REVIEW: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

  1. #1
    Giant Slice of Pecan Pie JB2448's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    72
    Follow JB2448 On Twitter Add JB2448 on Google+
    Follow JB2448 on Tumblr Visit JB2448's Youtube Channel

    Default Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    The Pokémon Company uploaded two official animated previews for the upcoming Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate and the Infinite Labyrinth to its YouTube channel.
    PV 1:
    PV 2:【公式】『ポケモン不思議のダンジョン ~マグナゲートと∞迷宮~ 』PV2 - YouTube
    I know there's technically already a post about them, but I don't think that's enough to give these justice (besides, the conversation doesn't seem that active). So, in order for more people to appreciate them, here's a discussion thread.
    Do a barrel roll!

  2. #2
    Bow before me, bitches! SammyW27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,056
    Add SammyW27 on Facebook
    Visit SammyW27's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Does this mean there won't be a Mystery Dungeon Special Because those are neat.

  3. #3
    Christmas Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Unova
    Posts
    4,508
    Blog Entries
    185

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Quote Originally Posted by SammyW27 View Post
    Does this mean there won't be a Mystery Dungeon Special Because those are neat.
    I think so. I really like Mystery Dungeon Specials, but with these trailers it doesn't seem likely to me they would make anime Specials since these sorta suffice. Though if they made one that would be real awesome, Mystery Dungeon is my favorite Spin-off game. The animation looks hella expensive, that female Pikachu seems interesting enough and the fact they went out of their way to get TsundeRIe to voice her shows they wanted to make her stand out.

    I imagine if an Anime one was made it would probably feature Axew/Oshawott or Pikachu/Oshawott as combos.

  4. #4
    I! AM NOT! A MORON! Sith Droideka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    The Hidden Land
    Posts
    1,423

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Come for the preview, stay for the Kyurem.
    ALL Pokémon Are EQUAL, But SOME Pokémon Are MORE EQUAL Than Others

    Oceania is at war with Eurasia Eastasia Eurasia Eastasia, and has always been at war with them!

    WAR IS PEACE. FREEDOM IS SLAVERY. IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH. GOD IS POWER.

    Next PolySci/Econ Test: November 8, 2016; Your crash-course will begin January 2013.

    Galvantula ≥ Kyurem > Mewtwo > Arceus

  5. #5
    amazing Meron's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    4,767
    Blog Entries
    44
    Follow Meron On Twitter

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Ai Nonaka as Eifie made my day. Always wanted to hear her in the anime, but this is close enough I guess!

    y team

  6. #6
    Registered User Foxeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Is that Oshawott a boy kid or no? :"D Sorry, kiddie voices confuse me sometimes. xD


    THE ANIMATION IS AMAZING. Every scene is just beautiful. Why can't the anime be like this~ This is just as good as the B2W2 animated specials. Maybe. xD;
    The characters chosen were much better than the Chikorita/Squirtle/Charmander combo. It's subtle, just a Pikachu and Oshawott, yet cute with their small shape and contrasting, welcoming colours really suiting the vibe of the game.

    I think it's cool that they went for a female Pikachu instead, with the notch finally being used in anime form.

    Like GotPika said, it must've been expensive, but worth it. The score isn't too bad either, for a trailer. :D
    It makes me want to work on a short animated PMD thing myself.

    Smile~

  7. #7
    Melodies Of Life Sweenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    849
    Blog Entries
    1

    Visit Sweenix's Youtube Channel

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    The animation is so beautiful!!!!! literally i have never seen pokemon so pleasing to the eye, why cant the anime be like this?
    Proud Advance/Amour/Final Fantasy Shipper :)

    Serebii | Youtube | Advancers | IGN | Ubiforums

  8. #8
    H.M
    H.M is offline
    MY OPINIONS!!!11one H.M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    567
    Follow H.M On Twitter
    Follow H.M on Tumblr

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    That Pikachu is the cutest thing. *o*

    I'm liking how animated promo videos look like it's going to be a "thing" now. Whether or not this means more animated specials is unknown, but I would watch the special of this. I wonder if Umbreon/Espeon show you the ropes about the magnagate in-game...

    Oshawott used Baton Pass!
    ~Tumblr~Twitter~


  9. #9
    samurai in autumn garrison-san's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Lake Wobegon
    Posts
    4,559
    Blog Entries
    9
    Follow garrison-san On Twitter
    Follow garrison-san on Tumblr

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Note: Upgraded this thread to a sticky. Have fun discussing the merits of these animated trailers (and remember to use the VG thread linked to in the original post for speculation about the games themselves).

  10. #10
    You think you're bad, don't ya? Karamazov's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,890
    Blog Entries
    780

    Follow Karamazov on Tumblr

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    I really love the style of the animation and use of colors. It's pretty different from the show, but I'd like to see the anime use a similar style.

    "Playing around?" Wrong.

  11. #11
    Christmas Bubble Frog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Unova
    Posts
    4,508
    Blog Entries
    185

    Follow Bubble Frog on Tumblr

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaotic Buizel View Post
    The animation is so beautiful!!!!! literally i have never seen pokemon so pleasing to the eye, why cant the anime be like this?
    Because this probably is expensive to animate and keeping up this same quality of animation for 200 straight episodes or so would probably cost an arm and a leg.

    Quote Originally Posted by Foxeaf View Post
    Is that Oshawott a boy kid or no? :"D Sorry, kiddie voices confuse me sometimes. xD
    The Mijumaru uses "Boku" so it's most likely male and a kid.


    THE ANIMATION IS AMAZING. Every scene is just beautiful. Why can't the anime be like this~ This is just as good as the B2W2 animated specials. Maybe. xD;
    Nah, it's better than the BW2 trailer. :P


    Music during 1:00 is very sentimental and fits the scene well. Blacky and Eifie's voices fit very well, I'm guessing the reason Mijumaru isn't fatigued like the other Pokemon is because he's human.

  12. #12
    Moe
    Moe is offline
    Registered User Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    949
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    I have to say one of my concerns about the Pokemon games going to the 3DS was that they might want to make the anime itself 3D - the way the 3D characters problem is solved here in these previews is probably good enough of a middle ground, though that's without seeing how they'd do a human character. The Pokemon look far more 3D than the normal anime without looking like bland models like they do in the actual gameplay footage or the first Best Wishes Opening.

  13. #13
    Registered User TokoWH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    On the Pikmin planet.
    Posts
    78

    Thumbs up Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Really love the first promo. The second one was bit too tense for my taste, but I really loved the voices for Espeon and Umbreon in it. The animation, colors, and shading is effing awesome though! It's a real shame it would probably cost too much to makee normal anime episodes look that good. Still wish they would make a PMD anime series. Not because I don't like the current anime, but because I just really, really want to see a PMD anime series.

    I also now ship Pikachu and Oshawott thanks to this promo making the Pikachu female for once. If the Pikachu is female ingame, I'm totally using this team. /shot
    My FC: 3265-5103-3870

    Safari type: Water with Gyarados, Bibarel, and Poliwhirl catachable.

    Looking for FS that have either Riolu, Audino, or Vulpix in them. Please PM if you have one.

  14. #14
    cute patootie Sheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    3,214
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    This was amazinggg. The animation was stunning and they picked wonderful voices! I especially adore Espeon and Umbreon's; they're wonderful. Took a while to get used to Oshawott's, though. D: The second preview was my favorite of the two!
    Bubble Frog likes this.

  15. #15
    The leaf lives on... JustAnotherLeafeon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Sometimes, I don't even know.
    Posts
    368
    Blog Entries
    29

    Default Re: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Magnagate Anime-style Previews

    Superfantabulantastic. I can't wait until the game comes out here. (I'm sure it will take a while...)

    I want to see another PMD special as well now that I saw this...
    Once upon a time there was a leafeon. There wasn't anything special about him. He was just a regular leafeon.
    But there's a story behind the leafeon.



    Credit where credit is due.
    Oh look. A deviantART.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •