REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 132
Like Tree132Likes

Thread: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

  1. #1
    You Are (Not) Fine Winterdaze's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,567
    Blog Entries
    28

    Follow Winterdaze on Tumblr

    Default REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    XY001: "We've Arrived in the Kalos Region! The Beginning of Dreams and Adventures!!"
    XY002: "Mega Evolution and the Prism Tower!"

    Ash arrives in Lumiose City to begin a new journey in the Kalos region, and meets Clemont and his sister Bonnie. A battle between Ash and Clemont is cut short when Team Rocket interfere, until a mysterious Froakie intervenes.

    Weak from its battle with Team Rocket, Ash finds care for Froakie at Professor Sycamore's lab, where the Professor is researching Mega Evolution. But Team Rocket's mischief causes a Garchomp test subject to go berserk.
    Darth Darkrai likes this.

  2. #2
    Moe
    Moe is offline
    Registered User Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    949
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Absolutely awesome. Every complaint I had about Ash's character in BW, totally wiped away in an hour. Ash was confident, powerful and using every bit of experience in battle.

    Froakie seems made for Ash and thankfully avoids the 'abused starter' that the promos had me worried about, instead it's got exactly the personality Ash has, reckless in fighting for the right outcome. Hope it evolves all the way.

    Taking the fight up to Team Rocket is exactly what I've always wanted as well - he looked in this episode like he simply wasn't going to take it anymore. Finally.

    Serena seems like she has a good personality, so I'm looking forward to how that turns out. Plus, only a few days to wait for the dub to fill in some of the storyline stuff I might have missed.

    Best opening to a series ever.

  3. #3
    Registered User Lukah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Froakie just caught Ash. And is about to catch Fletchling.
    YamiiDenryuu likes this.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    with episode 2 having a short run time i hope they dub the oak livecaster for the dub for the episode.. that would be a nice gift to us.. (not betting on it)

    and it looks like that -VS- Screen is gonna get used for battles in the show now like the Orgins special had.. Nice..

  5. #5
    Registered User Darth Darkrai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    965
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Alright, this is My First Time on the Forums to Review a Series/Saga Premiere of the Pokemon Anime Series so I am Excited.

    I ONLY Got to see the First Episode and not the Second so this Review will be for XY Episode 1.

    Ash was Great in this being Funny in the Beginning by. Ring Disappointed by No Gym Battle and getting Shocked at the Tower or as I Like to Call it The Ifal Tower Rip-Off even though this is Based on France.

    Clemons and Bonnie were Interesting to Me. Clemont Throwing the Backpack was BadAss to Me and a Good Battler with Bunnelby. Bonnie was Funny and VERY Cute I Think and was Funny. I LOL'd SOOOOOOOO HARD when she Got Shocked by Pikachu LOL to that Scene.

    Alexa was Good in Her Departure I Think and I shall Miss Her.

    Team Rocket was Great as Ever and now that Wobbuffet has Returned things will go Great for Team Rocket. They were Good and Wobbuffet Battling was Great.

    The Froakie is Soooooooo Cute and is Good at Battling and Causing Team Rocket to Slow Down LOL. Hopefully he will Recover because he was in Need of Desperate Help from the Damage He Took.

    My Favorite part was Serena. I have been Looking forward for her Appearing and even though this was a Cameo it was Good. Serena being Pissed Off by the Flecthling= FTW. The Ryhorn's Reaction the the Scream was Priceless.

    I give the First Episode a 10/10 because I Usually give the Start of a New Saga a Good Rating because they are Usually Good. Once I see Part 2 I will give My Rating for it as Well Ok Everybody . It REALLY WAS GREAT that I Reviewed the Start of a New Saga and Region.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    469

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    I think this is my favorite start of a new Pokemon series. Satoshi was in-character, including the whole doing-anything-to-save-Pokemon, TR was also in-character, Citron and Yurika don't seem to be that boring (plus I can only vaguely hear Eren in Yuki Kaji's voice acting, he's pretty good!), no abused fire starter, Serena is super adorable, and Keromatsu recognized TR. Isn't that the first time since TR cheered for Satoshi?

    Bashaamo did feel rather random, though. I hope we'll see more of that trainer in future episodes.
    つまらないものはさっさと消去。

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Uncertain
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    I had high expectations for this episode, and I am very satisfied. Loved it, absolutely loved it. The intros were great, the battle was fantastic to start off the series. Well animated, strategy was used, both sides looked competent. Froakie was god damn fantastic. Wicked personality, suits Ash so well. If Froakie doesn't evolve I would be very surprised. Ahhh, faith in the series restored. Keep it up guys!

    I think that might be one of the best intro's into a series we've had. Up there with OS and DP Intro's I reckon. Can't wait till next weeks ep
    Trainer Gabriel likes this.

  8. #8
    G50
    G50 is online now
    Night Owl G50's Avatar Bulbanews Deputy Editor-in-Chief
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    4,787
    Trophies
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    It was nice how it started with Fletchling flying around and into Serena's room to peck and wake her up, similar to how the games start. The battle between Ash and Clemont was enjoyable, his Bunnelby is really strong and cute. Serena's reaction to Fletchling was priceless and was funny when she was having trouble with Rhyhorn.

    Glad to see Ash catch Froakie in the 2nd episode after everything that happened. It was nice to see Froakie completely recognizing Team Rocket in their disguise, something Ash and company rarely do. Ash's reactions to not being able to go to the Gym, and then getting shocked and thrown out of the Prism Tower were priceless. Bonnie sure does think all of the Pokemon are cute so far.
    Darth Darkrai likes this.


  9. #9
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    9,835
    Blog Entries
    24
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    I loved this two-parter. Satoshi's competent again - I loved how he tricked Citron into having his Horubby use its ears to block Pikachu's Iron Tail attack, making it unable to use them anymore - though I will say that his over-enthusiasm about seeing all these new pokemon in the beginning started to get a bit grating toward the end. Citron was pretty funny with the whole "having to carry everyone's backpacks" thing, and Eureka actually managed to be cute without ever seeping into "annoying little kid" territory. And the Rocket trio! They were in-character, they kicked ass, they were integral to the plots of both episodes...please keep it up, writers!!

    The only thing I didn't *really* like were some of the music choices. I wish there had been less music from the Keldeo movie and more original XY stuff.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 14th, 2014

    | My DVD Collection | My Video Game Collection |
    These lists were last updated on January 3rd, 2012

  10. #10
    Call me Robert guys 1rkhachatryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    805
    Blog Entries
    2
    Follow 1rkhachatryan On Twitter Add 1rkhachatryan on Facebook Add 1rkhachatryan on Google+
    Visit 1rkhachatryan's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Do we have any idea when the lock 8s ending?? I really wanna see all the info on the main site :).

    Anyways, so happy that Ash captured Froakie finally and even happier that he is getting Fletchling the nedt episode ^_^!!!

  11. #11
    I am sneaking at you! Spypitoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Spying on YOU!
    Posts
    1,359
    Blog Entries
    48

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    What about Mega Blaziken then? What did he do?
    I know all your secrets!

    BECAUSE I AM THE SPYPITOAD!

  12. #12
    Registered User Darth Darkrai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    965
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Palpitoad View Post
    What about Mega Blaziken then? What did he do?
    He Saved Ash and Pikachu from Falling off the Ifal Tower Rip Off/ Prism Tower
    Spypitoad likes this.

  13. #13
    Jez
    Jez is offline
    Registered User Jez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    In my eyes, this new saga seems very promising and a lot better than BW! I loved the second episode and Serena is just incredibly beautiful!! I already love this character.

    The team rocket was perfectly in-characters.

    I reconcile myself with the anime ;)
    Darth Darkrai, 8ther and TeddiUrsa like this.
    My NEW Team Rocket website (im a co-webmistress: http://roketto-dan.e-monsite.com/
    I am french, sorry for my poor bad english... I hope that you understand a maximum of what I writes

  14. #14
    We want our money back! Masato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Merica
    Posts
    239

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    The first two episodes were pretty awesome and set a good start for XY. I love how funny Team Rocket is back for good (not to mention Wobbuffet). Ash being competent again is also really nice. I also really liked Clement and Bonnie's characters. Bonnie's reaction to Pikachu in particular was really funny. I also like the way they introduced Serena. Overall, these two episodes make me look forward to what XY will bring to the table and also to more of Clement, Bonnie, and Serena.
    Darth Darkrai likes this.
    "The strongest Pokémon... Is this... the fulfillment of my dream?" --Dr. Fuji
    Brock: And I decided I want you to be my partner!
    Girl: What?!

  15. #15
    XXXXXXXXXX Dragon Char's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Tower of Mastery
    Posts
    4,815
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REVIEW: XY001/002 Premiere two-parter

    Ok, the second part was a lot more interesting, but I remind myself we were led on by TR just like this in BW. I must admit it shows some promise. I will continue on, but this thing still has a lot to do before I am convinced.
    Step into the Fairy circle

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •