REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!" - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 85

Thread: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Viviyon's Dance Battle!!"

  1. #16

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Ughh!! That cliffhanger at the end. I hope the next episode will be even better!

  2. #17
    Purgatorio WindBlast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    4th sphere of heaven
    Posts
    813
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    You know it is an amazing episode of pokemon when:

    1- It starts by Serena sipping tea,
    2- It has Serena running passionately to find Satoshi,
    3-It has Serena fangirling upon finding Satoshi,
    4-It has Serena picking up Satoshi's back bag to take it to him,
    5-It has Serena trying to remind Satoshi of her seconds prior to the end of the episode...

    You even know that this episode is more amazing when:

    1- It has EUREKA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    2-Random Marriage proposals that crack me up,
    3-Dedenne :3 :3 :3 :3 Kawaiiiiiii *________*
    4-Yayakoma rocking the gym,
    5-Viola being an amazing and respectable gym leader,
    6-Satoshi gets emotional!!! :P

    In deed, I have not been amazed by a pokemon episode for a long time. I felt as I did when I first starter watching pokemon in 1998!!!

    Pokemon-daiskiiiiii

    Edit:

    And Bibiyon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Proud claimer of the Snow Dragon Kyurem. 24/01/2014

  3. #18
    Registered User NeoMiniTails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    968
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Windblast, you totally made me wanna see it which I will as soon as I can find it. :) I always do. I've seen the pictures, and that, itself, excites me. I love Serena... haha, without doing much, she is becoming my favorite female companion... actually, this group is looking to be the most interesting.

    I would find it interesting if Clemont takes an interest in Serena despite her liking Ash and his sister wanting him with an older woman. lol.
    Can you hear me?

  4. #19

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    dat cliffhanger incredibly heteronormative shoujo anime ending

    is this still pokemon

    serena was still really cute though

    and omg eureka is still hilarious and citron is still a dork

    the battle's animation was stunning, omg *_*


    the same i've always been:
    mafia win/lose tally . vocal covers . ffn.net
    . ao3 . tumblr

  5. #20
    Registered User VTP-Dawkins93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    South-East England
    Posts
    111
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    That wasn't bad, for a first gym battle. Ash lost, but that's not entirely unexpected given his tendency to charge into these battles unprepared. I thought Pikachu went down a little easy, but I find that preferable to it somehow pulling out a win despite having its movement sealed and it gave Fletchling a chance to be in the spotlight for a while.

    I've seen a couple of people say that Ash had regressed a bit skill-wise for this battle, but I can't really consider not coming up with a counter to turn the battle round regression since he's using new Pokemon. At the very least, there was a logic to his choices of Pokemon; Surskit is part water type, so he used Pikachu. The field was covered with ice, so he used Fletchling instead of Froakie. What's more encouraging is that focus has returned to preparation against a particular strategy. I didn't think much of it back in AG and DP, but man did I miss it when it mysteriously disappeared during BW.

    As for Serena, well, can't help but think she's in for some disappointment soon. Something's telling me though that Ash will surprise us all and remember her, at least in some capacity.

  6. #21
    MEGA F'ING AMPHAROS!!! Ampharos King's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Olivine Lighthouse
    Posts
    5,248
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Looks like the animators changed Signal Beam to resemble its Gen V game appearance.

  7. #22

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Can we all agree Serena is so relatable when it come to crushes of our own?

  8. #23
    Only 70 new Pokemon? Hoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,133
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    This battle sucked.

    It was too short and ash was just murdered by viola. He never even stood a chance. If paul hasn't already killed himself from the events of unova his mortality rate for kalos has just shot up.

  9. #24

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Huh....how did Serena even know Ash was in the gym?

    You guys don't think she's gonna end up being like....



    ....Nah...

    Anyway, the episode was pretty good. An understandable loss for Ash, if you ask me. Viola used really good strategies. Looks like Clemont and Bonnie are gonna be the comedy duo of this group. Good thing, because the physical humor of Best Wishes (Ash getting knocked into a pool by Bianca) never really worked.

  10. #25
    Registered User NeoMiniTails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    968
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Haha... if Serena ended up being a yandere like Gasai Yuno... creepy! Best season ever... if that'd happen! lol...She probably knew because of the professor's information about him just starting to collect badges.
    Can you hear me?

  11. #26

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Well even Paul almost lost to Roark in his first Sinnoh gym battle, the only reason he did not was he would not accept a loss from his pokemon Ash has no problem with that if they give their best.

  12. #27

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I must be one of the few people that found Ash's defeat to be reasonable. Viola had some clever strategy, we all know Pikachu's greatest power is his speed, so covering the field on ice and taking it away from him is actually very smart, remember Surskit, being a skater, doesn't play by the same rules. And using the previously shot webs to trap Fletchling was a move that caught me off-guard.
    We all know Pikachu is never going to enter a new region as an invincible killing machine, so I think we all should stop expecting it already. His defeat wasn't even a bad one, he was taken out with smarts. And, I for one, approve of Ash creating counter-strategies, so let's go with it.
    Another good point was the fact Team Rocket didn't made a pointless appearence during an important event. Ash's struggle with the Viola problem wouldn't have the same effect if they had interrupted today. It was my one my biggest criticisms towards them and it seems the writers finally learned when they should write them in an episode or not. A score for them, this way they will not harm important events and will not go stale too soon.
    As for now, I wait for next week to see more of Serena, who was left hanging.

  13. #28
    Because I like Tophats Tophat Dragoneye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Scandinavia
    Posts
    842
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    I think I spotted something that will be censored when translated and it hasn't appeared since the episode with Lorelei/Prima. Hint: Look at the scene when Ash's and Viola's battle is about to begin, more precisely at the shot with Clemont, Bonnie and Alexa.

    Anyway, it was a good episode and I found the battle between Ash and Viola to be good, even though he lost. He was obviously taken by surprise by the strategy used by Viola with both Ice Beam on the field and the Sticky Web. No doubt she used that last move so it could be used later in Vivilion's and Fletchling's battle, which decided the outcome of the battle. If I'm going to compare this gym battle with the other, first gym battles Ash had in each region in the past, then I would say that Viola has the greatest strategic mindset above the others. She was pretty much in control of the battle in its full duration, the exception being Surskit vs Fletchling. She'll be a tough nut to crack for Ash in the next episode, even with the training. That much I'm certain about.

    Bonnie is basically anti-Max in this series (I can imagine his headache if they ever meet XD) and I found everyone's reaction to be funny. Serena finally joins the group at last, after 5 record-breaking episodes. All I'm gonna say is that some shippers might need a defibrillator after watching this episode.
    Revolutionaryverse


    Many thanks to Blue Dragon for the signature

    ONE-shot: Forced into Retirement

  14. #29
    Double Dandy Sakuraa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Konohagakure
    Posts
    859
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Really liked this episode.

    Why is it that with each episode I love Clemont and Bonnie more and more? Clemont is so adorable with his slow running and falling on the ground. And Bonnie asking Viola to marry Clemont and speaking French. So cute!

    And Serena. Finally she meets up with these guys! I didn't expect her to be so nervous around Ash, though. I wonder if he'll remember her. I doubt it, but we'll have to wait and see.

    Now for the battle. I thought it was good. I would have hoped to see Pikachu do more against Surskit before going down, but he put up an okay fight nonetheless. It was also great to see Fletchling get a win.

    Also, I'm SOOOOOO glad that Team Rocket didn't show up!

    Can't wait for the rematch next week and Ash's answer for Serena. Great episode overall 9/10.

  15. #30

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY005: "The Hakudan Gym Battle! The Magnificent Bibiyon's Dance Battle!!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Hellwarden View Post
    Huh....how did Serena even know Ash was in the gym?
    In XY003, Professor Sycamore tells her that Ash left to challenge the Santalune City Gym, I think.

    Anyway, pretty good episode. 8/10
    Nice that Serena finally caught up with Ash.
    Bonnie's gag of finding a wife for Clemont was pretty funny.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •