*SPOILERS* based on the latest Preview, teaser text, and Palette mini-teasers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: *SPOILERS* based on the latest Preview, teaser text, and Palette mini-teasers.

  1. #1
    Zak
    Zak is offline
    STAR BRINGING PURPLE Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Back from Israel. ;[
    Posts
    887

    Default *SPOILERS* based on the latest Preview, teaser text, and Palette mini-teasers.

    Whee...

    Alright, I don't think Ash or James will get Gulpin. But it looks like a good episode that could lead in to another event.

    -FACTS-

    Correct me on the following if I'm wrong, Murg.

    Basically, translating the text on Palette and TVTOKYO, this has been deducted:
    Ash and co are on their way to Petalburg City for the Gym badge, when Ash comes across a town (no name). As he enters, Jenny comes by and warns him immediately about the town being terrorized by Gulpins, who are crawling about and eating everything in sight. And Professor Shakuji of this town has been researching the problem and trying to find a way to get rid of the Gulpin. Ash as usual voulenteers to investigate the scene, so Jenny suggests he visit the Professor...

    And now, watching the teaser preview, it seems they're using all sorts of mechanisms to try it... and a bunch of grass types as well... a Tangela, a Parasect, and even a MEGANIUM! Heh, maybe from the professor's lab, or possibly a bunch of passing Grass trainers. You'd probably expect Ash and co to try Treecko and Lombre.... well, from the pic alone, it looks like Treecko AND one of the Gulpin are huge and godzilla-like. And no, these are not TR decoy's, they're the deal, as the clip demonstrates it growing.

    An interesting fact, according to Palette, in the short teaser summary they have for the ep with Grovyle and Exploud...
    At the beginning, Ash is somehow walking in the woods, and his Treecko is STILL in it's huge state (in it's Pokeball, of course). Then they meet some Loudred trainer (yes, Loudred, not Exploud), who overhears Ash talk about problems with Treecko, and tells them he has problems with his Loudred as well. It appears to be rioting constantly, yet the trainer explains it's usually not like that...

    Looks fun. Now for my Speculation:

    -SPECULATION-

    I think that there will be a cool cliffhanger with Ash's Treecko being huge. Yet somehow, the next ep starts with him in the woods. IMO he returned Treecko and ran. Also, I think it's rather safe to say that Treecko evolves, and I know there's no proof... but I mean c'mon. Treecko in an odd state, and all they meet is a Loudred trainer... and the title is EXPLOUD VS GROVYLE. If it doesn't evolve, then they'd have to meet another Grovyle trainer, to battle the Exploud/Loudred trainer. And what do Ash and his Treecko do? Sit and spectate and help again? So yeah, I think it evolves, and when it does, I think THAT's how it returns to it's normal state.
    As for the Gulpin ep, I think Treecko and that one big Gulpin managed to drive the rest off, but I'm still wondering what they do with that huge Gulpin, especially since at the beginning of the next one, Ash is still in possesion of Treezilla, and he's back IN THE WOODS again. IMO Ash returns Treecko to it's ball and runs, while the scientist manages to forcefully catch or stop that huge Gulpin and keep it in the lab to study and find a cure to it's normal size... so perhaps, in the following ep, either Ash's Treecko evolves and he calls Shakuji with the news, and then Shakuji helps Gulpin evolve... or vice versa, with Shakuji's Gulpin evolving, and him contacting Ash about Treecko, and Treecko hears this and gets excited about returning to its normal size and evolving.

    So that's my speculation... what do you think?

    ~Zak
    When the tweedle beetles battle with their paddles in a bottle full of water on a noodle-eating poodle, it’s a tweedle beetle noodle poodle water bottle paddle battle.



    Proud defender of peace in the Middle East, and hater of Israel-bashers

  2. #2
    Lonely Latias Listener wayc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    117

    Default

    I agree with you in the speculation, but I'm confused. What do you mean by big Pokémon? Are they big like in the episode where Pikachu was huge in the unown episode in Larvitar's mind, or just overly big, or what?

  3. #3
    The Normal One ;-) BenRG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    271

    Default

    wayc, from what I've seen of the teaser video, Treeko and Gulpin both grow to a huge size, approximately 200-300 feet tall, given the relative size of the high-rise buildings around them. Probably, this will be Pokémon's chance to do a tribute to Godzilla (the original, not the recent remake), with lots of panicking citizens running everywhere as giant-sized Pokémon tackle each other into buildings, knocking them over like they were skittles.

    I find it interesting that Ash is on his own when he meets Loudred's trainer. It is possible that the ensuing chaos in the giant Pokémon slugfest makes him recall Treeko and try and find somewhere to hide until there is no longer a War Crimes indictment in his name.

    As a side point, this shows that, when stored in their Pokéballs, Pokémon have no mass. Giant-Treeko must weigh hundreds, if not thousands of tons, yet Ash can carry him on his belt.
    BenRG ~ Friend of Eeveeloutions everywhere!
    ~*~*~*~
    Member of the OPS ~ May Ash and Misty's love last forever!
    Member of PokéManiacs Anonymous! ~ While growing old is inevitable, growing UP is optional! Join us here!
    ~*~*~*~
    Bring back the Kanto Six!

  4. #4
    Zak
    Zak is offline
    STAR BRINGING PURPLE Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Back from Israel. ;[
    Posts
    887

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BenRGAs a side point, this shows that, when stored in their Pokéballs, Pokémon have no mass. Giant-Treeko must weigh hundreds, if not [i
    thousands[/i] of tons, yet Ash can carry him on his belt.
    Heh, well, that's true for this case, but sometimes they can have a hint of existance or mass when they're inside the Pokeball. Remember Muk, anyone? :-P

    ~Zak
    When the tweedle beetles battle with their paddles in a bottle full of water on a noodle-eating poodle, it’s a tweedle beetle noodle poodle water bottle paddle battle.



    Proud defender of peace in the Middle East, and hater of Israel-bashers

  5. #5
    Lonely Latias Listener wayc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    117

    Default

    I really want to see this one! It sounds really weird, and I can't even begin to imagine what it's going to be like. Too bad whenever I want to see something a preternatural force makes sure I always miss it. (Even when I use the VCR.)

  6. #6
    Unseen Watcher Murgatroyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    我ハココニ在リ
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    How certain are you that it's still huge? That's what's being said here and at SPP, but what the text at Palette actually seems to say is simply "yousu ga okashii", meaning "condition/appearance is strange". I believe this could also be interpreted as referring to aftereffects of a temporary growth.
    波導は我に有り


    Bulbagarden | Serebii.net
    Member at both. Mod at both.
    And sick and tired of the Joe-Liam feud.

  7. #7
    A black and white world Blackjack Gabbiani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere special
    Posts
    17,517
    Blog Entries
    273

    Default

    Check the picture at Dogasu's site. They're towering in front of buildings.

    Granted, it could be a dream sequence, or a model city, but it's probably most likely that it's just plain huge (and...evidently the twig grows with it)

  8. #8
    Unseen Watcher Murgatroyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    我ハココニ在リ
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    Yes, I'm well aware that it becomes huge. What I question is whether it remains huge.
    波導は我に有り


    Bulbagarden | Serebii.net
    Member at both. Mod at both.
    And sick and tired of the Joe-Liam feud.

  9. #9
    The Normal One ;-) BenRG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    271

    Exclamation Occam's Razor... Sort of...

    Quote Originally Posted by Murgatroyd
    the text at Palette actually seems to say is simply "yousu ga okashii", meaning "condition/appearance is strange". I believe this could also be interpreted as referring to aftereffects of a temporary growth.
    I will take your word for that, Murg, as I can't speek Japanese. However, invoking a new deformity or abnormality is simply adding an unneccessary layer of complexity to the situation. Unless there is explicit evidence that something else is happening (say, Treeko occasionally flourescing or something like that), it is more logical just to assume that he has stayed very big.
    BenRG ~ Friend of Eeveeloutions everywhere!
    ~*~*~*~
    Member of the OPS ~ May Ash and Misty's love last forever!
    Member of PokéManiacs Anonymous! ~ While growing old is inevitable, growing UP is optional! Join us here!
    ~*~*~*~
    Bring back the Kanto Six!

  10. #10
    Protecting Gotham City Geodude's Avatar Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    7,271
    Blog Entries
    89
    Follow Geodude On Twitter
    Follow Geodude on Tumblr

    Default

    Since nobody else has updated this info, *cough*Murg*cough*....

    After having seen the Gulpin episode, I can confirm that Gulpin stayed big at the end of the episode, but Treecko did not.

    XBL: Shiny Geodude -- PSN: ShinyGeodude

  11. #11
    Lonely Latias Listener wayc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geodude
    Since nobody else has updated this info, *cough*Murg*cough*....

    After having seen the Gulpin episode, I can confirm that Gulpin stayed big at the end of the episode, but Treecko did not.
    Of course I missed it. I'll have to catch it again next time. Was it a good episode?

  12. #12
    Protecting Gotham City Geodude's Avatar Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    7,271
    Blog Entries
    89
    Follow Geodude On Twitter
    Follow Geodude on Tumblr

    Default

    Yeah, I liked it. Pretty much a filler, but Professor Shiranui (sp?) was cool, and it set the stage for the next episode by putting the focus on Treecko.

    XBL: Shiny Geodude -- PSN: ShinyGeodude

  13. #13
    A black and white world Blackjack Gabbiani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere special
    Posts
    17,517
    Blog Entries
    273

    Default

    Shirunai? From the Raikou special and the Red Gyarados arc?

  14. #14
    Avatar by Ayumeg Roses Ablaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    In my field of paper flowers
    Posts
    1,510

    Default

    No. His name was Sakuji (in the most recent episode, not the gyarados one), at least according to Serebii.net.

    Thank you Jolty for the banner!
    Pokémon Messageboards I Visit:
    Bulbasaur's Mysterious Garden ~ Serebii's Pokemon Page
    My LiveJournal
    "Stop making us have sex with each other in your fanfictions." ~Ray Toro of My Chemical Romance
    "I am dead serious. I am not that pretty." ~Gerard Way of My Chemical Romance

  15. #15
    Protecting Gotham City Geodude's Avatar Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    7,271
    Blog Entries
    89
    Follow Geodude On Twitter
    Follow Geodude on Tumblr

    Default

    *checks the synopsis* Right, Prof. Shakuji. I knew that.

    XBL: Shiny Geodude -- PSN: ShinyGeodude

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •