ash wanting to help Toh'i overcome his fear of pokemon. This made the movie feel more like an extended episode from the series at times. The scene with the pokemon playing happily together is pretty much an obligatory scene with these movies but it is probably better suited for the pre-movie Pikachu short film rather than in the middle of a movie where the audience is waiting for things to happen.

    Enter Deoxys and his shadows which start kidnapping people and flying off with them. It's quite a cool scene with Pikachu and Ryuu's Blaziken firing attack after attack destroying the shadows in an effort to hold them back.

    The windmill scene with everyone helping to restore power... well yeah for the story to work it's necessary but it seems to play out like a moral about teamwork than anything else and you're left kinda shrugging you shoulders and thinking "eh".

    Rayquaza gets inside and the battle between him and Deoxys resumes and it's played out very well except for the limited attacks used by both pokemon. With the entry of the second Deoxys they could have ended the movie but I think it worked better that they kept going because Rayquaza was still kinda pissed off and so it's two Deoxys vs Rayquaza and the Deoxys don't seem particularly interested in fighting anymore.

    The scene with the robots going into attack mode was pretty unneccessary I think. It extended the movie more than was really necessary and didn't really achieve too much.

    But as I said at the start the movie was very entertaining even if the plot lagged at times.

    Now technical points:

    As with the previous movies there was a lot of CG animation used and it looked very nice actually; however there are points in the 2D animation where you wonder if they ran out of money because of the CG as it gets really sloppy sometimes which is disappointing.

    The soundtrack was for the most part very good but I swear if I *ever* hear that L-O-V-E-L-Y song again I will go on a murderous rampage. The song was *way* to repetitive and the tone and pitch was not nice on the ears.

    As I mentioned eariler the camera angles during the battles were very good and that is the same for the whole movie. There was some great use of a variety of shots and angles that kept the interest up.

    To finish up I've gotta mention that the star of the movie (at least in the kid's viewpoint) was Gonbe. Everytime the little guy appeared the kids were very excited about it. And he was very cute in his role to be fair.

    Right. I've rambled enough I think.

    Another solid movie overall.

    Oh and one final point that Dogasu didn't mention. At the very end of the credits all of the pokemon who had appeared in the movie aside from Deoxys and Rayquaza were dancing the aforementioned song with pom-poms; even Blaziken, Blastoise and Metagross. We all felt very sad for them.
    Last edited by Kinglerlord2; 17th July 2004 at 08:17 AM.
    Don't wait for the light at the end of the tunnel.
    Go down there and light the bloody thing yourself!


    WEASLEY IS OUR KINGLER!

  2. #2
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    10,163
    Blog Entries
    25
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default

    Stickied because I could ^_^

    A few random points:

    -Metagross didn't do jack sh*t in this movie. OK, he used Reflector ONCE, but other than that he just stood there and saved the animators money by not moving.

    -This movie succeeded in making Blaziken look like a the biggest wimp ever. Seeing it with the twin girls on its lap as it slid down a slide in the park was bad enough. Seeing it jump around on the windmill like a thirteen-year old on her older brother's bed during a sleepover is worse. Seeing it dance during the ending theme with pom-poms was just too much.

    -Gonbe was easily the audience's favorite part of the movie. Even after it evolved into Snorlax, the kids still insisted on calling it Gonbe.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 21st, 2015


  3. #3
    黒い王様 Archaic's Avatar Webmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    13,434
    Blog Entries
    64
    Follow Archaic On Twitter

    Default

    A few random points from me too

    - A number of scenes which we saw in the trailers never appeared in the actual movie. Given that they were things I was really looking forward to, like the Satoshi/Haruka Tag Team battle in Battle Tower (Honestly, the Battle Tower match we got instead did *NOT* do all those lovely 3d backgrounds and pans we got leading up to it any justice whatsoever).

    - All the previous sessions for the day were marked as having been sold out. There were seats left during our session, but it was the last of the day

    - Free gifts included a mono-colour Gonbe keychain (Colour varies), a small 3d picture booklet with glasses, and a Diokishisu (I have no idea what the english spelling is, so I'll stick with the Japanese) TCG card.

    - Team Rocket need more to do in these movies. While they were easily the 2nd favourite characters in the movie after Gonbe, their presence in the movie could have been cut out totally and not harmed the plot whatsoever.
    神出鬼没 - shin shutsu ki botsu

  4. #4
    ∠(>w<) #634 Argy's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    3,924
    Blog Entries
    1
    Follow Argy On Twitter
    Follow Argy on Tumblr

    Default

    Reading these summaries, I'm a bit disappointed, but then again, I don't know what I was expecting, either. It seems like a lot of fighting and running around. I guess I wish that Team Rocket would have had a bigger role (as I always do), but we can't hope for this to be like Revelation Lugia, now can we? Isn't this the first movie where the main characters don't talk to or have some kind of relationship with the legendary Pokemon the movie features? Even in Lord of the Unknown Tower, Satoshi-tachi battled Entei up-close-and-personal. Also in this movie, it sounded like there were too many minor characters (Ryuu, Yuuko, the twins, etc.). I wish they would put some more character development into the major characters before deciding to add more filler people.

    I suppose I will just have to wait until I see it (which will be, oh, maybe two years from now, and the dub at that) before I make any real judgement.

  5. #5
    黒い王様 Archaic's Avatar Webmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    13,434
    Blog Entries
    64
    Follow Archaic On Twitter

    Default

    Well, there *was* the flying around that Satoshi did with Diokishisu later in the piece, along with Toui.
    神出鬼没 - shin shutsu ki botsu

  6. #6
    Virus equals very yes Kinglerlord2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Yes actually I forgot to add that TR's role was extremely disappointing in this movie. They've got some good pokemon, make them use them for cryin' out loud.

    Well, there *was* the flying around that Satoshi did with Diokishisu later in the piece, along with Toui.
    The flying scene was so similar to movie 4 (even Toh'i looked a lot like Sam) that you could probably lay one on top of the other and it'd sync in points.
    Last edited by Kinglerlord2; 17th July 2004 at 09:10 AM.
    Don't wait for the light at the end of the tunnel.
    Go down there and light the bloody thing yourself!


    WEASLEY IS OUR KINGLER!

  7. #7
    黒い王様 Archaic's Avatar Webmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    13,434
    Blog Entries
    64
    Follow Archaic On Twitter

    Default

    Quick note before I go to bed. After going through my Diokishisu half deck, I found a card which gives the proper spelling of the kid's name. (I assume I would've found it if I'd read through the movie guide yet too. ^^;; )

    Tooi.
    神出鬼没 - shin shutsu ki botsu

  8. #8
    Protecting Gotham City Geodude's Avatar Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    7,368
    Blog Entries
    90
    Follow Geodude On Twitter
    Follow Geodude on Tumblr

    Default

    Arcy, it's much easier to spell in English... Deoxys.

    XBL: Shiny Geodude -- PSN: ShinyGeodude
    3DS: 3050 7720 3499 -- 3DS #2: 2036 8216 4990

  9. #9

    Default

    Actually, considering it is in Katakana, either Tooi or Toui will get you the pronounciation if written in Hiragana. Of course, why we don't write Tō'i (which, in one shot, shows Japanese spelling, and pronounciation) is a matter of convenience. Or we could even spell that with a diaresis like we should spell naïve and coöperation: Tōï. But that one is more likely to be misread as a diphtong like in "boy". Damned English spelling.
    Last edited by Zhen Lin; 17th July 2004 at 09:40 AM.

  10. #10
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    10,163
    Blog Entries
    25
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default

    I write it as "Toh'i" because it shows that the "o" is supposed to be long. The apostrophe is there just to make sure that the "i" is pronounced separately (as in , you don't try to pronounce it as "To-hi" or something like that).

    Tooi is a good enough romanization, but you can't always count on the official Japanese sources for name romanizations. I've seen Plusle romanized as "Prasle," yet I doubt ANY of us would call it by THAT name.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 21st, 2015


  11. #11

    Default

    Is Musashi voiced by Megumi in this movie, or is it the new seiyuu(shudders at the voice) as heard on AG 85?

  12. #12
    追放されたバカ Transfinite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Genderless
    Posts
    2,597
    Blog Entries
    27

    Default

    I like "To'oi"...

  13. #13
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    10,163
    Blog Entries
    25
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldChaos
    Is Musashi voiced by Megumi in this movie, or is it the new seiyuu(shudders at the voice) as heard on AG 85?
    I checked the credits, and it's Megumi.

    Then again, it's not like Musashi has a lot of lines here to begin with, so it wouldn't have been a complete disaster if she was voiced by a different person.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 21st, 2015


  14. #14
    ∠(>w<) #634 Argy's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    3,924
    Blog Entries
    1
    Follow Argy On Twitter
    Follow Argy on Tumblr

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldChaos
    Is Musashi voiced by Megumi in this movie, or is it the new seiyuu(shudders at the voice) as heard on AG 85?
    The replacement came? Does it even sound like her?

  15. #15

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •