REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!" - Page 2

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 53
Like Tree88Likes

Thread: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    466

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    That was a pretty solid Battle again. Great so see some training. Laughed when Froakie randomly smacked Fletchling haha. Hope those 2 turn out Bros. Those 2 are awesome. Glad they're dragging out the captures this time around and we get to see some personality and get to know the team a bit more. Fletchling is officially my fave regional bird since Taillow.

    Like I said, battle was really good. Not even mad that Pikachu got both wins. Fletchling and Ash really got caught off guard by Sleep powder. Pretty cool how Ash solved it with Pikachu. Quite a lot of strategy used here. Was great to see. Also, how good is Fletchling's move set!!

    I quite like Serena at this point. And Bonnie and Clemont were great as before. Another Solid week for XY. Keep it up!
    Last edited by Ashs Battle Coach; 14th November 2013 at 04:51 PM.

  2. #17
    Registered User VTP-Dawkins93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    South-East England
    Posts
    92
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    The battle was okay, though there were a few instances which I thought could have been done better. Ignoring the fact that a Surskit managed to throw off a Pokemon nearly four times its weight, was there any reason why Ash couldn't have had Pikachu use Thunderbolt or Electro Ball to counter Ice Beam? Heck, why not just Iron Tail it in the face instead of latching onto it? Though they evidently really wanted to show Ash overcoming the ice field, preventing it in the first place is a perfectly viable strategy, albeit one that's slightly more boring.

    That aside, that Sleep Powder and Solar Beam combo was certainly nostalgic; reminded me of the Gen 1 and Gen 2 days where I used to do the same with Venusaur and Meganium. It's a shame that Fletchling couldn't get the win in the end, but they did a good job making Viola and Vervillion look strong. I'm sure it'll get its chances to shine as the story progresses. Pikachu gets the win after Ash was inspired by Clemont's cannon exploding on everyone after he got a bit excited. Creative, I guess.

    The group dynamic seems to be coming along nicely and I'm glad, and relieved, that the writers are moving on quickly with Serena's character, for reasons similar to this:

    Quote Originally Posted by ii kanji
    But I have to admit (and I feel like this may be a frowned upon view) that I'm not really warming to Serena... she's a bit... bland?... So far the only distinguishing feature she has is her monumentally obvious crush on Satoshi and, to be perfectly honest, I give less that 0 flying fucks about a 10 year old girl's crush on a 10 year old boy. Please let her get some real direction and soon!!
    This whole thing with Ash is cute and interesting and all, and I don't have much of an issue with it, but the sooner she gets something else to define her character, the better. Thankfully, the writers were smart enough to introduce the Rhyhorn racing concept early and it seems the next episode will be expanding on that.

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    I have to admit I originally hoped that that flecthling would win and ash would get two overpowering wins against Viola, but this battle was better than that it showed strong strategy and inspired ideas, Ash and pikachu really showed they were not going to lose a second time and i Loved that. Also i hoped ash would have remembered Serena but the fatc that he did not opens up a world of opportunities for their relationship. The writers and the animation team have been doing amazingly well and I honestly think it will continue. Was it just me or did it seem like Alexa is the only character who see's the potential love interest relationship between Ash and Serena and is just waiting for it to blossom? Finally I cant help but feel that Ash is somehow older than he was in BW he seems more mature and more experienced that in previous sagas, not that I am complaining. Great episode solid character development and as always each character is becoming richer and more bold, also great...just freaking awesome episode.

  4. #19
    I'm the Blaze Master now! InfernoFlames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    On a boat to Castelia City harbor for the bacon
    Posts
    824
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Summer camp was the connection? I was hoping for something along the lines of childhood neighbours or classmates. Looking forward to a potential flashback episode on camp days.

    3DS FC: 2492-4691-1324
    I
    URPG Trainer Stats

  5. #20
    PURPLE HERMIT! Chosen of Mana's Avatar Archives Staff
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    LET'S GO
    Posts
    3,090
    Blog Entries
    62
    Follow Chosen of Mana On Twitter

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by WatcherMark View Post
    It's pretty funny that after only four episodes on the show Yayakoma already has a better moveset than Kenhallow got throughout the entirety of Best Wishes.
    To be fair, Unfezant as a species isn't known for its stellar movepool.

    I liked the little character interaction between Froakie and Fletchling at the end of the training session.
    Guy_Spy and Toa of Gallifrey like this.

    Big claimin'
    Cresselia (Pokémon)
    Colette Brunel [Tales of Symphonia] and Yuri Lowell [Tales of Vesperia] (Video game characters)

  6. #21
    Yawn.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    2,006
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Oh my gosh, I am loving this saga so much it's making me dizzy.

    Really, really enjoyed this battle. Normally I'd be a bit disappointed that Pikachu stole the whole show, but Yayakoma did pretty well, and it won where Pikachu couldn't last week, so I'm fine with that. In fact, I'm just so glad it's getting wins and screen time in its basic stage! I wished this for Mukkuru and Mamepato so much.

    The animations in the battles were such a pleasure to watch and the movements of the Pokemon around the battlefield flowed perfectly. And of course as a gym leader should, Viola still had something up her sleeve to catch Satoshi of guard even though he was now better prepared. I as impressed by both of their battling.

    Great strategies on both sides, zero complaints from me. I hope the quality keeps this way :)
    Johtohfiller likes this.

  7. #22
    MEGA F'ING AMPHAROS!!! Ampharos King's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Olivine Lighthouse
    Posts
    4,746
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    What's with Alexa's Helioptile being all chummy towards Ash in the end? That was quite unusual, considering Helioptile was nowhere near as friendly towards Ash even during the beginning of XY.

  8. #23
    Electrifyingly Adorable Sakuraa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Konohagakure
    Posts
    548

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    I thought this was a great episode.

    So it seems that Ash doesn't really remember Serena. Well I figured he wouldn't and she doesn't even appear that upset about it, so that's nice. I was hoping we'd see more of their childhood flashbacks, but it looks like we'll be getting some next week, so that should be good.

    My gosh, Clemont. Why do I love him more and more with each episode? He's so adorable, so funny, and his poses are so sexy. I just love him. And his invention worked again...before blowing up, but still. Love him. This goes double for Bonnie, falling asleep while cheering. Clemont walking her to take her to bed was soooooo cute! And even Froakie was actually almost cute here. So much cuteness.

    So now we get to the rematch. I have to say that it was really well done. I love all of the special techniques he used with Pikachu and Fletchling. My only real disappointment is that Fletchling didn't get a win here. I know it got one last week whereas Pikachu didn't, but...how many gym battles has Pikachu been in? Exactly. So I would have liked to see more from Fletchling. But it's not that big of a deal. It was a great gym battle nonetheless.

    And no Team Rocket again! Great! Lastly, Bonnie was so adorable walking at the end!

    Overall a great episode. I'm giving it 9.7/10!

  9. #24
    Face of mercy? NOPE Yato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Anywhere
    Posts
    6,663
    Blog Entries
    435

    Follow Yato on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    I like how they comnected Serena and Ash's past with a summer camp. I wonder what happened between them that made Ash so special to Serena, she couldn't forget him.

    And Serena seems pretty mature - the way she puts aside her disappointment quickly and cheers for Ash. Nice! She just left home to see Ash - and now that she met him, what will she do from now?

    BONNIE IS SO CUTE ♥♥♥

    Citron and his inventions are hilarious - and this time, it actually helped o.o

    The gym battle was pretty exciting. The battle animation is beautiful. Also, I like how they actually used the gym interior part of the reason for Viviyon (or however it is spelled) losing - idk what those things hanging from the ceiling are called (something that are used for attracting bugs irl, I think?), but Viviyon crashing into several of those frozen thingys and getting damage made sense. I did not expect that, and it was a nice surprise.

  10. #25
    Registered User Grabbergirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    122
    Blog Entries
    1

    Visit Grabbergirl's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    What's up with Clemont eating small portions? Is he trying to lose weight? Really Ash? There is a straw! Wow Viola's tough! And why is Bonnie barefooted? Nobody knows what is on the floor and Bonnie can get athlete's foot or a fungal infection. I loved how Clemont puts a sleepy Bonnie to bed, he does it in a similar fashion I've seen parents do when they escort their children to places. I bet Clemont had to brush her teeth and put her pajamas on, she seemed too tired to do all that. It was the cutest scene ever, it makes me think of the saying "No one knows you better than your mother" in this case Clemont knows Bonnie especially when he asks her if she's tired. He sounded exactly my mother, she says the same exact thing when she detects I'm tired. Clemont can be so fatherly sometimes. I think Bonnie's having a growth spurt, eating a lot and suffering fatigue. Bonnie was acting she hadn't eaten in days and Bonnie's acting she never got to sleep two nights in row when she's tired, I see signs of a growth spurt in Bonnie in this episode.
    Last edited by Grabbergirl; 28th December 2013 at 07:55 PM.

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    195

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Another great episode!

    I really enjoyed Serena's conversation with Ash at the beginning, can't wait to see a proper translation of it. The characterization is just superb in this series, everyone is showing so much personality.

    The cannon scene, hahahaha, oh man. I loved the super-detailed shininess of the cannon, it reminded me of how vehicles/mecha were drawn in 80s anime. Awesome! The whole training sequence was very cool, I hope we get more of these as the series goes on.

    Lots more great tactics in the battle! I especially liked that spinning Razor Wind Fletchling did, is it just me or was that pretty much Countershield?

    Psychic seems so overpowered in the anime, is there any way to avoid it? I imagine it having recharge time, it just seems broken otherwise.

    Pikachu jumping on Surskit was a great idea, but I guess he was getting shaken around too much to use Thunderbolt. Using his tail for stability really served him well though.

    It was very cool how Viola saved Sleep Powder for the rematch, another trick up her sleeve that Ash wouldn't be prepared for.

    My only real complaint about the battle was that the "two ranged attacks collide and explode" thing got used a lot. But the anime's been spamming that a lot since at least DP, and it's pretty much an established part of combat rules by this point, so I don't mind it too much. I guess it's like projectiles cancelling each other out in fighting games.

    I actually like Electro Ball now! At first I thought it was a poor substitute for the much cooler-looking Volt Tackle, just another projectile with not much practical difference from Thunderbolt. But now for the second time we see Ash use it as an escape tactic! I think the writers must have realized it was too samey and looked for a way to distinguish it, and they're doing a great job. I also like how the cannon training ended up being useful even though Viola didn't use Sticky Web this time.

    Ash giving credit to everyone for his victory was great, this group seems like it's going to be really close. And that photo of everyone at the end was AWESOME.
    DashingFox likes this.

  12. #27
    they/them Slimekitten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    Genderless
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Ahh, loved this episode!! Eureka is adorable!! I hope we get to see more cuteness as time goes on c:

  13. #28
    I love Ash. Ashfangirl22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,403

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    Once again, really loved the episode. I didn't think I'd love a series more than AG but I think X and Y anime almost tops it.
    I'm really loving all the characters and interactions they have together :)

    I think FYI Alexa had just become an Ash x Serena shipper HA Can't wait till more join in the animeXD

    Really loved Ash's strategies and the animation music were great during the gym battle. I really like that they know when to use Team Rocket now too, gym battles / leagues should be off limits.

    Also, love that photo shot with that Pokemon jumping on Ash's head with every one laughing and looking surprised, I'm seriously adoring the group more and more. Could never say that about BW...

    Love it! Keep up the good work.
    Ash fan. Multi Ash shipper =]

  14. #29
    We want our money back! Masato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Merica
    Posts
    239

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    I quite liked the battle since Ash was utilizing strategies to overcome obstacles in his way. It's a nice breath of change after what we got during Unova. I also quite like the way Ash and his Pokemon were interacting with each other during dinner, and it was nice seeing Froakie give Fletchling that sort of friendly smack down.

    Bonnie is adorable as always.

    I'm also curious as to the nature of Ash and Serena's interactions in the past. What interests me more though is what sort of goal Serena will develop.
    "The strongest Pokémon... Is this... the fulfillment of my dream?" --Dr. Fuji
    Brock: And I decided I want you to be my partner!
    Girl: What?!

  15. #30
    The Sworn Brothers Adyniz's Avatar Archives StaffBulbapedia Staff
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    2,412
    Blog Entries
    2
    Follow Adyniz On Twitter

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY006: "Decisive Battle on the Ice! Pikachu VS Viviyon!!"

    And the XY awesomeness continues...
    Yayakoma worked hard and its skills improved (even if a little), so I really don't care about the loss... It looked like they were caught off guard by Vivillon's Sleep Powder, that's all.

    Eureka, stop being so adorable.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •