REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!" - Page 4

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 77
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

  1. #46
    Christmas Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Unova
    Posts
    4,508
    Blog Entries
    185

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe View Post
    Because it's a small way in which Ash's past travels and encounters can be referenced. He's experienced and has seen the vast majority of Pokemon from previous regions, and I think identifying wild Pokemon is an easy way of showing that.

    I'd also think knowing what most of the Pokemon are would be a good step in trying to be a master of the things.

    He could scan them for the viewer's benefit, but at least have him recognise and comment on them first.
    He has done that before. "AHA! BUOYSEL, HEGAINI!" is what he shouted happily before scanning.
    Last edited by Bubble Frog; 25th October 2013 at 01:33 PM.

  2. #47
    Registered User Adamant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,896

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe View Post
    He could scan them for the viewer's benefit, but at least have him recognise and comment on them first.
    ...but he almost always did that.
    Bubble Frog and Yato like this.
    So.

  3. #48
    ポケモン Tsutarja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,346
    Blog Entries
    564

    Follow Tsutarja on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Man, Froakie is sooo much better than Ash's Oshawott. It cares so much about others, I mean, it wanted to get payback on that Fletchling merely because it made Bonnie cry. It wasn't like Oshawott's selfish desire to look great despite being a big coward, he was given a personal reason. The best of all was that Ash actually understood Froakie, something Froakie's previous owners couldn't. God, this makes Ash look so experienced. Like, look at this, none of the previous trainers could handle Froakie, but Ash can. He has experience and the will to train Froakie, he's like the perfect trainer for him.

    The episode itself was quite nice. We're introduced to this adorable Dedenne that will be caught in episode four (continuity/foreshadowing), the scene when Clemont uses his machine to attract the bird Pokémon but instead summons crazy-ass Beedrill is so funny. I normally detest such scenes but I approve of this one because of the way it came to this and because it was funny. Froakie keeps being really cool, Ash continues to use his brain and James catches another Pokémon through food. Yay!

    I only wish Fletchling showed more personality. It did show some, but I wish there was more. Oh well.

    Oh, and I gotta add this - did anyone notice how much better this show looks without the fucking stock footage? Like, the battles look ten times better than before and I'm actually able to enjoy them more than I ever did before. Froakie doesn't just get a stock Water Pulse footage, but uses the attack from different angles with actual background behind it. It's not like that stock footage of Oshawott using Water Gun which is repeated hundreds of times throughout the series.

    I just hope they keep up with this because the battles look so much better.

    And yeah, Serena gets to pick her starter - I wonder who will it be. :P
    Johtohfiller, Yato and sunyshore like this.

  4. #49
    Because I like Tophats Tophat Dragoneye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Scandinavia
    Posts
    798
    Blog Entries
    50

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Fletchling's debut reminds me a bit of the same episode of where Ash's Tailow debuted. It also showed a bit of the same attitude as the said Pokémon.

    Anyway, I enjoyed the episode for all the reasons everyone already have said.
    Revolutionaryverse


    Many thanks to Blue Dragon for the signature

    ONE-shot: Forced into Retirement

  5. #50
    Registered User Divine Synner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Gender
    Transgender
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    37
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Just about to watch the episode, been looking forward to this!

    The opening credits are really good this season, I hope some of the scenes actually happen, like Bonnie playing with a Chespin, they looks so cute together! With Clemont getting a Chespin it seems by the credits, I doubt he will be the Gym Leader, though you never know. It seems like maybe his parent or a relative will be the Gym Leader or something the way he looked to the Tower and said "I'll try my best" I just can't see him being the Gym Leader, mainly because I can't see Bonnie keeping the secret.

    I am loving how Bonnie refers to herself in the third person, its adorable!

    ;-; Dedenne just wanted the berry! He worked so hard for it too and that Fletchling just stole it from him! I swear, I have nearly cried so many times the past three episodes, it's ridiculous.

    Inkay was the obvious Rocket team member, but I still love that they got Wobba back, he is the best at comic relief. Though, Clemont's inventions could get really really funny as long as they don't get repetitive. If they keep up the gag of the gadgets causing bad things instead of fixing a situation I hope it's in varying ways.

    The battle was a lot better than I expected, and has got me excited for future battles that may happen with stronger Pokemon.

    Professor Sycamore is seriously hot...by far the best Professor in the series. :3

    Next episode we have the return of Dedenne and Serena picks her starter! Should be pretty good episode. I hope Dedenne got a berry! D:
    Yato and Foxeaf like this.

  6. #51
    Will Rip Titles 4 Money speedingbulletbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    352
    Blog Entries
    5
    Follow speedingbulletbill On Twitter Add speedingbulletbill on Facebook Add speedingbulletbill on Google+ Add speedingbulletbill on MySpace
    Add speedingbulletbill on Linkedin Follow speedingbulletbill on Tumblr Follow speedingbulletbill on Flickr Visit speedingbulletbill's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    abixjrt.jpg
    LMAO the sandwiches in this episode look JUST LIKE the ones 4Kids used to make!

  7. #52
    Registered User Meowstic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by fierydestroyerbowser View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ABIxJRt.jpg 
Views:	432 
Size:	91.9 KB 
ID:	91165
    LMAO the sandwiches in this episode look JUST LIKE the ones 4Kids used to make!
    I wonder if 4Kids would still edit this if they were still managing the dub.

  8. #53
    Registered User Adamant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,896

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Knightlite View Post
    I doubt he will be the Gym Leader
    He will. The official profile on the anime's cast page refers to him as such.
    So.

  9. #54
    remember me jda95's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Castelia City
    Posts
    2,211
    Blog Entries
    24

    Follow jda95 on Tumblr

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    -The new Pokedex voice is absolutely terrible... It actually hurt my ears, I hope it isn't quite as irritating next time...
    -oh MY GoD CITRON IS SUCH A DORK i'mmmm
    -It really is great to see Satoshi using strategy again! It's like its directed straight at the fans who have been complaining about his BW battles, a huge improvement. :D
    -The stuff with the Rockets and Maaiika was surprisingly funny - Maaiika looks like its got more than enough personality to fit them.
    -The battle between Keromatsu and Yayakoma was surprisingly well choreographed - using a setting like that isn't something we often see in the TV series.

    All in all a pretty good episode considering it was just a beginning of the series catch episode. We've got a pretty good feel for the series now and I'm loving what we've got so far. Looking forward to next week.
    HumanDawn and G50 like this.

  10. #55
    Registered User Darth Darkrai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    966
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    I HATE the New Voice of the PokeDex, it's another Girl. BUT OH MY GOD IT SOUNDED AWFUL, IT IS GOING TO BE WEIRD TO HAVE TO LISTEN TO FOR THE NEXT 90-100 Episodes or so.

    Ash's Fletchling is REALLY Smart I Think, and Ash's Froakie is just SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD.

  11. #56
    . Ishida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Nah
    Posts
    891
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    I really like the main cast so far Bonnie and Clemont are better than I thought they would be. Based on what I have seen from Ash's Froakie so far I can say that his potential Greninja is going to be awesome.

  12. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    469

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Loved it. Fletchling is already more entertaining than Pidove or Starly. Hopefully it keeps its personality. Got a good base move set too. One long range, one short range, and an evasive move. Great start and something to build on. When that inevitable fire move pops up its going to be awesome (Flame charge hopefully).

    Froakie continues to be awesome. Ash continues to use strategy. Bonnie and Clyde are very entertaining. Dedenne was ok and looks like it might take on the cutsie role of the group, which is great.

    Really haven't seen enough of Serena yet. Be interesting to see how she interacts with the group. And I'm curious to see how she know's Ash.

    Indifferent about TR at this point. Don't really care about them yet. Inkay seemed fun though

  13. #58
    Registered User Divine Synner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Gender
    Transgender
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    37
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Adamant View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Knightlite View Post
    I doubt he will be the Gym Leader
    He will. The official profile on the anime's cast page refers to him as such.
    That kinda seriously annoys me just because of how the character is now, he is using a Bunnelby...
    Yes, Ash has traveled with Gym Leaders before, but it was usually after the battle or close to it. Ash won't be battling Clemont until half the season is over.

    I know this is getting in the realm of fantasy wrestling, but I think it would have been interesting if Ash challenged Clemont to a battle right off and lost, then Clemont asks to join him on his journey to watch Ash grow. So during the series Clemont is always the stronger trainer, but Ash continues to get stronger. Then as the two connect as friends they have the epic rematch.

    I just have a feeling when they reveal Clemont to be the Gym Leader of Lumiose City it will really be anti-climactic. Part of me still thinks you will see Trevor be the Gym Leader over Clemont for several reasons. The first is Trevor also lives in Lumiose City, Trevor has a Pikachu in the game, and Trevor is about Clemont's age.

    Was Iris revealed to be the Gym Leader in BW? I didn't watch a lot of the episodes of that.

  14. #59
    Registered User Adamant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,896

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Quote Originally Posted by Knightlite View Post
    Was Iris revealed to be the Gym Leader in BW? I didn't watch a lot of the episodes of that.
    No, Shaga was the leader of that gym.
    So.

  15. #60
    Precision F Bomb Eternal Shadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Vigrid, City of Deja Vu~
    Posts
    425
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY003 - "Keromatsu VS Yayakoma! Aerial Battle Maneuvers!"

    Great episode!

    So DP Satoshi is back? Yes! I love how he wanted to use strategy.

    Serena is so accurate to a stereotypical teenage girl. The hat picking was pretty funny. I have a feeling her 'goal' will be Saihorn racing. I bet it'll be her second or third Pokemon. After the obvious Fokko, and I definitely see her getting Furabebe or Eevui-> Nymphia. To promote Fairy, and both suit her girly nature. Speaking of Fokko, who sharted themselves laughing with its huge eyes XD

    Overall, great episode.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •