BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 325

Thread: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

  1. #1
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    9,831
    Blog Entries
    24
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review Thread

    BW 001: "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!"
    Satoshi, Orchid-Hakase, and Satoshi's mother set off for the Isshu Region! Once they arrive, Zekrom appears in front of Satoshi! Later, Satoshi meets a trainer named Shooty and decides to battle his Tsutarja. During the battle, Satoshi notices that Pikachu is unable to use any electric attacks!

    BW 002: "Iris and Kibago!"
    At the Kanoko Town Pokemon Center, Pikachu is restored to full health and becomes able to use its electric attacks again. Later, Satoshi decides to travel around the Isshu Region. He meets a young girl named Iris and helps save her Kibago from the Rocket-Dan.

    These episodes aired on September 23rd, 2010.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 14th, 2014

    | My DVD Collection | My Video Game Collection |
    These lists were last updated on January 3rd, 2012

  2. #2
    Froakin' Hilarious. V Faction's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Shady Acres, OR
    Posts
    4,538

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    Ep 1 - All you need to know about this episode:

    Pikachu's Electrile Dysfunction lasts about as long as a bad itch.

    Ep 2 - All you need to know about this episode:

    Shellmerang.
    V Faction: Bulbatized

    Nintendo 3DS Friend Code: 3136 - 6603 - 1330



  3. #3
    All of the bara Yoshi-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,840
    Blog Entries
    456

    Follow Yoshi-san on Tumblr

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    THIS WAS AWESOME! I LOVE IRIS! SHUUTI WAS AWESOME! TEAM ROCKET WAS BADASS! AND GIOVANNI!!!!!

    Yeah I really like these episodes!

  4. #4
    amazing Meron's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    4,767
    Blog Entries
    44
    Follow Meron On Twitter

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    Best Wishes is awesome already!

    There really wasn't anything I disliked... Everything was perfect, I liked iris too. And yay, Musashi got Koromori! (I hope it evolves someday because its evo is my fave of gen5.) <3

    Absolutely loved the new music. Does Ookido's seiyuu voice the new Pokémon Zukan?

    y team

  5. #5
    All of the bara Yoshi-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,840
    Blog Entries
    456

    Follow Yoshi-san on Tumblr

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    I hope Team Rocket stays this way the whole series! No more Blast Offs!

  6. #6
    OAAAAAAAAAAKED Trevenant's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    456
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    Mijumaru is an awesome stalker. That's pretty much all you need to know.

    Also, Pikachu and Satoshi just aren't having their day - there was alot of physical humor at their expense in episode 2. Satoshi seemed particularly enthusiastic in these episodes.

    I can't believe Musashi managed to outbattle Satoshi with a Koromori. That was pretty cool, plus they avoided being blasted off and just ran away at the end.

  7. #7
    Load of Belloni
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,299
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review T

    -I loved the music, but dear lord, that was by far the worst opening visually.
    I'm guessing each pokemon is to be taken out of silhouette once they are revealed in an episode/gradually over time, but stilll...it was unattractive CG. And it was essentially just Pikachu running around. That's not a good recepie as far as I'm concerned. Goes well with whine, though.

    -Mijumaru definately reeks of Piplup-y mascot-ness. And presumably dated seafood.
    Best part of the first episode was easily the fleeting moment in which we see Mijumaru being completely crushed when Shooty picks Tsutarja. Now there's the downtrodden otter I know and love!
    I'll admit I really didn't like the 'mon when it was first revealed but...what can I say? It's grown on me like a barnacle grows on a clam shell. It's just so freaky and awkward in it's cuteness.

    -Iris left a pretty good first impression, though I wish she'd recieved a bit more focus than she did. The episode was less 'Iris and Kibago!' and more 'Catch the Pigeon!' than anything. Still, she was largely amusing, and I'm really liking her.

    -Bit of a downer that the Rocket (and to a lesser extent, Ash's) pokemon seem to have been put on a bus *clicks fingers* just like that.
    ...wait....Wobbuffet? Wobbuffet?! WOBBUFFET?! :'(

    -On the music side of things, seems like everything used here was completely new. I only recognized a very small handful of stuff. Anyone able to name some of it?
    The ones I was famillair with were some personal faves though. Wild battle music! Trainer battle music! Gym battle music! Awesome stuff. And hey, the evolution theme finally found it's way in after all these years.

  8. #8
    Rhyperior lover Rhyperior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    966

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    What is in the mind of the writers? Ash forgets how to catch Pokémon again?

  9. #9
    The 2nd pokemon master pokemon_master2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    796

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    Did Jessie has 3 pokeballs? That means that one of the pokemon she had, Seviper, Wobbuffet and Yanmega, is gone?

  10. #10
    Forever Lacking Rhythm Konoko Hasano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    Genderless
    Location
    Iowa!
    Posts
    312

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Rhyperior View Post
    What is in the mind of the writers? Ash forgets how to catch Pokémon again?
    Perhaps he was just too excited and lost his head for a moment? XD


    Stalker Mijumaru is pure awesome. A little creepy in some ways, but still pure awesome and cute.

    And Team Rocket's bit was amazing as well, especially the strategic retreat via a smoke bomb and vanishing instead of getting blasted off by Volt Tackle.

  11. #11
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    9,831
    Blog Entries
    24
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    Some of the music used was from the Zorro'ark movie.

    Overall, there was a lot here to like. I loved how the first episode began like the movies, with a sort of mini "World of Pokemon" segment. I really liked how the Rocket-Dan just smoke bombed their way instead of getting blasted off. I really liked their new motto.

    I didn't like how the Rocket-Dan seem to have lost all their pokemon :( I also wasn't a fan of how overly serious they were in the first episode.

    Quote Originally Posted by pokemon-master2
    Did Jessie has 3 pokeballs? That means that one of the pokemon she had, Seviper, Wobbuffet and Yanmega, is gone?
    They're all empty.

    Musashi used one of them to catch a Koromori. So now she has two left.

    Kojirou hasn't used any of his three yet.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 14th, 2014

    | My DVD Collection | My Video Game Collection |
    These lists were last updated on January 3rd, 2012

  12. #12
    Rhyperior lover Rhyperior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    966

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Grave-E View Post
    I only recognized a very small handful of stuff. Anyone able to name some of it?
    Mime Jr. disappeared. James didn't send out Pokémon to battle. Meowth battled actively.

  13. #13
    XY Piplup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    8,110

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    OK, Best Wishes is the best series, 523456346 times better than all previous seasons... and yes, I can say that after only watching these first 2 eps
    I really loved just everything, each and every second was just full of awesomeness
    Mijumaru is extremely cute <3 Iris is really funny and has a unique and entertaining personality, TRio actually became kind of cool while still being their old crazy self (and I think we got new motto as expected), apparently they got Pokéballs from Giovannie so Jessie just used it on the first Poké she found (the moment Jessie picked a ball and they were in a cave I just knew she's going to catch Koromori as I suspected long ago since we got that character art scene which revealed Iris), I wonder what's about TRio's older Poké... everyone is shocked to see a Pikachu in Isshu lol... Shuuti is kind of cool actually, I hope next time Pikachu beat all his Poké with one hit to make him realize he won only cause Pika had problems at the time
    Seems like Iris is really interested at the Isshu legendaries... oh and I loved so much that Ash's Pokédex scanned Kibago through Iris' hair and was like "it doesn't look like the pic in the dex... oh whatever, go Pokéball!" XD
    Mamepato is awesome, I hope they focus on it and give it personality more than previous birds got...
    Everything was just awesome... Best Wishes <3
    I wonder why they showed the OP twice and no ED, instead of OP once and ED once like most of the hour specials did... maybe it's cause the special airing they had before and after the episodes (I wonder why TV Tokyo's page for today listed the ED then... whatever)
    Can't wait for next ep!

  14. #14
    Registered User Adamant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,894

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    IRC log from the time of the Mamepato capture:

    [05:42] > Gte Mijumaru already!
    [05:43] > noo, go to hell, Boring Bird!
    [05:43] > nice troll, writers
    [05:43] > nooo
    [05:44] > don't catch it!
    [05:44] > nooooooooooooooo
    [05:44] > yes
    [05:44] > stay out
    [05:44] > get Mijumaru dammit
    [05:45] > nooo
    [05:45] > getout
    [05:45] > getout
    [05:45] > getout
    [05:45] > getout
    [05:45] > nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!


    I swear, that thing needs to impress to an extreme degree in order to not annoy me. Does Satoshi really need the Regional Boring Bird of EVERY generation?

    The series itself seems good so far, but there's little to actually critique... these episodes were largely just setting up the rest of the series, and little else.

    Though Mijumaru is awesome.
    So.

  15. #15
    ロケット団よ永遠 Dogasu's Avatar Retired Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    9,831
    Blog Entries
    24
    Follow Dogasu On Twitter

    Default Re: BW 001-002 "To the Isshu Region! Zekrom's Shadow!!" & "Iris and Kibago!" Review

    I was actually feeling the same way. I was hoping Satoshi would catch Mijumaru as his first pokemon of the region, not the token bird.
    Webmaster of Dogasu's Backpack. Last updated on April 14th, 2014

    | My DVD Collection | My Video Game Collection |
    These lists were last updated on January 3rd, 2012

Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •