REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!" - Page 5
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 85

Thread: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

  1. #61
    Registered User SatoshiKun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Finally got to see this. It was a pretty great episode, what with the animation and the battles. I'm not even that upset about Pikachu losing ( perhaps I'm just used to seeing him powered down). The Citron scene was pretty nice too.

    However, I did find the whole photography thing to be kind of meh. I mean, we've seen a lot of people with that hobby, so it's kind of old.

  2. #62
    Night Owl G50's Avatar Bulbanews Editor-in-Chief
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    5,832
    Trophies
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    This episode was great. Although Ash lost, the battle was really fun to watch. I like that Fletchling got a win here, even though it did get KO'd against Vivillon. The battle and move animations were really done well. I like how the episode ends on a cliffhanger with Serena asking if Ash remembers her.

    Nice to see the anime debut of Sticky Net. Fennekin sure was cute in the minor scenes that it was in.


  3. #63
    Admin Iteru's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    10,957
    Blog Entries
    87

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Gotpika View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by StaraptorZ View Post
    It shows how cheap they can be, and at least it ain't the director from BW giving cheap azz stock
    Every anime and Pokemon series pretty much uses stock footage. I'm wasting my time reiterating that.

    Stay classy, Bulbagarden~
    The fact its disguised enough for people not to notice is perfect. Big improvement.

  4. #64

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    This maybe the last time Ash crosses paths with Alexa so it was refreshing to see her being useful for a change. If not for her Ash would let the loss fester and not train at all.

    I don't know why the writers chose to have this Gym so soon. They could have explored so much before it and to have Fletchling's first battle against a Gym Leader is not ideal. The battle was a tad short. A minute more and nobody would have complained. But if the next one goes longer everybody will forget about it. Let's see if Ash will be able to counter against Gust and Sticky Web sucessfully, after all he still has the icy field and the unavoidable Psychic (in the anime) to deal with.

    Serena was great. Reveling in her new freedom to wake up when she wants and drink her tea and enjoy her morning as she wants. Let's see how long this will last with Ash's frenetic company. It was such a relatable scene when she was wondering about Ash's reaction to seeing her. I just hope Ash doesn't brush her off. And Bonnie, oh my god, that scene made me laugh when she chose Viola as Clemont's bride. And the "We'll be thinking of you" while being dragged by the Aipom Arm. LOL, that was priceless.

    All in all, a great episode, and with that cliffhanger, can't wait for the next one.

  5. #65

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Someone is going to eventually ship Clermont and Viola together as a result of Bonnie's proposal. Mark my words.

    And someone should do a Wi-fi Pokemon battle sweep with Surskit sweep, in honor of the Surskit who owned Pikachu.

  6. #66

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I was expecting the Bonnie proposal gag to be cut and paste from Brock and Misty's book, but throwing in Citron's flustered reaction was a nice touch.

    They handled Pikachu's defeat better than they did with Panpour, I feel. He managed to get in a few hits, too. Despite Surskit being in the possession of two overplayed moves, Protect was only used once, and Ice Beam was used in a creative way that gave it an edge and turned it into a threat. I also liked how Sticky Web played a factor in Fletching's defeat. I was expecting the anime to overlook it's lasting effect.

    On the other hand, I feel like Fletching's battles were too short. It's a shame too, since it seems Pikachu will take center stage in the rematch.

    Big claimin'
    Cresselia (Pokémon)
    Colette Brunel [Tales of Symphonia] and Yuri Lowell [Tales of Vesperia] (Video game characters)

  7. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    523

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Great ep. Got to watch it with subtitles so its cool to see what's actually going on.

    Thought the battle was really good. Pikachu's loss was believable, and it was really well animated. And I love that they are training and preparing strategies now. Also loves Viola's strategies, really put Ash off his guard. And Ash's choices for pokemon were good too. Big improvement on the way battles have been, even for a loss. My only complaint is how fast Fletchling took down Surskit.

    I for one don't expect Ash to remember Serena, and never thought he would. I don't feel like it'd be Ash if he did haha.

    Bonnie and Clemont were great again. That Marriage proposal lol. something tells me that may become annoying though.

    Man XY has really been great so far. And looks like the next ep will be pretty sweet as well
    Last edited by Ashs Battle Coach; 9th November 2013 at 02:13 PM.

  8. #68
    Registered User Nymphia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Waiting for XY.
    Posts
    533
    Blog Entries
    60

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    About the stock footage from earlier:

    I can prove that Pikachu's Quick Attack and Electro Ball has been used before I think that the 1st Peck is stocked. I'm sure that the first attack of Ash has been stocked. Viola command has stocked three times through the battle.

    The difference with BW is thsat the stocked animation is not constant in the episodes and there are scenes with little stock animations in the climax of the battles. And that really hampers the strategies that can be used. And in the end, hurt the league.

    However, Ash vs Viola 1 is only 6-7 minutes, no more. I can pass it because there's a second battle and because the epsiode is very important regardless of the battle, but the rematch shouldn't last 7 minutes like this episode has done.

    And one thing. The flaws of Best Wishes weren't noticeable in the first Gym Battle. IN the second, they start to get notice. People doesn't believed that Best Wishes has problems until Ash vs Elesa.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GO, GO, GO, <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

    I want to start with XY as soon as is possible.

    I have unpopular opinions: I prefer an older character returning but it isn't from the original trio. I was one of the few who liked both DP and BW. And I think that TR shouldn't leave in the anime.

  9. #69
    THE Queen Paperhorse's Avatar Forum Head
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,332
    Blog Entries
    18

    Follow Paperhorse on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Loved the episode!

    The battle was fun and quick paced, I really enjoyed watching it. I'm glad Ash lost because now we can see him training for the rematch. I enjoy those episodes where he spends quality time with his team and trying to improve their battle skills.

    I am happy to see Alexa again, I think she is a great character! It was cute when Helioptile tackled Ash.

    Serena was really sweet this episode. I liked her to begin with, but I like her even better now. It's endearing that she has fond memories of Ash and hopes that he recognizes her.

    And I just adore Bonnie. I'm definitely going to enjoy this running gag with her (as long as it's not overdone).

  10. #70

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    One thing I love about this episode is how Pansy tells Viola that Ash is a great trainer and was just unprepared for this gym battle. Also liked how Viola's facial expression changed to a somewhat worried one afterwards. Seeing Ash care for his Pokemon deeply and reflecting on his loss afterwards also was nice since we hadn't seen such a moment for a long time. Hopefully we'll get to see more of those scenes again in the future.

    The battle itself was great, and its nice to see Ash being a competent battler again. I don't mind at all that Ash lost this battle.

    The scene where Clemont pulls Bonnie away with the Aipom arm was also funny. I also liked how Bonnie spoke in French.

    Over all, it is an enjoyable episode.
    "The strongest Pokémon... Is this... the fulfillment of my dream?" --Dr. Fuji
    Brock: And I decided I want you to be my partner!
    Girl: What?!

  11. #71

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Masato View Post
    One thing I love about this episode is how Pansy tells Viola that Ash is a great trainer and was just unprepared for this gym battle. Also liked how Viola's facial expression changed to a somewhat worried one afterwards. Seeing Ash care for his Pokemon deeply and reflecting on his loss afterwards also was nice since we hadn't seen such a moment for a long time. Hopefully we'll get to see more of those scenes again in the future.
    She never said any such things. The only available "translations" for the episode are grossly mistranslated.
    So.

  12. #72

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Adamant View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Masato View Post
    One thing I love about this episode is how Pansy tells Viola that Ash is a great trainer and was just unprepared for this gym battle. Also liked how Viola's facial expression changed to a somewhat worried one afterwards. Seeing Ash care for his Pokemon deeply and reflecting on his loss afterwards also was nice since we hadn't seen such a moment for a long time. Hopefully we'll get to see more of those scenes again in the future.
    She never said any such things. The only available "translations" for the episode are grossly mistranslated.

    while she didn't say ash was unprepared (that i recall) she did say viola might be surprised next time (which is what i think made her look worried). i translated this much on the first page, i am not sure if that's what you meant by a gross mistranslation (i assume you mean the subtitled versions going around which are actually are not being done very well) but that much i can say for sure, what worried viola was alexa saying she may be surprised.

  13. #73

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by sunyshore View Post
    while she didn't say ash was unprepared (that i recall) she did say viola might be surprised next time (which is what i think made her look worried). i translated this much on the first page, i am not sure if that's what you meant by a gross mistranslation (i assume you mean the subtitled versions going around which are actually are not being done very well) but that much i can say for sure, what worried viola was alexa saying she may be surprised.
    No no, the "she said viola might be surprised next time" is correct, of course (come on, you know that I have a lot of respect for you and know that you know what you're doing). It's the other stuff in those subs that's wrong.

    The subtitles that float around "translate" Pansy's
    あら 油断は禁物。 今度 対戦するときは たぶん あなたも びっくりするわよ。 サトシ君は そういう子よ。
    as
    I think he was unprepared. You might be surprised this next time. I'm going to check on Satoshi-kun.
    which is where this entire "Ash was overconfident and unprepared, that's why he lost" thing comes from.

    (and the fact that Satoshi's later "強いよ ビオラさんは" is "translated" as "I hadn't expected Viola-san to be so strong." doesn't really help matters, either)

    I'd say the translation is almost comically bad, but it's really more sad and frustrating than anything.
    Last edited by Adamant; 10th November 2013 at 09:33 AM.
    So.

  14. #74
    Join the toad side! Emperor Palpitoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    The Toad Star
    Posts
    1,541
    Blog Entries
    61

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by sunyshore View Post
    but viola said "his battling is so-so".
    Did she watch Ashs league battle against Paul?
    JOIN THE TOAD SIDE
    AND MAY THE BLUE FORCE BE WITH YOU
    AND I AM NOT YOUR FATHER!

  15. #75
    Mrs. Steven Stone Kyriaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Hoenn
    Posts
    7,782
    Blog Entries
    426

    Follow Kyriaki on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Adamant View Post

    No no, the "she said viola might be surprised next time" is correct, of course (come on, you know that I have a lot of respect for you and know that you know what you're doing). It's the other stuff in those subs that's wrong.

    The subtitles that float around "translate" Pansy's
    あら 油断は禁物。 今度 対戦するときは たぶん あなたも びっくりするわよ。 サトシ君は そういう子よ。
    as
    I think he was unprepared. You might be surprised this next time. I'm going to check on Satoshi-kun.
    which is where this entire "Ash was overconfident and unprepared, that's why he lost" thing comes from.

    (and the fact that Satoshi's later "強いよ ビオラさんは" is "translated" as "I hadn't expected Viola-san to be so strong." doesn't really help matters, either)

    I'd say the translation is almost comically bad, but it's really more sad and frustrating than anything.
    O.o so there really is nothing said about Ash being "unexpected" or "unprepared" in the original text. Kinda sad about the translations

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •