REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!" - Page 4
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 85

Thread: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

  1. #46

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    ^fireflight , Nope, I'm okay with that. He needs to be aware of what's happening.

  2. #47

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Thanks for backing up my point StaraptorZ

  3. #48

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    If only ash remembers Serena I will have hope for their relationship, but I think he will remember, even if it takes some time.
    Last edited by fireflight775; 8th November 2013 at 10:57 AM.

  4. #49

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    It's so like Satoshi to not recognize Serena hahahaha. I loved the episode, the gym battle was pretty good, I like how they're going back to slightly more complex strategies like in DP, the straight-foward battling style of BW sucked. And I'm also glad they didn't have TR interrupting the gym battle. As much as I love them, their scenes during gym battles weren't always amusing, and they only made the episode more of a chore to watch. And yay for Satoshi training his Pokémon! I hope the writers keep this up, this series is starting to look pretty good :)

  5. #50

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    First off, dat Solar Beam. That was just beautiful. Liked the battle.

    Second, I'm slightly upset that Ash doesn't recognize Serena at all. Especially since she can recognize him right off the bat. Like it wouldn't be to bad if he even said something like, "hey, you look a little familiar, do I know you?" But they're supposed to be childhood friends? Ah whatever, we'll get the gritty details next episode.
    "Smiles and laughter are always good, but never forget your Poker Face."

  6. #51
    Purgatorio WindBlast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    4th sphere of heaven
    Posts
    813
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I miss Serena!!!! As soon as I have time I'll watch this episode again!!! As it was PERFECT!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoMiniTails View Post
    Windblast, you totally made me wanna see it which I will as soon as I can find it. :)
    Hearing that I make people want to watch pokemon even more makes me feel so happy. I'm so blessed that I help spreading pokemon-ness!! :P
    Proud claimer of the Snow Dragon Kyurem. 24/01/2014

  7. #52
    ポケモン Tsutarja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,407
    Blog Entries
    566

    Follow Tsutarja on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    A really good episode.

    Serena scenes were really neat and I'm liking her relationship with Fennekin, and especially how excited she was about meeting Ash. Bonnie's gag is FINALLY introduced and boy does it deliver, it was really funny to me. I just hope it's not overused. ^^

    As for Ash's battle with Viola - I really liked it for what it was. No stock footage, dynamic camera movement and Fletchling got to shine. I can understand Pikachu's loss and no, I don't think he was reset. I doubt Ash could have seen the ice field trick coming. He was caught off guard and so was Pikachu. It doesn't matter how strong Pikachu is, as you guys say, if he's caught unprepared. And all the power in the world can't help you if you can't hit your opponent directly. I'm sure Pikachu would have won if he was able to use his electric moves on Surskit directly.

    But I'm happy that Viola was set up as a strategic gym leader, makes me hopeful about the later gyms, if this is the first gym challenge.

    And I liked how Alexa sorta defended Ash when Viola said Ash and Pikachu didn't do so good. Alexa is right, Ash and Pikachu didn't really prepare themselves for this gym nor did they do much training. Next time, it's going to be their win, and quite frankly, I can't wait for the rematch!

  8. #53
    Not A Piece of Cake Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    4,568
    Blog Entries
    186

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsutarja View Post
    No stock footage, dynamic camera movement and Fletchling got to shine.
    There were several pieces of stock footage actually, Ash's command post for Pikachu and its Quick Attack for example, Thunderbolt, etc.

  9. #54
    ポケモン Tsutarja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,407
    Blog Entries
    566

    Follow Tsutarja on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Gotpika View Post
    There were several pieces of stock footage actually, Ash's command post for Pikachu and its Quick Attack for example, Thunderbolt, etc.
    Oh. Well, let me rephrase it, no stock footage with the annoying blue background.

    It's much easier to enjoy a battle without those, they make it easier to notice it's stock footage and it kinda ruins my enjoyment.

  10. #55

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    It shows how cheap they can be, and at least it ain't the director from BW giving cheap azz stock

  11. #56
    Not A Piece of Cake Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Kalos
    Posts
    4,568
    Blog Entries
    186

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by StaraptorZ View Post
    It shows how cheap they can be, and at least it ain't the director from BW giving cheap azz stock
    Every anime and Pokemon series pretty much uses stock footage. I'm wasting my time reiterating that.
    Last edited by Bubble Frog; 9th November 2013 at 12:35 PM. Reason: I made a mistake

  12. #57
    ポケモン Tsutarja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,407
    Blog Entries
    566

    Follow Tsutarja on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Gotpika View Post
    Every anime and Pokemon series pretty much uses stock footage. I'm wasting my time reiterating that.

    Stay classy, Bulbagarden~
    That's true, though I prefer when it's less noticeable.

  13. #58
    ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) Kairyu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    herpderp
    Posts
    1,142

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Gotpika View Post
    Cons about the episode? Well I can’t pretend there weren't any. As enjoyable as Viola and her strategic methods were the battle suffered from being too short. I expected they would at least spend half the episode on it, but they didn’t and it really went by too quickly.
    I agree wholeheartedly. Battles this short... there's just no time to build up any kind of intensity and excitement, and as a result, I really cannot enjoy them fully. I hope the increased quality of the battle animation won't come at the cost of the battles' length...

  14. #59

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I have to agree short battles can be alittle lackluster but this one was quite acceptable because it showed Ash's overconfidence, and the fact that he was out stratagized in so many ways but that makes him try harder for future battles and I look forward to that.

  15. #60
    Registered User NeoMiniTails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    967
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I found the battle to be quality over quantity. I don't think it needed to be long at all... it didn't feel summarized or rushed as most tended to be in BW. I would prefer the official win to be more dramatic and climaxed out, but to demand that on an episode more about Ash and Serena's meeting, Ash's mental development of needing to improve, this was perfect.
    Can you hear me?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •